Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assassination? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Byron Olson
United States
Ramsey
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Hey...
badge
Down here...
mbmbmbmbmb
The card, as stated:
Quote:
Play on a minion. Ongoing: Destroy this minion at the end of the turn.


My question (apologies if it's a dumb one) is whose turn? The player that played it, or the player whose minion it's on?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Grazier
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
Check out my boardgame demoing website! www.geek-craft.com
badge
Near northeast Ohio? Come to one of my game nights! www.geek-craft.com
mbmbmbmbmb
soiledshortz wrote:
The card, as stated:
Quote:
Play on a minion. Ongoing: Destroy this minion at the end of the turn.


My question (apologies if it's a dumb one) is whose turn? The player that played it, or the player whose minion it's on?


I believe it's the person who played it, so the Ninja player's turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
At the end of whichever turn it was played on (which, with Special abilities, might be anyone's).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rob van zyl
South Africa
cape town
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
We were quite confused on how to play this card generally. As the effect i s Ongoing, what would be the reason for killing the minion at the end of the turn? We decided the card remains attached to a minion and can be killed at the end of any turn, not necessarily the turn in which it was played. Unless someone can give another reason why this effect would be Ongoing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Smash Up » Forums » Rules
Re: Assassination?
rob_vz wrote:
We were quite confused on how to play this card generally. As the effect i s Ongoing, what would be the reason for killing the minion at the end of the turn? We decided the card remains attached to a minion and can be killed at the end of any turn, not necessarily the turn in which it was played. Unless someone can give another reason why this effect would be Ongoing?


Aside from the company actually telling you how it actually works in the post above your own?

It makes sense thematically - if you order an assassination it takes some amount of time to plan it and carry it out, so it's not immediate, but it doesn't hang over his head for a really long time.

Special characters can still break bases - characters like the first mate stick around forever. You may want to use his strength to get a base to break when you play your own minion, and then he gets offed after he moves to the other base.

It will fit with other card types - it's certainly reasonable to assume that AEG already planned for other factions by the time they finalized this card. Perhaps there are cards that would interact with this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The card is specifically worded such that the minion cannot be prevented from breaking a base the turn assassination is played. Assassination must be played when you are playing cards on your turn (its not a special) then bases score then you draw then end of turn killing it. It's great for getting rid of Pirate Kings and Leprechauns and Archmages and other big minions who are played before they are breaking bases and since you are the Ninjas you don't mind not getting a base up to strength on your turn because you will Hidden Ninja a Ninja Master when they play their Microbot Alpha or King Rex on the base next turn.

Also, holy run on sentence batman!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Cox
Australia
Umina Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
mb
The Ninja Assassination Action states: “Play on a minion. Ongoing: Destroy this minion at the end of the turn.” The keyword ‘Ongoing’ is confusing as how can the assassination be ‘Ongoing’ ? - you destroy the minion at the end of your turn and that is that.

My interpretation is that the keyword ‘Ongoing’ has been used, as technically it is correct (although still confusing - it sure as hell confused me).

Why do I believe that it is technically correct?

Each player’s turn in the game has 5 phases:
1. Crank It Up
2. Play Cards
3. Check for Scoring
4. Draw 2 Cards
5. Shut It Down

If we check phase 2. Play Cards -> Actions it states: “To play an action, show your card and do what it says. Boom! Then discard the action (unless it has an Ongoing ability).

So taking this at face value, I feel that if the designer of the game had not included the word Ongoing then he would have been forced to have written “Play on a minion and destroy this minion” i.e. the minion would have to have been destroyed immediately, as the rules state that you do what an action says and then discard the action (the action would no longer be in play after the end of Phase 2). It is only actions with ‘Ongoing’ that are not discarded immediately. So as the designer does not want the minion to be destroyed immediately but rather at the end of your turn i.e. at 5. Shut It Down (which states: anything that happens at the end of the turn happens here) he had had to include the keyword Ongoing. The only way to keep an action in play - even if it is just until the end of turn - is to use the keyword ‘Ongoing’. Else the action would be played and then immediately discarded and thus no longer in play.

So my interpretation is that, the Assassination Action is played on a minion. Affects only that minion. That minion is destroyed at the end of the turn of the person who played the Assassination Action. The Assassination Action is then discarded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Raggio
United States
flag msg tools
mb
So the assassinated minion will be killed at the end of the turn after any bases are broken and scored? It will still be part of the total that decides if a base is broken and also can help determine the winner of the base and then it dies? If the base does not score it just dies anyway. It's also good to attach to pirates that can move after a base scores since it will move and then die ;-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Tsang
msg tools
Wait, what?!? The assassinated minion is killed AFTER a base scores?!?What good is that??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
ants718 wrote:
Wait, what?!? The assassinated minion is killed AFTER a base scores?!?What good is that??


Lots of good. Destroys a minion that hangs around for a while (first mate), or just destroys one on a turn in which you aren't breaking its base.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.