$10.00
Recommend
64 
 Thumb up
 Hide
57 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Race for the Galaxy: Rebel vs Imperium» Forums » Rules

Subject: Takeover Rules & FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: rules [+] [View All]
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Race for the Galaxy: Rebel vs Imperium » Forums » Rules
Takeover Rules & FAQ
The takeover rules are a little overwhelming the first play, and they understandably don't explicitly cover every possible situation.

So my goal is to list the takeover rules in a different format and make a little FAQ with a bunch of special situations, and attempt to make explicit all the implicit rules about takeovers.

Please correct me if I get any of these wrong, and please feel free to chime in with situations or rules.

I will bold the important parts and someone can skim through and read those details if they like.
So for the short version, just read the bold bits

Game Start:
Before the start of the game, determine if takeover rules will apply to that game, and display the takeover token with the appropriate side up.
(the rulebook says to play alternate takeover games, first game off, second game on, etc. The rulebook also mentions that players can play with them always on or always off if they prefer p.3)
Takeover powers are anything with the little explosive/bang symbol (seen on the takeover status chip and on p.3), including the "Rebel Pact" development which has additional defense against takeovers (shown by a shield around an explosion symbol). If playing with takeovers off, all explosion symbol powers are null, however any other powers of those cards still work (i.e. don't take any cards out of the game
).


If playing with takeovers, give everyone a military track, and put the rest of the takeover bits seen in the picture nearby.


Takeover Vulnerability:
Use markers (detailed usage info below) to determine if a player is vulnerable to a takeover. Only players who are vulnerable can be attacked.
There are only 3 situations that make a person vulnerable to takeover attempts.

1) "Rebel military worlds" make you vulnerable to a player with the Imperium Seat 6 dev takeover power
2) "Imperium cards" make you vulnerable to a player with the Rebel Alliance 6 dev takeover power
3) Total military power of at least one makes you vulnerable to the "Imperium Cloaking Technology" development
(calculate as per the New Galactic order 6 dev, including negative but not specialized or temporary).

Note the difference between situation #1 and #2, Imperium CARDS and Rebel MILITARY WORLDS. There is currently one Rebel world (the Rebel Cantina) that is NOT military (determined by the color of the ring around the world circle. If it's a red ring, it's military).

Also, its possible to become vulnerable and later become invulnerable again (e.g. if someone played the Imperium Cloaking card and become vulnerable per #2, then they discarded that card in a takeover and had no other imperium cards, they would no longer be vulnerable in situation #2).
This is confirmed by the designer (thanks for the tip thirteenthirtyseven):
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/424015

Markers:
Use the Red wood marker on the track to show how much total military a player has. When this marker is placed the player is vulnerable per situation #3. If the player goes beyond the track with more than 10 military strength, flip a 2nd track over and put it next to the first track to track up to 22 military strength.

Place a Purple wood marker on the start of the military track of a player once they have played an Imperium card, to show that they are vulnerable to a player with the Rebel Alliance card as per situation #2.

Place a Pink wood marker on the start of the military track of a player once they have played a Rebel Military World, to show that they are vulnerable to a player with the Imperium Seat card as per situation #1.

Use a 2nd Pink wood marker to track additional strength vs. rebel worlds (such as on the "Galactic Imperium" 6 dev card).

There is 1 small cardboard chip with a purple explosion symbol next to an arrow (seen at top of page 5). This is placed on the track of a player who plays the "Rebel Alliance" 6 dev to track additional takeover strength vs. an "Imperium Tableau". An Imperium Tableau is any in which an imperium card has been played (i.e. a player with an imperium card should have placed a purple marker to indicate they have an Imperium Tableau and are now vulnerable)

There are 2 small chips with a shield around a takeover explosion symbol (seen on page 5, the 2nd picture on the page). These are used if a player plays one of the two Rebel Pact development cards in the deck. These cards give a player additional defensive strength against takeovers depending on the # of rebel worlds in their tableau.

