Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sea Dogs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Moose Detective
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Smash Up » Forums » Rules
Sea Dogs
Yes, another pirate question. (GF played Pirates twice last night, but I also feel the pirate deck is the most specific to Smash Up. (zombies are a MtG black deck, etc. Others are influenced by blue)


Sea Dogs - Name a faction. Move all other players' minions of that faction from one base to another.

The wording here can be taken more than one way.

A> If you put the stress on "one" the implication is I can name Dinos, and move all Dinos from ONE base X to another base Y.

B> If you put the stress on "all" the implication is I can name Dinos and move ALL dinos: dinos on X to either Y or Z, dinos on Y to either X or Z and dinos on Z to either X or Y

We rolled with choice A, but so far I think this is the most confusingly worded card.

Any help?








 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording actually sounds like B, but if they really wanted B they simply would have written 'move all Dinos to different bases'

So i believe by writing from one base to another, they really mean A.

I agree it is confusing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jasper Birch
United States
Lincoln
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Directly from the FAQ on the website:

Q: Sea Dogs states “Name a faction. Move all
other players‘ minions of that faction from one
base to another.” How does this work?
A: You choose a faction, then choose a base.
Move all minions of that faction from that base to
any one other base. This may target opposing
players’ minions.

So yes, you can only move a faction from one base to another.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moose Detective
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
the official FAQ you say?

d'oh.

I knew I forgot to check somewhere. :/
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
It is written that way to account for blending two sets, where more than one player may have, say, ninjas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I had misinterpreted Sea Dogs at first, because I was comparing it to the Bear Cavalry's You're Pretty Much Borscht:

You're Pretty Much Borscht wrote:
Choose a base where you have a minion. Move all other players' minions from there to one other base.

Sea Dogs wrote:
Name a faction. Move all other players' minions of that faction from one base to another.

Because YPMB is more specific, I thought Sea Dogs moved all minions in the named faction to a different base, and not necessarily the same one, either. I'm glad the FAQ entry was pointed out. I think Sea Dogs would be clearer if it were worded something like,
Quote:
Name a faction and choose a base. Move all other players' minions of that faction from that base to one other base.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.