Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Last Night on Earth: The Zombie Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Played our first two games - Rules questions: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I did not see these addressed in the FAQ:

1) When playing Amble, may the zombie player roll 1st, then choose the effected zombie to move at this speed?

2) With 2 Zombie players, may they each discard one card before drawing back up to 2 cards to begin the Zombie turn?

3) Can you play a 'cancel fight' event after the dice are rolled and you see that you are going to lose the fight?

Thanks - we had a blast playing the game, immediately playing a second time.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I will not rest until Biblios is in the Top 100. - Steve Oksienik
United States
Howell
Michigan
flag msg tools
Well I been watchin' while you been coughin, I've been drinking life while you've been nauseous, and so I drink to health while you kill yourself and I got just one thing that I can offer... Go on and save yourself and take it out on me
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Not sure, hopefully someone from FFP will see this.

2. I'm almost 100% positive the answer is yes.

3. No, the rulebook says a fight can't be cancelled after the dice are rolled IIRC.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark sellmeyer
United States
st louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't found a rule for it, but we thought it would be more fair (and dramatic) to pick the zombie you want to shamble then roll. You don't roll a die then choose which hero you want to move with it.

yes on 2. if multiple zombie players, they are independent of each other.

no on 3
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
3. No, the rulebook says a fight can't be cancelled after the dice are rolled IIRC.

Actually, the rulebook says an event can't be cancelled after it causes dice to be rolled or re-rolled. Other events are played after the dice are rolled, and I couldn't find anything saying these events couldn't.

It seems the rules are trying to limit exceptions, but I agree that this event 'feels' wrong playing it after the dice are rolled. Hopefully an official answer will be forthcoming.

It should be noted though that the answers about previous timing of events played has been that they can be played anytime unless the card dictates otherwise, such as "except during a fight".

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Hill
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmb
Last Night on Earth: The Zombie Game » Forums » Rules
Re: Played our first two games - Rules questions:
Rick Young wrote:
1) When playing Amble, may the zombie player roll 1st, then choose the effected zombie to move at this speed?


When playing Shamble you should choose the Zombie and then roll to see how far they get to move.


Rick Young wrote:
2) With 2 Zombie players, may they each discard one card before drawing back up to 2 cards to begin the Zombie turn?


Yes, in a 2 Zombie Player game, both players may discard before drawing up.

Rick Young wrote:
3) Can you play a 'cancel fight' event after the dice are rolled and you see that you are going to lose the fight?


Actually, you CAN wait and Cancel a Fight after the dice have been rolled! (The restriction only applys to Canceling individual 'cards' after they have caused dice to be rolled). There are not very many cards that let you Cancel a Fight, but they are amongst the most powerful. They are almost always a Townsfolk and usually represent them running in and saving you while getting torn down in the process.

The ability to occasionally Cancel a Fight is one thing that the Heroes have going for them in their uphill struggle for survival.

- Jason

Jason C. Hill
Flying Frog Productions



5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Jason for the official answers.

You've got a great game here, very well done!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bret Smith
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rick Young wrote:

3) Can you play a 'cancel fight' event after the dice are rolled and you see that you are going to lose the fight?



Yes. From the rules:
"Unless stated specifically otherwise cards may be used or played after the fact to alter the results of a roll or fight (etc.). For example: if a Hero rolls and is currently losing a Fight he may then use a Hand Weapon, Combat Bonus, or play a card to cancel that fight or to roll extra Fight Dice, etc."

{EDIT: Oops,took to long to hit reply.... Jason already took care of it}
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I will not rest until Biblios is in the Top 100. - Steve Oksienik
United States
Howell
Michigan
flag msg tools
Well I been watchin' while you been coughin, I've been drinking life while you've been nauseous, and so I drink to health while you kill yourself and I got just one thing that I can offer... Go on and save yourself and take it out on me
mbmbmbmbmb
Rats, I knew I was close. Thats what I get for trying to be a smart guy without the rulebook near me. shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Hills
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Updated Wiki:
1.http://flyingfrogwiki.com/ffpwiki/index.php?title=Card:Shamble
2.http://flyingfrogwiki.com/ffpwiki/index.php?title=LNOE_Draw_...
3.http://flyingfrogwiki.com/ffpwiki/index.php?title=LNOE_Cance...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.