Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Infiltrate / Leprechaun - ongoing abilities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darko Lightsaber
msg tools
mb
Hello All,

Infiltrate: We have problems regarding the meaning of the ability of this card. It says "You may ignore this base's ability until the start of your next turn." I have read a similar question on this forum, but the answer for that was not enough clear for me. So could you please help me to understand the actual ability of this card?

A. Ninja player (who played Infiltrate) is the only one, who can use the ability of Infiltrate (so only he/she can activate this card), but the restriction will take effect on the other players as well. In other words, Ninja player can disable the Base ability for a turn, and no one can use it till the beginning of the Ninja's next turn.

B. Ninja player (who played Infiltrate) is the only one, who can use the ability of Infiltrate (so only he/she can activate this), but the ability will take effect only on him/her. So he/she is the only one, who will suffer from this restriction.

--------------------------------------

Leprechaun: With this ongoing ability, Leprechaun can kill all "just played" minions on the same Base? So for example if Wizard player places two minions to the same base, could the Leprechaun use his ability against both one to destroy them?


Thank you for your answers in advance,
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
airunalmarem wrote:
Leprechaun: With this ongoing ability, Leprechaun can kill all "just played" minions on the same Base? So for example if Wizard player places two minions to the same base, could the Leprechaun use his ability against both one to destroy them?


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
airunalmarem wrote:
B. Ninja player (who played Infiltrate) is the only one, who can use the ability of Infiltrate (so only he/she can activate this), but the ability will take effect only on him/her. So he/she is the only one, who will suffer from this restriction.


You missed option C, it is only disabled for the Ninja player's turn.

Option C is how we play it, but I am not confident that this is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Preston S
United States
Billings
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We play B, but we've had a hard time deciding what it means for you to ignore base abilities that have more of a global effect. Any clarification would be great.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seconded, it id the most i nssible card to understand in the entire set.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D P
msg tools
Re: Infiltrate
Regarding Infiltrate: My initial reading led me to believe situation "B" (in the original post): that the base ability is only ignored for the Ninja player. However I am strongly inclined to start using the "A" interpretation for playing with this card after some more experience playing the game.

I think mechanically it makes the card much more playable than simply being a bad version of "disenchant" that it is now. As it stands, there's nothing worse then drawing both infiltrates early in the game, especially when there are no actions out to destroy. The "Ignoring the base ability" power (for the Ninja player only) feels so ridiculously situational that it almost never comes up during a game. However, I think being able to tactically turn off the base for all players goes hand in hand with the Ninja faction's other tricky abilities and come-from-behind base scoring focus. I think giving Ninja players this option opens up more opportunities for some cool interactions.

Thematically, I think it works very well too. You can think of it as the Ninjas having infiltrated the base, and can grind the inner workings to a halt whenever they want (suppress the base's ability for everyone) or let things carry on if it benefits them (allow the base to function as normal).

Regardless, I think I'm going to throw a house rule on this one just to see how it goes. Unfortunately, it makes the alien's jamming signal universally worse when comparing the two, especially when you consider that there is only one copy of jamming signal versus two infiltrates + the infiltrate ability to destroy an action on the base... but there are other examples of cards that are similar but less efficient for different factions. I think the Aliens will be okay with it.



I would really love some official clarification on this one too, though! Definitely one of the more difficult-to-understand and somewhat bewildering action cards in the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Preston S
United States
Billings
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Smash Up » Forums » Rules
Re: Infiltrate / Leprechaun - ongoing abilities
After more plays... I still don't think 'A' is correct.

If it was intended to work like Jammed Signal, I'm sure it would have been worded similarly, 'All players ignore this base's ability'.

Negative base abilities may be rare in the core set, (I think Tar Pits, Evans City Cemetery, and Mushroom Kingdom are the only ones) but I'm sure there will be more... In fact, check out the latest preview:

http://www.alderac.com/smashup/2013/01/02/base-card-preview/

Infiltrate will definitely come in handy there!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My group Plays B, But I don't know how it interacts with Cave of Shinies. If the Ninja player infiltrates that base, and then plays a Tiger Assassin to kill a War Raptor there does the Dinosaur player get a point or does the Ninja ignore the ability because they were the ones who killed something.

In any case while there are some times when infiltrate's ongoing effect is useful, they are very rare.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Riggs
Netherlands
Kerkrade
Limburg
flag msg tools
Hadouken
mbmbmbmbmb
Me digging old post again

For Craig's case, it's difficult. My point of view is that the Dino-player isn't ignoring the base ability, therefore he gets the VP. I'd rule the same issue for Preston's case (Mushroom Kingdom). Suppose that the Ninja-player played Infiltrate on that base. He can ignore the ability to not move another player's minion to there... but that was optional in the first place Another player could (IMO) move the ninja minions there on their turn since they are not ignoring that ability. ninja

So in other words, im going for option B ^^'
Any official word on this would be nice, this and the other fact on Infiltrate discussed here:

Quote:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/983059/infiltrate-destroying...

As you've noted Infiltrate reads: "Ongoing:you may ignore this base's ability until the start of your next turn."

Since the ability is not a Talent (Like Steampunk Zeppelin) the ability only activates when you play the card and cannot be reactivated on a later turn. However nowhere in the text are you instructed to "destroy" Infiltrate meaning that for 1 turn after Infiltrate is played it does "something" but once that 1 turn is over (ie after the start of your next turn) it sits on the base doing nothing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.