Remember to remove appropriate markers if the player is no longer vulnerable to certain situations (e.g. if they've discarded the last imperium card from their tableau, or played a negative military card that brought their military power below 1)


Takeover requirements/steps:
A player attempting a takeover MUST have an available unused settle action. The player can say they are not settling and then after everyone reveals the worlds they are going to settle, the player can say they are now going to attempt a takeover (rules page 4). Note that an unused settle can also be one of the 2 settles from the Logistics development. See next few paragraphs for an additional important requirement for a logistics player.

A player attempting a takeover MUST have one of the 4 takeover power development cards in the game and announce which one they are going to use. There are 3 types of these cards in the game. One type is the two Imperium Cloaking Technology development cards which are discarded from the tableau after a single takeover attempt (the card is discarded regardless of if the attempt succeeds), the card can be used to attack a vulnerable player as per situation #3;
There are also two different 6 development cards, the Imperium Seat (which can be used to attack a vulnerable player per situation #1) and the Rebel Alliance (which can be used to attack a vulnerable player per situation #2)
If a player attempts 2 takeovers in a settle phase using logistics, the first takeover MUST have been successful in order to attempt a second.
ADDITIONALLY a player MUST actually have at least 2 types of the 3 takeover card types to do a 2nd logistics takeover attempt (rules p. 4). Each takeover power can only be used once per settle phase. Note that in a two player game, if there are 2 settle phases happening (from a single player choosing both of their settle cards), a player with logistics could attempt 4 takeovers in a single turn (each 2nd logistics takeover attempt in a settle phase must follow a successful 1st logistics takeover and to attempt this the logistics owner must also have at least 2 types of takeover cards before each settle phase).

The player attempting the takeover MUST choose a player with an appropriately vulnerable tableau. See the 3 vulnerability situations above.

The player attempting the takeover MUST announce a target military world (that was NOT settled that phase) to try and conquer from the target vulnerable player. Military worlds always have red circles drawn around the world symbol, note that there are rebel worlds which are NOT military worlds such as the "Rebel Cantina" start world.
Note that worlds newly settled that settle phase can NOT be targeted (and their attributes do not apply to either the attacker or the defender in a takeover attempt) p.4 of rules.

The player attempting a takeover MUST also announce any unused temporary military powers they wish to activate. For example, if they discard "New Military Tactics" from their tableau to gain +3 temporary military power.
A logistics player CAN use temporary military power to settle or takeover a world in both settles of the phase. He would declare it on the first takeover, and continue to use it on the second. If the logistics player used a New Military Tactics card to gain +3 temporary military on his first settle/takeover of the settle phase, it would continue to apply to his 2nd logistics settle/takeover of the phase.
There are some special things to keep in mind with the "Space Mercenaries" or "Mercenary Fleet" powers. Once a player declares an amount of temporary military power they wish to use that phase (for instance, 1 discarded card for +1 military power) they can not decide later that same settle phase to activate that same card for the additional remaining military power.
An exception is specifically spelled out in the rulebook on p.5 for a player who previously did a partial use of a Mercenary ability, and then DEFENDS against a takeover attempt. That player is allowed to activate any remaining unused temporary military power (including from the partially used Mercenary ability) for defending against that takeover (after that, the activated temporary military power applies to that player for the rest of that settle phase including any of their remaining settle or defense attempts)
From the rules: "This is an exception to the general rule that a power cannot be interrupted"

Once all the above requirements are met, each person's military strength is then totaled (or checked on the track).
This includes normal military power, and eligible temporary military power.
Remember, this also includes specialized military powers applicable to the target world. So for instance an attacker or defender with +2 Novelty special military power can apply it if the target is a Novelty military planet, a +2 Rebel special military power applies if the target is a rebel military planet, etc.
Remember, BOTH attackers and defenders use whatever appropriate specialized military powers they have depending on the target world.

The defender announces their temporary military power activations AFTER the attacker has announced theirs.
Remember that newly settled worlds in this phase do not count or affect a takeover attempt.
So for instance, if someone settles a world with +3 military power on a settle phase, a takeover attempt could be made against the player on a different military world that settle phase before the +3 military power comes into effect.
Defender adds the targeted military world's defense to their total military. This is the red bordered numerical value in the world circle symbol, NOT the victory point value in the hexagon.

If the attacker's power is greater OR equal to the defenders, the attack wins and gets to move the world (complete with existing goods) to their tableau, as described on page 5. If a windfall world without an existing good is taken, the attacker does NOT receive a windfall when placing it into their tableau.

