$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Uplift Mercenary Force and New Galactic Order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Taylor
United States
under surveillance
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the things we especially enjoy about BoW is that all of our games have been terrifically close, usually a win by one VP!

Unfortunately, that razor thin margin of victory lead to a rules question last night that we cannot answer and I'm hoping someone can help us out.

The 6 point cost Development New Galactic Order does not count specialized Military as a VP boost.

Although Uplift Mercenary Force is a specialized Military (i.e., +1 per Chromosome card), the card itself is a Chromosome thus inherently being +1 Military. The Uplift Mercenary Force card is always +1, so while specialized, it is always "applicable" and can never not be worth +1.

Now that doesn't sound so specialized to the player who would have won if we had counted her +1 Military as a VP per New Galactic Order.

So our question is: Does the Uplift Mercenary Force count as a specialized Military for purposes of New Galactic Order scoring or not?

Thanks for any insights!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremiah Lee
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
But please don't call me Jerry.
badge
At one time, I didn't really like Power Grid so Ted made my piece a Power Grid piece.
mbmbmbmbmb
Specialized military means military that only applies for a certain type of worlds (rebel, novelty, rare goods, etc). Uplift Mercenary Force creates regular military power and its entire military power applies toward NGO.

So if you have UMF and one other chromosome world, you'd have +2 on UMF, and 2 points on NGO from it.

Edit: typo and clarification.
25 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J P
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War » Forums » Rules
Re: Uplift Mercenary Force and New Galactic Order
Example for further clarification:

Imperium Warlord (THE GOGGLES! THE GOGGLES!!) adds one military and another specialized military (against rebel military worlds). Hence, it counts +1VP for NGO.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.