Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ninja Acolyte's Extra Minion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Schuck Johnson
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a little confused on how the Ninja Acolyte resolves. It says that if you haven't played a minion on your turn you can return this minion to your hand and play an extra minion on this base.

My understanding is that an extra minion means in addition to the normal one minion you play on your turn. So if I understand correctly you can in effect play two minions on this base or one on another base and one on this base.

The issue or question I have (assuming I haven't been mistaken on something thus far) is whether you can play the extra minion on the base the acolyte has been revoked and play the acolyte again this turn, whether on this base or another?

Any clarification on anything I've written (or assumed) would be most appreciative. If I'm correct it would help me with the feelings I have that ninjas are underwhelming.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty McFly
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Acolyte is back in your hand, and since you haven't played a minion yet on your turn, you can play the Acolyte on ANY base this turn as your 1 minion. You can also play 1 extra minion on the base where the Acolyte started.

At least that's how we play it. It fits the disguise/surprise theme of that deck ("You thought I was a ninja but I'm really a dinosaur.") I suspect that the "haven't played a minion yet this turn" is on there specifically to stop you from playing the same Acolyte multiple times and then getting to drop all the minions in your hand on a single turn.

Our question was whether or not you have to play the extra minion first as part of resolving the text. Or, more to the point, if I have 2 Acolytes out, can I pick them both up and play 2 extra minions that turn?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johnny Vannueten
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The word extra means you can play it sometime during your turn so you don't have to play it right away. The keyword extra is explained somewhere in the rules if I'm not mistaken.

I don't see a problem in using the abilities of 2 Acolytes. The only ability that is limited to once per turn is the Shinobi Special ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan S
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
I agree, this is the one card I find confusing. The way we've played is similar to what you're describing (minus the play the first minion anywhere), you can pull him off the base, and effectively play 2 minions on that base (1 would be the normal play and one would be the resolving of the action). I believe the first minion part of the action, as another poster said, is to prevent repeating this with the same acolyte.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Baldassar
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
xekonic wrote:
I agree, this is the one card I find confusing. The way we've played is similar to what you're describing (minus the play the first minion anywhere), you can pull him off the base, and effectively play 2 minions on that base (1 would be the normal play and one would be the resolving of the action). I believe the first minion part of the action, as another poster said, is to prevent repeating this with the same acolyte.


I agree, I've also played it this way. Pick up the Ninja Acolyte and play two Minions on the base you just picked it up from.

It give you the option to Smash a base or to score / beat out others that might be on the base.

I've never played 3 minions with this action - you don't replace the Ninja Acolyte and play two minions, you'd pick it up and play two on the base it came from
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
The intent is that a Ninja Acolyte shapechanges into something else. Writing that for rules lawyers proved to be difficult.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
mbmbmbmbmb
edbolme wrote:
The intent is that a Ninja Acolyte shapechanges into something else. Writing that for rules lawyers proved to be difficult.

So in other words: The "extra" minion from the acolyte must be played to the base the acolyte came from sometime during your turn AND you may still play a minion on any base per the normal rules.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew
United States
Floresville
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Smash Up » Forums » Rules
Re: Ninja Acolyte's Extra Minion
I always read it as you must play the extra minion as soon as you take it into your hand, which also seems to go with the spirit of the card. It doesn't strictly read that way, I suppose, so maybe an official rulling? (naturally, you can play your normal minion on any base you wish)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
the card tells you to return the acolyte and play an extra minion one the same base. not you get to play an extra minion that must be on this base.

The difference is that the extra minion is resolved as part of the card effect, so you can't use 2 acolytes in a turn because when the first one resolves you have played a minion. Additionally you do not have to play your normal minion on the same base. You could replace the acolyte with a Tiger Assassin to boost your points on a base and kill the invader that was played there and then play another TA on a different base as your normal minion. you could also replay the acolyte, but playing the acolyte on the base you removed it from is just like not using its ability at all.

That is my interpretation at least.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Quote:
Extra: Normally, you can play only one minion and one action each turn. A card that lets you play an extra minion or action lets you play an additional card of that type during that turn. You can play cards in any order, so you don’t have to play the extra card right away.


While I admit it is confusing I would rule that since it uses the magical word of "extra" you don’t have to play the extra card right away like it says in the rules. However I admit it could have been clearer cause NA's ability does make it seem like playing an extra minion is tied to the returning of NA. However since it does not have a restriction like Hoverbot which would prevent playing the minion later I would allow someone to return multiple NA's to get their benefits in a single turn.

Oh and in case you are curious what’s up with the “first minion” restriction the most obvious reason is to prevent you from being able to combo it with other "play an extra minion" abilities.

An obvious example would to play a string of mach bots ending with a NA and then replacing the NA with a minion of power greater than 2.

An even more obvious counter example would be with the Homeworld (when you play a minion here you may play an additional minion power 2 or less). Image you had 100 minions in your hand (theoretically of course), the HW was out and you had at least 2 NA's in your hand. Also imagine that NA's weren't restricted by first minion plays and are not restricted to only 1 NA using its ability..

Well I could do something like this:
NA1 Homeworld (+1 play less than 2 minion from homeworld)
NA2 Base 2
Return NA1 and NA2 and replace them with 2 other minions (+1 play less than 2 minion from homeworld)
NA1 Homeworld (+1 play less than 2 minion from homeworld)
NA2 Base 3
Return NA1 and NA2 and replace them with 2 other minions (+1 play less than 2 minion from homeworld)
______________
Many minutes and dirty looks later
________________

Return NA1 and NA2 and replace them with minions 99 and 100(+1 play less than 2 minion from homeworld)
NA1 Homeworld (+1 play less than 2 minion from homeworld)
NA2 wherever

End a turn where you abused game mechanics to play 100 minions in 1 turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Roundy
msg tools
I just checked the rule book and it states that extra minions/actions do not have to be resolved immediately UNLESS they're obtained by a Special ability. So it appears that only one acolyte swap per turn can be completed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Mcginness
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
When my friends play the Ninja Acolyte, they seem to think the when they return the card to their hand those 2 points it's worth remain on that base. Then they play another minion for whatever it is worth. So if the NA (worth 2 points) is played first, returned to their hand, they play some minion worth 3 points, they say they have 5 because the NA was played there.

Is this right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Vandenberg
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
Pmcginness wrote:
When my friends play the Ninja Acolyte, they seem to think the when they return the card to their hand those 2 points it's worth remain on that base. Then they play another minion for whatever it is worth. So if the NA (worth 2 points) is played first, returned to their hand, they play some minion worth 3 points, they say they have 5 because the NA was played there.

Is this right?


Nope. If the NA is no longer at the base, you don't get any power from it. If it said that it transferred 2 power to the other minion then I could see it, but it says no such thing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.