Multiple Takeovers in a phase:
I will be adding info here on timing/requirements for multiple takeovers in a phase.

Variants:
Official 2 player military takeover scenario variant:
If you want to try out a game that nearly guarantees there will be a takeover (since many normal games are often played without a single takeover happening), check out the bottom of page 6 of the rules. It describes a 2 variant where players choose a side, either imperium or rebel. They receive either the Rebel Cantina or Imperium Warlord start world depending on their choice. After they choose their starting hand cards, they then receive an additional starting hand card, one of the takeover 6 development cards! (Either Rebel Alliance or Imperium Seat depending on which side they chose).

Additional Examples:
Per this reply, this scenario seems possible (note that this portion is going to be edited and changed given the latest reply):
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3692748#3692748
Player A (with logistics) settles and had declared a partial use of a Mercenary card (1 card discarded to boost temporary military power by 1). Player A is then attacked by a takeover from Player B, so defending Player A announces that he is going to use the exception in the rules to discard to use the remaining +1 temporary military power of a Mercenary Card. Before any takeovers in this phase are resolved, Player A announces that he will now attempt a 2nd logistics takeover for that phase and is now able to use his new total of +2 temporary military power from a Mercenary card in his takeover attempt.

Glossary:
"Phase", A single phase of a turn, for instance, the explore 'I' phase. Normally a player can only settle/takeover once per phase, unless they are a logistics player. Only in two player games is it possible to have two of the same phase in a single turn. In a two player game, it's possible to have two development phases 'II' or two settle phases 'III' if a single player chooses both of those action cards that turn. It's possible for a logistics player in a two player game to get a total of 4 settle actions in a turn (two per phase).

"Logistics Player", a player with the Improved Logistics development (from the Gathering Storm expansion) in their tableau, allowing them to take two settle actions in one settle phase.

"Takeover Vulnerability", only players who are vulnerable to takeovers can be targeted by other players. Everyone else is invulnerable to takeover attempts and can not be targeted. Rules for determining if someone is vulnerable were listed previously.

"Mercenary"/"Mercenary Card"/"Mercenary Ability", there are some special rules outlined previously about takeovers and two types of Mercenary development cards in the game (Space Mercenaries, and Mercenary Fleet). These terms refer to those cards and their abilities.


To Do list:
1) I think I need to add additional info about timing of multiple takeover attempts being announced and how they are resolved (the lowest start world resolving first followed in clockwise order), etc
2) I'm thinking of adding pictures of specific game elements mentioned in the post. For instance, the individual markers, the 4 game cards that enable takeovers, etc.
3) Any additional specific situations that are mentioned in this thread or that I can think up.
4) Update and edit the post to integrate the information in the replies given by Tom Lehmann.

I finally did a spell check



Questions for people in the know:
onigame answered my previous questions with an authoritative post:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3690907#3690907
I've also added the information in his comments to this post, and used it to correct some misconceptions I had of the rules.

Tom Lehmann answered a question about a specific scenario:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3692748#3692748
I've going to use the information to update this post.
47 
 Thumb up
5.29
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J P
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Nice.

You could include this into your FAQ:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/424015

Also I'm wondering how players actually use the markers to track military and vulnerabilities. It's quite cumbersome considering how rarely takeovers seem to occur. Most of the games you will have spent time adjusting cubes and tokens and no one even played a single takeover power. Maybe I'll see them get more action in later expansions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thirteenthirtyseven wrote:
Nice.

You could include this into your FAQ:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/424015

Also I'm wondering how players actually use the markers to track military and vulnerabilities. It's quite cumbersome considering how rarely takeovers seem to occur. Most of the games you will have spent time adjusting cubes and tokens and no one even played a single takeover power. Maybe I'll see them get more action in later expansions.

Thanks for the reply!

Yeah, I'll include that information. BTW, I already have a "markers" section above that describes how to use the markers and tracks

I don't think the markers/tracks will be that cumbersome once its used a couple times, I suggest using the tracks even in non takeover games to get used to it if the players plan on doing takeover games at some point. Essentially the only time you adjust them is when you play military power cards (with a couple exceptions). And since military power needs to be known so you know if you can settle that 8 or 9 military planet for example, or to know how many bonus points you get for that one military 6 dev, then its useful to know even in non takeover games.

