Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tooth And Claw... and Guns (Action, Dino Faction) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Card states: "Play on a minion. Ongoing: If an ability would affect this minion, destroy this card and the ability does not affect this minion."

Ideally, it's to protect your own minions from negative affects. But how about playing it on another player's minion? Say, to prevent them from getting a base's positive ability? Or even block certain minions' ongoing or special ability, if just the one time? Keep Pirate King from moving?Block Microbot Alpha's power bonus (and Microbot tagging)? Stop Scout from going back to hand? Prevent Ninja Acolyte switch-out? Turn off Warbot's ability to allow it to be destroyed?

Any thoughts?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quixotic_One wrote:
Card states: "Play on a minion. Ongoing: If an ability would affect this minion, destroy this card and the ability does not affect this minion."

Ideally, it's to protect your own minions from negative affects. But how about playing it on another player's minion? Say, to prevent them from getting a base's positive ability? Or even block certain minions' ongoing or special ability, if just the one time? Keep Pirate King from moving?Block Microbot Alpha's power bonus (and Microbot tagging)? Stop Scout from going back to hand? Prevent Ninja Acolyte switch-out? Turn off Warbot's ability to allow it to be destroyed?

Any thoughts?



another one for AEG's FAQ....and a good question too...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Dieckmann
United States
Bronx
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not knowing the game very well it sure seems to play that you can play it on any minion. I assume that there are negative effects that you are allowed to play on minions as well that you would normally play on others minions but you could play on your own minions under unusual circumstances?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Shelton

Charlotte
North Carolina
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quixotic_One wrote:
Card states: "Play on a minion. Ongoing: If an ability would affect this minion, destroy this card and the ability does not affect this minion."

Ideally, it's to protect your own minions from negative affects. But how about playing it on another player's minion? Say, to prevent them from getting a base's positive ability? Or even block certain minions' ongoing or special ability, if just the one time? Keep Pirate King from moving?Block Microbot Alpha's power bonus (and Microbot tagging)? Stop Scout from going back to hand? Prevent Ninja Acolyte switch-out? Turn off Warbot's ability to allow it to be destroyed?

Any thoughts?



Some good examples here. Don't take my word as gospel, BUT - anything that was a printed ability on something in play, could just be retriggered. So it wouldn't effectively stop the Pirate King, because you blow up T&C&G and he just uses the action again immediately. However, in the case of something like having Augmentation played on a minion, you could blow it up and they wouldn't get the strength pump. That action is now in the discard pile so it wouldn't get retriggered.

I agree that this is interesting, and could use clarifying.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blair
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But can Pirate King use his ability again immediately? "Before a base scores" to me implies the instant before it's able to score, the ability triggers (if you choose to use it). If used, it will cause T&C&G to take the hit. That means that the ability was triggered but didn't affect the Pirate King due to T&C&G being on him, meaning the base would break/score as normal. To me it acts like the stack in MTG.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
charles vera
United States
el paso
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say yes. But I do think we need some clarification on this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor Aldridge
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In general, abilities only happen once. Specials break this, but generally are initiated by some trigger. In the case of the Pirate King, that trigger is when a base is about to score - all players have an opportunity to play Special abilities. Granted, I'm not official, but my interpretation is that:

At that time, the owner of the Pirate King could attempt to use the Special ability. Since it would move the minion, it counts as affecting it, and the Action card nullifies it. The Pirate King will not re-trigger for this instance of the base preparing to score. (In the case of First Mate scoring for multiple bases, that's because each base is a separate "I'm going to score" trigger.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Decay
Germany
Hamburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just played my first game and with the Tooth and Claw card there came a rule-/timing-question up.

I have a creature which is protected with Tooth and Claw...
Card states: "Play on a minion. Ongoing: If an ability would affect this minion, destroy this card and the ability does not affect this minion."

Now another player (Ninja) plays a card called Poison (I think it is called poison in english, in german it's "Gift") on his turn on my protected creature.

Poison states: "Play on a minion. Destroy any number of actions played on this minion. Ongoing: This minion has -4 power (Minions have a minimum power of 0)."

What happens here? Do the Tooth...-Card protect my minion from Poison, or is it ineffective because the effect of Poison happens first?

Hope someone could help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew
United States
Floresville
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think somewhere on these forums the designers have said to consider cards attached to a minion as part of that minion; so, other than destroying Tooth... (as per it's text), poison would not affect the minion. Kinda wish AEG would update the FAQ again, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Miller
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
T&C&G works when the minion is affected by an abilty. Poison first is played on a mionion. The minion is not affected by this. Then destroys actions on the minion. The minion is still not affected. Now the minion will have -4 power. This does affect the minion but T&C&G is destroyed.

Remember poison is a ninja action and that's how they play. Poison is ment to get past those kind of actions. When reading a card do what the card says in order and these questions won't. Appear as much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Miller
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Smash Up » Forums » Rules
Re: Tooth And Claw... and Guns (Action, Dino Faction)
[q="Quixotic_One"]Card states: "Play on a minion. Ongoing: If an ability would affect this minion, destroy this card and the ability does not affect this minion."

Ideally, it's to protect your own minions from negative affects. But how about playing it on another player's minion? Say, to prevent them from getting a base's positive ability? Or even block certain minions' ongoing or special ability, if just the one time? Keep Pirate King from moving?Block Microbot Alpha's power bonus (and Microbot tagging)? Stop Scout from going back to hand? Prevent Ninja Acolyte switch-out? Turn off Warbot's ability to allow it to be destroyed?

Any thoughts?

First off the rules state when something is "affected" it is being destoyed, or moved (includes returning cards). So it won't stop minion's own ability. Why would you play it on your own minion if that was the case. Also if the card says YOU can do something, YOU don't affect the minion. Pirate King says before a base scores YOU can move it to that base. Scout says when the base scores YOU can return it to yo hand instead of the discard pile. Ninja Acolyte says if you haven't played a minoin yet then YOU can return it to your hand to play an extra minion on that base.

Play this action on a Nukebot or Gremlin or Brownie. Otherwise play it on your own minions. Here's an extra. Leprechaun will destroy Microbot Alpha even if Alpha would have five or more power. Alpha is 1 power and does not get boosted until it is on the base since that's an ongoing ability. Leprechaun destroys when a minion is played so Alpha is destroyed. See if you can't move Alpha though. That's how I interpret the rules, but it doesn't matter what happens as long as everyone else is ok with it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Zeck
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Going back to the Tooth and Claw... and Guns vs Poison question, what if it were reversed in a way? As in, could Tooth... be used on a minion with Poison already on it to destroy both Tooth... and Poison, effectively removing Poison from the minion?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
frenzied coder
msg tools
Jacob Zeck. jump over to this thread which I just started on the topic of Ongoing abilities interacting with Tooth and Claw... and Guns:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1409454/tooth-and-claw-and-...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.