Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Carcassonne: King & Scout» Forums » General

Subject: Scout Tile Clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shannon Appelcline
United States
Berkeley
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Carcassonne: King & Scout » Forums » General
Scout Tile Clarifications
I just received a few clarifications from Rio Grande Games on various of the H&G/Scout tiles:

AGRICULTURE. Though you can't place a hunter in the same field as the Agriculture hut (or vice-versa), clearly they can come into the same field through normal tile-joining means. If this is the case, both the hunter & the hut score independently of the other (and this is clearly the correct route to take toward victory if you draw the Agriculture Hut).

DUG-OUT. The text here is mildly confusing, but the intended use in the obvious one. You put your meeple on one of the rivers as a fisher, not in the dug-out in the middle of the lake. That one individual river has to be empty of fishers and you score normally when that one individual river is completed (though you of course leave your meeple.) [As a matter of clarity for both this and the Scout tile I personally lay the figure down after it's been scored to make it obvious that it wasn't just forgotten.]

SHAMAN. If you use this special power you get to retrieve a meeple only when figures are normally scored (e.g., at the end of the phase). Personally, I'm not sure if the power is a bane or a blessing, because you sometimes end up retrieving figures that you might have scored if you worked on them. But I suppose that's why the power is "cheaper" than the others, through not having to pay a long-term meeple.

Shannon
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Miller

Portland
Oregon
msg tools
mb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
Hi Shannon,

In the King variation for Carc, how are "biggest city" and "longest road" to be interpreted? I see 3 plausible ways:

1. Just use the size of the city in tiles or the length of the road in tiles.
2. Use the value of the city with flags added.
3. Use the value of the city or road with cathedrals or inns added, respectively.

I lean toward the first method, but since you contacted Rio Grande, you're more in the know.

Thanks!
Jim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shannon Appelcline
United States
Berkeley
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
musth (#23920),

I didn't ask about the king & robber baron tiles, but based on the text I think that answer #1 is the obvious one. The text says "larger" [cities] and "longest" [roads], not more valuable.

Shannon
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Seddon
United Kingdom
Congleton
Cheshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
What I want to know is this, though:

If the agriculture tile scores for every meadow piece, does he score once or twice for each tile, if that tile has two pieces of meadow (separated by a river) which are both part of the same meadow.

To put it another way - if the river goes around in a big bend of several pieces, you might have a few tiles that have 2 pieces of meadow connected to the Ag tile. Is that one point or two for each of those tiles? We played 1 point, but I'd like to know for future reference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
musth (#23920),
FWIW, BSW counts the tiles plus shields for largest city.

Happy Gaming,
Scott
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
musth (#23920),
FWIW, BSW counts the tiles plus shields for largest city.

Happy Gaming,
Scott
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Myers
United States
Madison
WI
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
Admiral Fisher (#28242),

As for scoring meadows, I would assume they score as cities and rivers - for each tile in the meadow, not each meadow section.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shannon Appelcline
United States
Berkeley
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
matt_stutts (#43239),

Yes, that all sounds right to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Hoffman
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
shannona (#43300),

I am reposting my answer from the Hunters and Gathers page on BGG. It seems to agree with what most people are saying except the Dug-Out itself.......

_______________

Actually, your meeple will be placed directly on the dug-out (on top of the fisherman picture). Here is the original translation of the German rule from Brettboard:

The Dug-out. The pawn is placed in the lake where it works as a Fishing supervisor: every time any player completes a river within this River system will the Supervisor receive as many points as there are fish in the largest of the two lakes connected to that river.

Any of your meeples will be placed directly on the icon of your meeple. (A hut must be placed on the Agriculture tile). Otherwise, why are the pictures there? My only question is for the Agriculture tile: If the hut must be placed on the hut icon (and no other hunters can be in that meadow), is the hut ALSO on the river on the same tile? I'm leaning towards yes. These tiles are more powerful yes, but that's why they are called bonus tiles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Hoffman
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Scout Tile Clarifications
Gamemaster (#46659),

I'm replying to myself. The agriculture hut tile must have the hut on the meadow, not the river.

Check out my expanded rules for clarifications on this expansion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.