I've played 2 takeover games so far, so I'm still trying to adjust to the new rules. Basically when I compile this information, I'm going to print out a FAQ so when situations arise in games I play in, I can look it up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei-Hwa Huang
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Some comments:

Quote:
Before the start of the game, players decide if they want to play with takeover rules, and display the takeover token with the appropriate side up.
(the rulebook suggests alternating takeover games, first game off, second game on, etc. The rulebook also mentions players can play with them always on or always off if they prefer p.3)


The rules say that the alternating takeovers off-on-off-on rule is official. A "notes" (indented) paragraph say that you can adapt that rule to your taste, but that is a suggestion, not a rule. Your FAQ has those the other way around, where you think that off-on-off-on is a suggestion and that the rule is players choose.

(The general rationale is that it is important to have a clear official rule for things like this to settle arguments during official tournaments and the like when the tournament doesn't otherwise specify, instead of letting unfamiliar players argue about it and cause hard feelings. But when playing socially among friends, do whatever you like.)

Quote:
There are some Rebel worlds that are NOT military


There's only one Rebel world that is not military -- Rebel Cantina. More may show up in future expansions, but for now, people shouldn't be hunting for other Rebel non-military worlds.

Quote:
The player attempting the takover MUST announce a target military world (that was NOT settled that turn)


The word "turn" is ambiguous. You mean "phase". For example, in a two-player advanced game, if there are two settle phases, it is okay on the second settle phase to attempt a takeover on a world that was placed on the first settle phase -- it is the same round but a different phase.

Quote:
Note that a logistics player cannot have previously used the temporary military power to settle or takeover a world in this settle phase.
The one exception would be if a player had previously only partially used the "Space Mercenaries" or "Mercenary Fleet" power. An example would be if they had discarded 1 card to gain +1 temporary military power in the first logistics settle, they could then discard a 2nd card to gain the remaining +1 temporary military in the 2nd logistics use to try a takeover.


This is not correct, in two ways. If you discard New Military Tactics, you get +3 Military for the entire phase, which means you get it for both your revealed world and your second Improved Logistics world. This means that if either or both is a takeover attempt, the +3 Military applies.

However, since powers cannot be interrupted unless otherwise specified, if a player pays 1 to Space Mercenaries to gain +1 Military, he cannot do something else (such as attempting a takeover) and then pay another 1 to Space Mercenaries. When he activates the Space Mercenaries power he must do all he is going to do right then.

Quote:
1) The Imperium Cloaking technology card description says "may discard from tableau to take over a military world from a tableau with at least +1 military" this doesn't explicitly say if its discarded after just an attempt or an actual successful takeover. Does anyone know definitively?


It is discarded for the attempt. "To take over" refers to the attempt. Even if the attempt fails, it is still considered a "takeover".

Quote:
2) Do powers such as +1 to rebel military or +2 to Novelty military only count for the attacker since they are targeting a particular world? Or do defenders add those as defense as well?


It applies to both attackers and defenders.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
onigame wrote:
Some comments:

Wow, an amazing and fast authoritative reply to my post! Thank you very much!
I've tried to edit and clarify the portions you mentioned, I'll try to re-read my post and rules to see if there's anything else I need to change.

A couple more questions...
Is it possible for this scenario to happen:
Player A (with logistics) settles or succeeds in a takeover and had declared a partial use of a Mercenary card (1 card discarded to boost temporary military power by 1). Player A is then attacked by Player B, and uses the exception in the rules to discard to use the remaining +1 temporary military power of a Mercenary Card and defends successfully against a takeover. Player A then attempts a 2nd logistics takeover for that phase and is able to use his new total of +2 temporary military power from a Mercenary card (1 activated in his first settle, 1 activated in his defense against a takeover attempt).

Also I tried to reword the one section that had the 2 significant errors you pointed out. If you could read over this rewritten part (I'll quote it here) and let me know if its correct, I'd appreciate it. Thanks!

