This is my rules reference card for Overlord. I'd hoped to keep it to a two-page legible Word file, but it's past that now.
Rules key: Marines, Commissar, Air Rules and Combat Cards.
If a sequence # below starts in color (e.g. If Air Rules) and you are not playing with that rule, then you can skip that line.
Definition: Air Sortie Equivalent =
Air Power card when Air Rules are in effect; and
Recon as Air Power when Air Rules and Air Strikes are in effect; and
Counter-attack of an Air Sortie Equivalent.
OVERLORD SEQUENCE OF PLAY
1A. Put terrain, figures, obstacles, tokens, etc. on two boards side-by-side, on a Battle Map or use VASSAL online.
1B. Choose sides and roles (and whether 2 on a side are playing co-op).
1C. Collect VPs from medals that your forces occupy at the start (that are not Turn Start medals).
1D. If Air Rules, then decide how many pairs of Air Sorties to use (2, 4, or 6 cards distributed to CiCs or shuffled into the deck).
1E. Deal Command Cards to CiCs.
1F. Discard any cards that are forbidden to your side, and draw replacements.
1G. Deal 1 Combat Card to each FG (if applicable).
1H. If Commissar, then Allied CiC plays 1-3 cards under the Chip (see rules).
1I. The starting player follows steps 2-11 then switch players and repeat until Victory Conditions are reached.
2. START OF TURN.
2A. Check for Turn-Start Medals. You gain a medal at the start of your turn, but medals are lost at start of any turn.
2B. Roll for Night Visibility rule.
2C. Roll for Sabotage rule.
3. SELECT CARDS.
3A. Provided Commander-in-Chief(CiC) keeps at least 1 card in hand, then
3B. CiC selects 1-3 cards as appropriate (see rules below).
3C. Their Finest Hour(TFH), or its Counter-Attack, must be selected by itself as the only card to play.
3D. If Commissar, then CiC either places them under Commissar Chip for next turn, or
3E. If Commissar, then CiC may play 1-3 Counter-Attacks directly, in lieu of putting cards under the chip. (Those under Chip won't be played this turn.)
3F. If Commissar, then Recons must go under Chip (unlike the standard game).
3G. If Air Rules, then Air Sortie counts as 1 play for the 3-card limit.
4. DISTRIBUTE CARDS.
4A. If Commissar, then cards previously under chip are distributed, unless CiC plays 1-3 Counter-Attack cards to bypass Commissar (see 3E).
4B. If Commissar, and as long as the 3-card limit is not exceeded, then the CiC can also from hand play a Counter-Attack or give Counter-Attack(s) or Air Sortie(s) to Field Generals (FGs) this turn.
4C. If Air Rules, then Air Sortie Equivalent must go to a FG.
4D. CiC sets aside (puts in Vassal CiC box) 1 of: Air Power (if no Air Rules), Recon as Air Power (if Blitz/Air Strikes and no Air Rules), Barrage, TFH, or Counter-Attack of these cards.
4E. Each FG receives 1 Tactic card max, or
4F. 1-2 Section cards (Lefts for Left FG, Centers for Center FG, Rights for Right FG), or
4G. 1 special Section card: Recon-in-Force, General Advance, or Pincer Move (Pincer for Left or Right FGs only), or
4H. 1 Air Sortie (alone or with 1 Section card), or
4I. 1 Air Sortie Equivalent, or
4J. 1 Counter-Attack for an Air Sortie Equivalent, which counts as an Air Sortie (not Recon) or
4K. 1 Air Sortie plus 1 Counter-Attack if opposing FG played Air Sortie and 1 Section card, or
4L. FG does not receive a card.
4M. If Commissar, then a Counter-Attack under the Chip must go to a FG, not CiC, unless it was the only card under the Chip.
5. CiC DISCUSSES STRATEGY.
5A. CiC can speak w/one FG.
5B. CiC may not show or state what cards he holds (unless playing 2-on-2 cooperatively).
5C. CiC of Marines notifies which FG with a Section card gets the +1 order.
5D. Note: FGs may talk to other FGs at any time during the turn (2-11).
6. CiC PLAYS CARDS
6A. CiC plays 1 card max: TFH, Barrage, Air Power/Recon as Air Strike (if no Air Rules), or Counter-Attack of these cards.
6B. CiC targets enemy units with Barrage or Air Strike, rolls dice and inflicts damage.
6C. If CiC plays TFH then each FG rolls 4 dice (no bonus for Marines). Skip to 7K.
