Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a card target itself? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Calandrillo
United States
Bloomington
IL
flag msg tools
mb
I placed a flame trap on a base. My friend played a Collector to that base. Since the ability of the Collector is applied first, he gets to return a minion of 3 our less to his hand. He chose to return the Collector he had just played, effectively destroying my flame trap without losing a minion.

Is it legal to use a card to target itself since it is already on the base before the ability is applied?

Extrapolating, this could be used to have a minion destroy itself (e.g. gnome) to claim 1 VP on Cave of Shinies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor Aldridge
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't see why not. Pretty Trickster for an Alien...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Watkins
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lonadar wrote:
Don't see why not. Pretty Trickster for an Alien...


For the latter, a clear interpretation of the rules states:

Destroy: When a card
says to destroy another card,
put the destroyed card in its
owner’s discard pile.

So that's settled.

It's a reach to assume that all action verbs.... Destroy, Affect, Return follow this same interpretation, but I think because of the glaring cheeziness you pointed out above that this should be the way it's interpreted.

NOTE: The definition of Destroy was next to a card that said "Destroy one of your minions"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Calandrillo
United States
Bloomington
IL
flag msg tools
mb
SixtyWATZ wrote:

For the latter, a clear interpretation of the rules states:

Destroy: When a card
says to destroy another card,
put the destroyed card in its
owner’s discard pile.

So that'settled.


So what you're saying is that destroy implies "destroy other" even though not explicit in the card text. I see that section of the rules as clarifying what happens when a card is destroyed and not what card can be destroyed. That said, it is a reasonable inference that you have made.

So far, the only cards I see affected are Microbot Guard robot, Ninja Master ninja, and Gnome angry (destroy) and Collector goo and Supreme Overlord wow (return) since all other minions explicitly only target minions weaker than themselves.

SixtyWATZ wrote:

It's a reach to assume that all action verbs.... Destroy, Affect, Return follow this same interpretation, but I think because of the glaring cheeziness you pointed out above that this should be the way it's interpreted.


Then again, this game is kinda about cheeziness, in a good way!


SixtyWATZ wrote:

NOTE: The definition of Destroy was next to a card that said "Destroy one of your minions"


Note: The card pictured in the rule book is an action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Watkins
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yo brah don't pick fights with me dawg. Check the definition of destroy yo. That's it plain and simple. Destroy another card. Another yo.

It's when the cheesiness goes crazy brah.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Schuck Johnson
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So how about targetting one of your cards with another of your destroy cards? Would that work since it isn't destroying itself? For example there is the pirate card that lets you destroy all the minions of 2 or less on a base. If you're robots and pirates on cave of shinies could you blow yourself sky high for 4(ish) free points?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Calandrillo
United States
Bloomington
IL
flag msg tools
mb
spurginwinn wrote:
So how about targetting one of your cards with another of your destroy cards? Would that work since it isn't destroying itself? For example there is the pirate card that lets you destroy all the minions of 2 or less on a base. If you're robots and pirates on cave of shinies could you blow yourself sky high for 4(ish) free points?


We have been allowing this. I don't see any restrictions against it. I feel it's only in targeting itself that there is ambiguity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
spurginwinn wrote:
So how about targetting one of your cards with another of your destroy cards? Would that work since it isn't destroying itself? For example there is the pirate card that lets you destroy all the minions of 2 or less on a base. If you're robots and pirates on cave of shinies could you blow yourself sky high for 4(ish) free points?


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew
United States
Floresville
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Smash Up » Forums » Rules
Re: Can a card target itself?
I know this is a little old and the original question might be something different, but I was reminded of the situation when looking through the cards. I see nothing wrong with using Collector's ability on itself, but Flame Trap would still destroy it. He can resolve Collector's ability to return it to his hand, but nothing says a card can't be destroyed from his hand. Collector's ability is resolved, then Flame Trap's ability is resolved regardless of where the card currently resides.

Edit: Although, looking closer at the rules, they say to resolve abilities as you play the cards, which implies a minion is not targetable for it's own ability. My main point stands though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Morin

Massachusetts
msg tools
What is this nonsense? What about plants? That definition clearly only matters when it is destroying another card. It does not say "You can only destroy other cards"........
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seadhna Capetown
Russia
flag msg tools
There's this passage in the rulebook:
"To play a minion, choose a base and put the minion card beside it, facing toward you. Do what the card says."

So the minion is on the table at the moment its ability resolves. Therefore a card can definitely target itself (think microbot reclaimer > microbot guard > destroy microbot guard on cave of shinies). Moreover, the card you play adds to the number of minions on the base ffor the purposes of abilities like Gnome or Microbot guard.
At least that's how our group has been playing for over 9 months now.

As to the Flame Trap issue, i'd say the trap triggers and breaks, while Collector goes into the hand as per his ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Blumentritt
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, I think flame trap still destroys the card. It says, I believe, "When another player's minion is played here, destroy both it (resolving its ability first) and this card."

So the process is as follows:
If another player plays a minion on that base
A) Resolve the minion
B) Destroy the minion
C) Destroy Flame Trap

Since "can't do X" overrules "can do X" or "do X", then the minion would not be destroyed in step B if something happens saying it can't be destroyed. This is not the case here. Therefore you would return the Collector to your hand and then destroy it, along with destroying the Flame Trap.

Quote:
heck the definition of destroy yo. That's it plain and simple. Destroy another card.


Actually, it just says "When a card says to destroy another card" - not addressing what happens if card doesn't say "destroy another card", but just says "destroy card".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.