Yargo wrote:
The player attempting a takeover MUST also announce any unused temporary military powers they wish to activate. For example, if they discard "New Military Tactics" from thier tableau to gain +3 temporary military power.
A logistics player CAN use temporary military power to settle or takeover a world in both settles of the phase. He would declare it on the first takeover, and continue to use it on the second. If the logistics player used a New Military Tactics card to gain +3 temporary military on his first settle/takeover of the settle phase, it would continue to apply to his 2nd logistics settle/takeover of the phase.
There are some special things to keep in mind with the "Space Mercenaries" or "Mercenary Fleet" powers. Once a player declares an amount of temporary military power they wish to use that phase (for instance, 1 discarded card for +1 military power) they can not decide later that same settle phase to activate that same card for the additional remaining military power.
An exception is specifically spelled out in the rulebook on p.5 for a player who previously did a partial use of a Mercenary ability, and then DEFENDS against a takeover attempt. That player is allowed to activate any remaining unused temporary military power (including from the partially used Mercenary ability) for defending against that takeover (after that, the activated temporary military power applies to that player for the rest of that settle phase including any of thier remaining settle or defense attempts)
From the rules: "This is an exception to the general rule that a power cannot be interrupted"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan
United States
Trumbull
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
onigame wrote:
Some comments:

Thanks for the clarifications!

One quick question. Since New Military Tactics affects the entire phase (e.g., both settle actions of Improved Logistics), I take it Space Mercenaries (and other pumpable military) also affects the entire phase (e.g., both settle actions of Improved Logistics)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Alan Stern wrote:
Since New Military Tactics affects the entire phase (e.g., both settle actions of Improved Logistics), I take it Space Mercenaries (and other pumpable military) also affects the entire phase (e.g., both settle actions of Improved Logistics)?


Yep. Note the reminder text on the card: III: may discard up to 2 cards for +1 Military apiece this phase. (emphasis added)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan
United States
Trumbull
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
entranced wrote:
Yep. Note the reminder text on the card: III: may discard up to 2 cards for +1 Military apiece this phase. (emphasis added)

Thanks! Not sure why I never internalized that other than I've been lax in my Gathering Storm plays (to be remedied by RvI).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Didn't the rulebook specify that the attacker could discard one more card to the mercenaries if needed after the defender announced his total? (As long as the mercenaries were used in initial declaration.)

edit: stupid memory....


Nice clarifying document!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
No, the *defender* can discard more cards to the mercenaries if needed later (see middle paragraph of RvI page 5). The attacker can not do so (this is further discussed in example 2 on page 6).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erin Wolthausen
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
onigame wrote:

Quote:
2) Do powers such as +1 to rebel military or +2 to Novelty military only count for the attacker since they are targeting a particular world? Or do defenders add those as defense as well?


It applies to both attackers and defenders.


Restating this in detail to make sure I understand correctly:

Specialized military applies in defending a world targeted for takeover iff that world is of the relevant type. Alien Rosetta Stone World, e.g., provides +2 defense against takeovers iff the target is an Alien windfall or production world.

It is presumably also the case that +X specialized military vs. Rebel worlds applies when settling or taking over Rebel worlds, or when defending a Rebel world against takeover, but does not apply when defending a non-Rebel world against takeover by Rebels, i.e., by someone using the Rebel Alliance power.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everyone for all the comments, thumbs and GG!

I'm thinking of putting the post up in the file section as a FAQ after its gone through a few more revisions and hopefully a spell checking (I will of course keep the credit to others for info I've added in the document)

I've added another question at the end of my original post for people in the know (aka Wei-Hwa Huang or Tom Lehmann if you guys get a chance) Its more of a theoretical scenario I want to know if its possible given my understanding of the rules.

I really appreciate that the games designer and top playtester keep active in BGG for RFTG and give authoritative answers for questions, and have even replied in this thread.


Alan Stern wrote:
entranced wrote:
Yep. Note the reminder text on the card: III: may discard up to 2 cards for +1 Military apiece this phase. (emphasis added)

Thanks! Not sure why I never internalized that other than I've been lax in my Gathering Storm plays (to be remedied by RvI).