7. FGs PLAY CARDS
7A. FG plays one Section Card per section, or
7B. FG plays either Recon-in-Force or General Advance for both sections, or
7C. Left-FG or Right-FG plays Pincer Move (as Probe) for one section, or
7D. FG plays Infantry Assault for one section, or
7E. FG plays Counter-Attack for opposing card in same section(s), or
7F. FG plays Tactic Card for both sections, or
7G. FG plays Air Sortie (alone or with 1 Section card, exception see 4K), or
7H. FG plays an Air Sortie Equivalent or its Counter-Attack, or
7I. FGs who do not receive a card may now make an Initiative Roll (except if CiC plays TFH), and resolve negative effects (flag=retreat, grenade=hit), or choose not to roll.
7J. Imperial Japanese Infantry do not ignore a flag from Initiative Roll.
7K. FG plays Reinforcements, Armor Factory, or Air Bombardment then resolves effect (before or after Command Cards).
7L. FG plays Medics & Mechanics then rolls 4 dice for effects. Unit is only ordered if figures are recovered.
8. ORDER UNITS
8A. All FGs order units simultaneously.
8B. If Marine FG, then Tactic cards that order 1-4 units may order 2-5.
8C. If Air Rules and Blitz/Air Strikes, then FGs may play Recon as Air Sortie Equivalent.
8D. FGs order units from Initiative Roll or TFH (infantry=1 infantry, armor=1 armor, star=any 1 unit). (No bonus for Marines.)
8E. Stars from Initiative Roll and TFH may order a plane.
8F. If Air Rules, then limit one plane per player (i.e. FG may only order one plane in his sections).
8G. If an airborne plane is not ordered, then it is removed.
8H. If there's already a friendly plane in the FG's sections (except on a cross-over hex and ordered by another FG), then a FG cannot bring another plane on the board unless it's removed first.
8I. Left and Right FGs may not bring a plane on the board directly to those hexes inside of the half-hexes that are not in play.
8J. FGs may play Sniper and/or Return to Duty.
8K. Roll for Hospital Recovery. This unit cannot move or battle.
9. MOVE UNITS
9A. Air Check for your airborne planes.
9B. In any sequence, ordered units are given movement orders, and special rules are resolved immediately (Frozen River, Minefields, and applicable Combat Cards).
9C. After a plane finishes moving, immediately resolve its Strafing, Kamikaze Attack, or Rescue.
10A. In any sequence, any FG now selects an ordered unit of his that may battle and chooses its target.
10B. FG may play his Combat Cards: Street Fight, Spotter, etc.
10C. At the start of a Close Combat, the opposing CiC may pass Ambush to his FG, who plays it immediately. That CiC draws a replacement card immediately after the result.
10D. Opposing FG may play his Combat Cards: Ambuscade, Out of Ammo, or Pull Back before the attacker's die roll; and Bitter Resistance or Not a Step Back after the attacker's die roll.
10E. FG rolls dice, resolves casualties and takes other actions until that unit's turn is complete (including Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, British Battle-Back, French Stay-in-Place, 2nd movement of Behind Enemy Lines/Infiltrators, Reposition, Fortify and Camouflage).
10F. If Operation Market Garden, and an Allied unit is lost, and Allied CiC has more than 2 cards in hand, then Allied CiC randomly discards a card.
10G. If Italian High Command rule is in effect, and an Italian unit is lost, and Italian CiC has more than 3 cards in hand, then Italian CiC randomly discards a card.
11. DISCARD AND DRAW CARDS
11A. Place Command and Combat Cards in discard piles.
11B. After TFH (or its Counter-Attack) shuffle decks.
11C. Provided CiC does not draw more cards than the hand limit, then
11D. CiC draws 2 cards, or
11E. If at least one Recon Card was played (as a Recon), then CiC draws 3 cards and keeps them, or
11F. If a Storch used its Recon action, then Axis CiC draws 3 cards and keeps them, or
11G. If only Air Sortie cards were played (1-3), then CiC draws 0 cards.
11H. If a FG played a Recon Card (as a Recon), or used Storch's Recon action, then FG draws a Combat Card (if applicable).
11I. Air Sortie cards drawn are placed face-up and do not count toward hand size. CiC draws again.
Previously I had edits here, for people to see what changes were made since they looked previously. With the re-numbering it is too difficult to follow.
Edit 8/24 (MAJOR RENUMBERING)
Inserted new sections: 1 Setup and 2 Start of Turn, pushing others down to 3-11.
Defined Air Sortie Equivalent at top.
Clarified that Medics unit only counts as ordered if it recovers figures.
Added 10F & 10G for Operation Market Garden and Italian High Command card loss procedures.
Edit 8/26: Added "French Stay-in-Place" to 10E.
Edit 1/29: 7B "either", 7C "as Probe".
Edit 3/31/14: Added 8k-Hospital Recovery.
- Last edited Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:56 pm (Total Number of Edits: 60)
- Posted Wed Dec 5, 2012 3:21 am
1B. CiC must always keep at least 1 card in hand.
