Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Epic Dungeoneer: Call of the Lich Lord» Forums » Rules

Subject: How does the Arch Lich Lord work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Tannhauser
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
The Cathedral is vast, as are you.
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first foray into the fabulous world of Duneoneer, so please excuse my ignorance...

From the rules card:

"When the Throne of Despair is placed, the Arch Lich Lord appears in that room and remains there until defeated."

Okay, got it.

"He attacks any hero who enters."

Here's where the questions arise...

1. Is this an immediate 'free' attack? Meaning that as soon as someone walks through the door during their movement phase they get jumped by Ol' Cranky Bones?

2. Does the victim have to have the nine Peril to 'pay' for that attack?

3. How does this work if the victim remains in the room on subsequent turns? Does the Lich get a 'free' attack every Dungeon Lord phase? Or, again, does it cost the nine Peril?

I guess the real question is does the Lich behave like a regular monster who just happens to reside in the Throne of Despair room, or is he in any other way special?

Thanks very much for your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano B
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
the Arch Lich attacks during your hero phase,just like for quest monster.
then,everyone,during his dungeonlord phase,could pay for his cost to make it attack againThe Arch Lich is linked to the Throne of Despair to give us a chance to destroy the Plague Scepter.In the Artic set,a similar spell was quite impossible to broke,because Cholizar(the ice witch)wasn't linked to a place.good dungeoneer!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Tannhauser
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
The Cathedral is vast, as are you.
mbmbmbmbmb
Epic Dungeoneer: Call of the Lich Lord » Forums » Rules
Re: How does the Arch Lich Lord work?
So he initially attacks like a quest monster even though you can't beat the quest without being seated on the Throne?

Also, where in the rules is this?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano B
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"while on Throne of Despair" doesn't mean that you have to being seated on the Throne..Every quest in every Dungeoneer set says:"while on (location name)".if the Arch Lich attacks any hero who enters,attacks during that hero phase.the difference with a normal quest monsters is that the Arch Lich attacks when you enter,even if you didn't declare to attempt the quest.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Tannhauser
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
The Cathedral is vast, as are you.
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, now it all makes sense--I was confusing being seated on the Throne with being on the card. Thanks very much for clearing this up!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.