Yeah thats one that I never really specifically realized either. I'm not sure that its affected many of our games, I think its probable that I missed out on applying the +3 from military tactics for an entire phase when I used logistics on at least a few games. So this takeover stuff has helped me pick up on a rule I've probably misapplied in previous non takeover games
I'm glad the card itself says "this phase". I just need to take the entire text on cards more literally
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Yargo wrote:

Is it possible for this scenario to happen:
Player A (with logistics) settles or succeeds in a takeover and had declared a partial use of a Mercenary card (1 card discarded to boost temporary military power by 1). Player A is then attacked by Player B, and uses the exception in the rules to discard to use the remaining +1 temporary military power of a Mercenary Card and defends successfully against a takeover. Player A then attempts a 2nd logistics takeover for that phase and is able to use his new total of +2 temporary military power from a Mercenary card (1 activated in his first settle, 1 activated in his defense against a takeover attempt).


Not as stated. All takeovers are declared prior to any of them being resolved.

In the scenario you give, you have Player B's takeover being resolved before Player A declares an Improved Logistics takeover. This is incorrect.

If we assume that A's Improved Logistics takeover had been previously declared and is being resolved after B's takeover, then, yes, A's increased Military does count (see RvI, page 5 "... boosting Military on defense can affect later takeover attempts").
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
Yargo wrote:

Is it possible for this scenario to happen:
Player A (with logistics) settles or succeeds in a takeover and had declared a partial use of a Mercenary card (1 card discarded to boost temporary military power by 1). Player A is then attacked by Player B, and uses the exception in the rules to discard to use the remaining +1 temporary military power of a Mercenary Card and defends successfully against a takeover. Player A then attempts a 2nd logistics takeover for that phase and is able to use his new total of +2 temporary military power from a Mercenary card (1 activated in his first settle, 1 activated in his defense against a takeover attempt).


Not as stated. All takeovers are declared prior to any of them being resolved.

In the scenario you give, you have Player B's takeover being resolved before Player A declares an Improved Logistics takeover. This is incorrect.

If we assume that A's Improved Logistics takeover had been previously declared and is being resolved after B's takeover, then, yes, A's increased Military does count (see RvI, page 5 "... boosting Military on defense can affect later takeover attempts").

Ah, good reminder about the all the takeovers being declared prior to be resolving. I hadn't thought about that specifically when thinking about the scenario. I probably need to add some info/reminders about that type of thing to my post.

But... hmm... doesn't a 2nd logistics takeover require that the 1st takeover (or settle) have been successfully resolved?
So is that scenario possible if I restrict it to a 2 takeovers being announced first, logistics Player A's takeover attack and then a defense against Player B's takeover attempt (I might even have to specify that its resolved in clockwise manner with Player A having had the lowest numbered start world), followed by the 2nd logistics Player A's takeover attempt after the others were resolved (Player A's having been resolved successfully)?

I know this is a very esoteric and specific scenario, but I want to cover things like this in the FAQ if possible

Thanks again for the replies!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
No, two takeovers (using Improved Logistics and different takeover powers) are still declared when a player is invoking powers. The second takeover will automatically fail (when takeovers are resolved) if the first takeover fails.

It looks like you're trying to construct some case where A does some stuff, B does some stuff, A does some more stuff that is affected by what B has done. *It doesn't work that way.*

To show the point that I think you're trying to make, you're going to need at least 3 players: A who declares a takeover against B; B who has some temporary Military and doesn't spend it while declaring a takeover against C; and C who has some temporary Military and is settling a Military world and perhaps believes that B (who, say, only has one card in hand) isn't going to defend against A (say, it's a puny military windfall world that B might be perfectly happy to lose in order to gain a tableau space or because C thinks that B isn't willing to spend that card). So C decides, when invoking powers, to not fully pump C's temporary Military, but to spend just enough to foil B's declared Military strength.

During takeover resolution, B spends the card to successfully defend versus A's takeover attempt; B's (now increased) Military against C is equal to C's current Military plus the defense of the target, so C, in turn, spends another card to successfully defend against B's takeover attempt.

Note that this example did not involve Improved Logistics. More complex examples involving IL can be constructed, but don't change anything, as any IL takeover attempts are declared *at the same time* as normal takeover attempts (when players pay for worlds and invoke powers) and *are resolved at the same time* as normal takeover attempts (during takeover resolution) in normal player order.

