Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Powderkegging a Buccaneer in the Cave of Shinies (and other variations) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Moose Detective
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Got a "did we play it right?" rules question.

Powderkeg: Destroy one of your minions and all minions with equal or less power on the same base.

Buccaneer: Special: If this minion would be destroyed, move it to another base instead.

Cave of Shinies (base): After each time a minion is destroyed here, its owner gains 1 VP.

In a 9-9 tie, my gf decided to Powderkeg her own Buccaneer, destroying 3 of her robots and 1 of my zombies in the process, giving her a 12-10 lead.

We decided to play it this way:

Powderkeg is playable with Buccaneer as a target because you don't even need valid targets for cards anyway, and Buccaneer's ability doesn't kick in until after its targeted.

This means that any other minions of 4 or less power on that base are destroyed.

The Cave gives her 3 points and me 1 point for those destroyed minions. However, since the Buccaneer was NOT destroyed, she doesn't get a point for him. He gets to move to another base.


Would you have played it the same way?

Or would you say since the Buccaneer isn't destroyed, nothing else is either? Or would you have killed everything, but given a point from the Cave for the Buccaneer also?

(If you care, her plan didn't work and the extra point wouldn't have mattered. I used a free Tenacious Z, a War Raptor and a Howl to score both the Cave and another base on my next turn, forcing a 19-19 tie and then won it in "sudden death" )
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Think you made the right call. Initally, I would have given a point from the Buccaneer too, but since he has the word 'instead' in his description, I guess he doesn't count.

Thanks for including the text from the cards, makes it much easier to answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brain
United States
Belvidere
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm still pretty new at this game so I could be wrong, but I think you played it correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Alderman
United States
Shady Spring
West Virginia
flag msg tools
Trust me, I am not the Traitor.
badge
Don't touch my baby!
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you played it right you don't score for the buccaneer and instead move him to another base! Nice combo play on her part!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
You played it right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moose Detective
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Smash Up » Forums » Rules
Re: Powderkegging a Buccaneer in the Cave of Shinies (and other variations)
Thanks for the answers. I'm going to ask a few more, but personally, I prefer each rules thing in its own post so people can find the problem if it comes up in their game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.