I'm a bit confused here. CiC can distribute up to three cards to his FGs. Maybe I misinterpreted this, and the wording is in reference to something else in the rules?
Note the specifics: "If there are 3 Command cards under the Commissar chip the Soviet Command-in-Chief may not play a Counter-Attack card from his hand because it would exceed the 3 card limit. Also note that all the Command cards under the Commissar chip must be played. The Soviet Command-in-Chief may not choose to play only 1 card from under the Commissar chip and leave 1 card under the chip."
2A. If Commissar, then cards previously under chip are distributed, unless CiC plays 1-3 Counter-Attack cards to bypass Commissar.I think the quoted statement above does a better job of describing this specific rule. Just a side note as clarification: if the Axis is designated to go first, then the Commissar needs to have his chosen cards under the chip prior to the Axis action. Sometimes we forget.
2F. 1-2 Section cards (Lefts for Left FG,Centers for Center FG, Rights for Right FG), or 2G. 1 special Section card: Recon-in-Force, General Advance, or Pincer Move (Pincer for Left or Right FGs only, or.... Yes, this is correct. A FG that commands the left section, for example, would play one of the two section cards on the left half of this section, and the second section card for the right half of his/her section. Just a comment about Overlord terminology: Since Overlord has 6 sections to the standard 3, I've always hoped that DoW would redefine the terms to distinguished between, for example, a right section of the left flank, or the right portion of the center section, or whatever.
Glad to see an effort to have a standard set of rule guidelines for the different Army's. Thanks!
Numbers have changed so I"ve edited my reply
...CiC must always keep at least 1 card in hand.
I'm a bit confused here. CiC can distribute up to three cards to his FGs. Maybe I misinterpreted this, and the wording is in reference to something else in the rules?
If the CiC's hand has only 3 cards, he may not use all 3, but must keep at least 1 (hand= card rack).
Note the specifics: "...all the Command cards under the Commissar chip must be played...."
I think the quoted statement above does a better job of describing this specific rule.
Taken by itself this line is not correct (emphasis mine). You can bypass the Commissar by playing Counter-Attack(s) as you can in the normal-sized board. The latest FAQ did not change the wording, so it still causes controversy.
There are 3 or 4 ways to play Counter-Attack with Commmissar:
-Bypass the Commissar Chip with 1-3 Counter-Attacks (leaving Commissar cards for next turn),
-Play all the cards under the Commissar Chip. If there are less than 3 cards under the chip, you can add a Counter-Attack (or two if there's only 1),
-Put a Counter-Attack under the Commissar Chip. If it's with other cards then it can only counter cards played by a FG (so if your opponent just played TFH, it's wasted). If it's the only card under the chip, then it could counter TFH (or Air Power, or Barrage).
- Last edited Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:09 am (Total Number of Edits: 5)
- Posted Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:19 pm
I believe that your Step 2B covers this but the way that is stated I was not sure.
With Commissar rule you may play a Counter-Attack from your hand in addition to playing ALL the cards under the chip (you can never elect to use some of the chip cards in a turn - it is all or nothing - the nothing usually occurs when you choose to CA TFH). So in order for this to happen, there can be no more than 2 cards under the chip.
So, the two examples would be - 2 cards under the chip and a CA or 1 card under the chip and two CAs (the second case would be a rare event indeed).
I suppose if I read some more OL AARs, I might find better terminology. I don't know what I've used. I see Right-Inner, Right-Outer, Center's-Left, Center's-Right, etc. as distinctive for now.
i tend to speak off Left Field General, left & right section, center FG L & R sector, Right FG L& R.
Its like pointing to the adress and using left and right as nrs.
I've posted a Word file for this OL Sequence Summary in my user pages on the DaysofWonder website.
I discovered if your side plays only Air Sorties (no Section or Tactic cards), then the CiC draws NO cards!
I'm hoping this will help us enjoy playing Tobruk and Stalingrad Battle Maps without confusion sometime soon.
- Last edited Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:12 am (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:51 pm
I've posted a Word file for this OL Sequence Summary in my user pages
on the DaysofWonder website.
Thanks buddy. I shall translate this into spanish, now it looks is error-free.
ILLEGAL CARD PLAY
In a standard Overlord game like Omaha Beach (from inside cover), if someone makes a card mistake, (like 2 Tactic cards to the same FG), it isn't much of a problem to allow the CiC to take one of the cards back and maybe play another.
But, If Commissar rules, then the Axis has taken a turn before the Chip cards are revealed, so what do you do?
If an invalid play is made (like TFH with another card) then maybe the Axis CiC should choose which card is played and which is kept under the chip for next turn?