The only special things about IL takeovers are: it automatically fails if the first settle fails and, if a player is declaring multiple takeovers, then separate takeover powers must be used for each takeover declaration.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
No, two takeovers (using Improved Logistics and different takeover powers) are still declared when a player is invoking powers. The second takeover will automatically fail (when takeovers are resolved) if the first takeover fails.

It looks like you're trying to construct some case where A does some stuff, B does some stuff, A does some more stuff that is affected by what B has done. *It doesn't work that way.*


Ah ok! I think that clears it up.

I'll have to re-write some stuff in my post then.

Thanks! I hope it wasn't too much of a bother that I kept pressing this issue.

And thanks for the specific example too!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hahn
United States
flag msg tools
BGG.Com It's the only site I visit where it's a bigger sin to call someone a jackass than it is to be a jackass.
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Wei-Hwa ,

What are the chances of you doing another video review

http://www.weihwa.com/~whuang/videos/rftg/rftg.html

of the game with this expansion?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
+++++[>+++++++++++++.>++++++++++[>++++++++++++++++++.--------.---.+++++++++++++++++.---.-.
mb
Simple
Isn't it just:

The essentials, that cover most cases wrote:
Whenever a player could perform a settle action, he may, instead of settling a world, use one of his applicable takeover powers to attempt to take a single world, along with any good on it, from an opponent's tableau and place it in his own.

The player must wait to declare his attempt until all opponents have revealed any worlds they have settled; these worlds may not be targets and their powers are not in effect until the phase has ended.

The attempt succeeds if the attempting player's total applicable military is at least equal to the sum of his opponent's applicable military and the target world's defense.

Some additional rules to cover timing in esoteric cases wrote:
The player's declaration is his last opportunity to use any applicable powers that affect his attempt; the owner of its target may use any applicable powers until the attempt resolves.

If an attempt's target is taken over by another player before the attempt resolves, the attempt automatically fails.

That's all there is to it!

Everything else is just an application of the basic rules and powers on the cards, though there are a few things to keep an eye on (e.g. the duration of power boosts; since taken-over windfall worlds are not settled, they don't get a good, etc.), and some tightening up of older rules to incorporate takeovers (e.g., a successful takeover can take the place of the first "resolving and settling" that Improved Logistics requires to grant a second settle action; some text that appears to limit the effect of military boosts to being "towards conquering a military world" should be ignored).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei-Hwa Huang
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
hahnarama wrote:
Hey Wei-Hwa ,
What are the chances of you doing another video review
http://www.weihwa.com/~whuang/videos/rftg/rftg.html
of the game with this expansion?


I'm not sure what needs to be said. I can't review the game; I'm biased.

Also, the chances of me doing any video production before the second week of August is virtually nil. Planning a large conference will do that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Fiett
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
onigame wrote:
There's only one Rebel world that is not military -- Rebel Cantina. More may show up in future expansions

Expansions? Not expansion?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Fiett
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Aldaron wrote:

The essentials, that cover most cases wrote:
The attempt succeeds if the attempting player's total applicable military is greater than the sum of his opponent's applicable military and the target world's defense.

Greater than or equal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bigney
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A Spathi is telling us how to do takeovers. Strange.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
onigame wrote:
hahnarama wrote:
Hey Wei-Hwa ,
What are the chances of you doing another video review
http://www.weihwa.com/~whuang/videos/rftg/rftg.html
of the game with this expansion?


I'm not sure what needs to be said. I can't review the game; I'm biased.

Also, the chances of me doing any video production before the second week of August is virtually nil. Planning a large conference will do that.
I think he meant a walkthrough, tutorial, or guide of the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
suPUR DUEper
United States
Villa Hills
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent summary. You, my friend, should have written this section in the rules.

It would be great to add a sequence of play for the settle phase just for clarity's sake.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Norris

Austin
Texas
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the FAQ, just read the rules and needed some clarification on them. Idk if its just me but the tracks seem really really pointless. I can kinda see why it would be nice to know everyones military power especially if you are planning to takeover something but really with so few takeover cards it just seems like a lot of it will be wasted effort.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.