Joseph DiMuro
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I may have found a problem with Keldon's AI program. Then again, my interpretation of the rules may be wrong. We'll see...

Let's say you are playing 2 player advanced, and let's say you call Consume 2x and a Prestige-aided Consume/Trade. Here's what happens, according to my interpretation:



1. You trade a good first, gaining 3 cards more than usual (from the Prestige Trade power).

2. You then consume your remaining goods. Since you called Consume 2x, your points would normally be doubled. But since you also called Prestige Consume/Trade, the points multiplier is increased by one. So the points you get from consuming goods are actually tripled.

3. Optionally, you may discard up to 2 cards from hand for 1 point each (another Prestige Trade power).



My question is about the portion I put in bold. Do I have it right? I ask because that's not how Keldon's AI handled it.

The AI opponent traded a good, then consumed 3 goods on Diversified Economy, then discarded 2 cards from hand for points. I was expecting the AI to get 11 points for all that: 3x3 for consuming, and 2 for discarding. But the AI actually got only 8 points: looks like the points for consuming were only doubled, not tripled.

So, who's wrong? Me, or Keldon's program?

(I won the game by a mile regardless, btw... cool )
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann answered this in another thread:

Tom Lehmann wrote:
In 2PA, Prestige C:T and C:2x results in the same effect as just playing Prestige C:T, since there's no rule about combining 2x VPs -- which is what Prestige C:T results in (for your remaining goods) -- and 2x VPs from calling C:2x. The C:2x action is totally redundant.

Calling C:T and P-C:2x results in a different effect, namely, you sell a good (normally) and then consume any remaining goods for triple VPs.


So I think the AI is getting it right.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
TrojH wrote:
Since you called Consume 2x, your points would normally be doubled. But since you also called Prestige Consume/Trade, the points multiplier is increased by one. So the points you get from consuming goods are actually tripled.

No, this is wrong. You are trying to apply the Prestige bonus to two different action cards.

Apply the prestige +x1 to the Consume:Trade action card, yielding 2x. You now have Consume 2x (from Prestige Trade) and Consume 2x (from Consume 2x). You take the greater of these, which is Consume 2x.

(This is similar to calling Consume:Trade and Consume:2x in 2PA in the base game. This yields Consume 1x and Consume 2x; you take the greater, which is Consume 2x.)

This was covered in an earlier thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/528694/2pa-game-prestige...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Van Willis
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If I understand this thread then it looks like the AI has it right.

Edit: too slow after changing the baby's diaper!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
mbmbmbmbmb
EDIT: aha, you figured it out before I answered



Vantastic wrote:
If I understand this thread then it looks like the AI has it wrong.


You don't

If you do Consume:Trade and Prestige Consume:x2, you get to trade normally and then you consume for x3 VP.

However if you do what the OP did and choose Prestige Consume:Trade and Consume:x2, you get to trade for +3 cards and then consume for only x2, just as the AI implemented. Tom Lehmann explains why above.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Van Willis
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
qwertymartin wrote:
EDIT: aha, you figured it out before I answered



Vantastic wrote:
If I understand this thread then it looks like the AI has it wrong.


You don't

If you do Consume:Trade and Prestige Consume:x2, you get to trade normally and then you consume for x3 VP.

However if you do what the OP did and choose Prestige Consume:Trade and Consume:x2, you get to trade for +3 cards and then consume for only x2, just as the AI implemented. Tom Lehmann explains why above.

I realized that I had misread the post and assumed the bold was what the AI did...ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph DiMuro
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sigh.

This is exactly what I didn't want: to post a question that had already been answered. I did look around first before posting. My apologies.

Though I guess this means that there is a problem with the computer opponent himself. Why on earth did the AI call Consume 2x and Prestige Consume Trade, when the Consume 2x provides no additional benefit?

(Perhaps the AI thought every other phase would benefit me more than him...)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War » Forums » Rules
Re: 2 player advanced: Consume x2 + Prestige Consume/Trade
TrojH wrote:
Though I guess this means that there is a problem with the computer opponent himself. Why on earth did the AI call Consume 2x and Prestige Consume Trade, when the Consume 2x provides no additional benefit?

(Perhaps the AI thought every other phase would benefit me more than him...)

Even still, he should have $/p2x instead of p$/2x. The only reason i can think of for choosing the inferior option is if it didn't want to empty the pool as fast. A bug seems more likely...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.