Allowance can be made for the Soviet CiC to take back another card of his choice (but not the invalid one) he just put under the chip for next turn. (So in the above example, the Axis CiC would say TFH can't be played this turn and the Allies would then take back all the other cards under the Chip so TFH would be valid next turn.)
What do you do?
- Last edited Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:18 am (Total Number of Edits: 7)
- Posted Thu May 2, 2013 2:28 am
I did start over the numbering to update my original post, so this post is no longer needed.
- Last edited Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:21 am (Total Number of Edits: 8)
- Posted Wed Jul 31, 2013 5:25 am
Just a comment about Overlord terminology: Since Overlord has 6 sections to the standard 3, I've always hoped that DoW would redefine the terms to distinguished between, for example, a right section of the left flank, or the right portion of the center section, or whatever.
The last couple times I played OL, I recorded our playes by giving a number for each section. From Allied Left to Right I number them 1-6. It was a little difficult recording from Axis side when it was reversed Right to Left. Sometimes it's interesting to know which FG scored the most kills or medals. Perhaps knowing the section of card plays could be useful.
- Last edited Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:25 am (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Fri Aug 9, 2013 4:19 am
Today I updated my first post to include
2. START OF TURN
and discard procedure for Operation Market Garden and Italian High Command rules.
Previously I found Overlord rules in multiple FAQ downloadable files, and forums. The latest FAQ consolidates some of them. I still think there needs to be a re-write of the OL instructions, breaking them down into more section like this sequence summary.
I found on some forums that people still disagree when Combat Cards should be played. When playing in a recent OL tournament, one organizer contacted Days of Wonder for clarification of the Sniper card. This was his reply:
Thank you for your request.
As per the Combat Rules:
"Combat cards are usually played in conjunction with unit(s) ordered with a Command card, to enhance these units' actions. When that is not the case, a sentence at the bottom of the card spells out when the card is played."
A: Since there is no specific sentence at the bottom of the Sniper Combat Card, it must be player along with a Command card, in the Order phase.
Days of Wonder
Someone wanted to play Sniper and have it as a 5th unit under Firefight. I'm guessing that another person missed killing an infantry, and wanted to bring in a Sniper for one more shot. Neither should be allowed.
4 on a side- each player gets 1 role (CiC, LFG, CFG, RFG).
3 on a side- one player is LFG, one player is RFG, one player is both CiCand CFG.
2 on a side- players take all roles collectively (per Overlord Expansion).
1 on a side- player takes all roles.
The purpose of the summary is so all players are on the same page with rules, order of play and so on.
I saw a problem when playing 3 vs 4. Since the CiC on one side was also CFG, the Center knew what cards were in hand and could play more efficiently. This gave that CFG an advantage over the side with 4 players. Even when a player left so it was 3-on-3, the CiCs still played CFG positions more efficiently than the LFGs and RFGs. So I came up with a variant.
VARIANTS for 3 on a side
The first player takes CiC position.
a. Second player takes one FG position, the 3rd player takes the remaining 2 FG positions (usually including CFG), or
b. Second player takes LFG position, 3rd takes RFG and they play CFG cooperatively, or
c. same as b, but alternating (2nd gets CFG one turn, 3rd gets it next turn), or
d. Second player takes LFG and controls units in adjacent Center section, 3rd takes RFG and his adjacent Center section. They decide (or CiC) whose units get ordered in the Center.
A CiC isn't supposed to tell or show his cards to his FGs, presumably for a "fog of war" effect. I think these variants capture that.
In Overlord scenarios one FG position might not be that important ("boring sections"). In that case you might make the CiC cover it for 3-on-a-side games.
I have played 2-on-2, and playing co-operatively may be difficult. They can discuss strategy and cards now, but I think it's natural and makes the game go quicker to have each cover specific FG positions for moves and battles.
I wanted to add Oasis Recovery today, but it's based on number of command cards, which is usually more than 6.
Some people are playing a "Break-Lord" game using two Breakthrough boards. I'm not sure what card decks they use. The Breakthrough decks alter 4 cards:
Dig-in: you can also sandbag an artillery.
Air Power: both sides roll 2 dice per target.
Barrage: stars hit, too.
Medics: Instead of choosing a wounded unit, roll 4 dice and use infantry, armor and star results to heal one or more applicable units.
IMHO, the BT Medics card is well-suited for OL, since you might be able to activate up to 4 units, while the original is too weak for OL, since the FG might get nothing on the roll.
The BT rules suggest you can use any of these 4 cards in place of the originals as a variant, but I have yet to do this or see it done or recommended in a scenario's rules.
IMHO, the Artillery Bombard is too weak as a card to give a FG. I'd like to see the rule changed to make it a CiC card. I've thought about this before, but getting stuck with both Artillery Bombard cards in hand reminded me to post my thought.