$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Disguise question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Preston S
United States
Billings
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Disguise says "Choose one or two of your minions on one base. Play an equal number of extra minions there, and return the chosen minions to your hand."

Can you choose two minions, then choose to play one or no extra minions, and still take both of the chosen minions back to hand?

Does this fall under the 'You can play a card even if its ability can't happen' rule or is this different?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Beiter
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It does not say "may" so I play that you have to.

Plus the card is "disguise" meaning the minions reveal themselves for what they truly are.
The card would not make sense conceptually if you played it otherwise.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Preston S
United States
Billings
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree it doesn't make sense thematically, so I hope you are correct.

However, doesn't that make having a minion in hand a requirement to play the action, going against the 'you can play a card even if its ability can't happen' rule?

Unless you are still allowed to play it, just not allowed to return the chosen minions to hand since you were unwilling or unable to play an equal number of extra minions. Does that make sense?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You're over-thinking it. Like most cards in the game, do what it says and you're fine. Just exchange two minions for two minions, or one for one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
downeymb wrote:
You're over-thinking it. Like most cards in the game, do what it says and you're fine. Just exchange two minions for two minions, or one for one.


Or play it with no effect. Although be prepared to reveal your cards if you have no minions in hand to replace with.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Technically speaking, as written, if you had no minions in your hand, you would play zero minions (do what you can) and return one or two to your hand. But that is clearly not the intent of the card, especially since it does not require you to prove you have zero minions in hand, and thus allows cheating.

We originally were bandying about the term "swap" as an operative action, which basically mean "play in place of another card," but we abandoned that idea. The design intent is to swap out, and the card would have been better written so that players played them thar extra minions as a cost to return the others to their hands.

So, unless and until the rules cabal agrees otherwise, we'll rule by intent, which is to swap. Consider playing extra minions to be an imputed cost for returning the other minions.

Wow, that was lengthy.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Preston S
United States
Billings
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Smash Up » Forums » Rules
Re: Disguise question
Awesome, thanks for the clarification and design insights!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.