$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Casus Belli? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jerry le
msg tools
My wife fly into a temper when I says: I will attack your starting Alien military planet with casus belli.

She had no military point , no rebel, no imperium, just the starting yellow military planet. She said me it's not possible!

I read the rule and see that 3 stars with different color: one with violet color require imperium, one with rose color/orange color require rebel and the last star with white and red color require at least one military point.

Casus belli has a black star on it. What is the meaning? Can I attack her?

She shown me the example written of the conquest rules of the second extension but I'm not sure that it's the same exact case.

Thanks for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Brink of War adds new takeover possibilities. You can indded take her homeworld there, and it's explained in the new rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Gibson
United Kingdom
St Neots
Cambs
flag msg tools
Instellar Casus Belli says you takeover a military world from any tableau. No other requirements. So yes you could use it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bracey
United Kingdom
Cambridge
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's what the name means - it's a Latin expression used in English meaning "justification for war".

Even in the absence of any conventional justification - military, Imperium or Rebel - Interstellar Casus Belli lets you just invent a justification using your prestige.

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed. Remember, there still aren't any "automatic takeovers". Specifically, your military strength still needs to be greater than or = to her military strength + the defense of the world you're trying to takeover. You mentioned she had no military and that yellow military world, so it's gotta be Damaged Alien Factory at defense 3. I doubt she had any yellow military strength (which would not count as military strength towards Imperium Planet Buster and Imperium Cloaking Technology), but would need to be factored in towards the defense of DAF if so.

In short, you need 3 military strength + 1 Prestige point attempt this, but yeah, otherwise, it does work. And, it to make things more disguisting, you get 2 PP, one extra, and one to make up the one you had to discard to use it in the first place. :yuk That's more "ammo" for you to reuse and abust ICB over and over again if she builds more military worlds.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jerry le
msg tools
Thanks for yours answers.
I had military point and PP so yes I could attack his yellow starting world.

Hopefully I won the party without this attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Neuhaus
United States
New York
NY
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jerry31 wrote:
Thanks for yours answers.
I had military point and PP so yes I could attack his yellow starting world.

Hopefully I won the party without this attack.


And also saved your marriage?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jerry le
msg tools
omygad you're absolutly right!
In one hand the war, in other hand peace.

*mode on: my wife has read this post and rage*
I forgot to say that my wife rocks, and use to win every game of RFTG.
She has a winning rate of 99% and she is so beautiful.
I love you.
*mode off: my wife has read this post and rage*

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It takes a lot of things working in sync for Casus Belli to get going:
You need more military than your opponent.
You need a prestige to get started.
You need to get the development.
Your opponent has to actually have worlds weak enough to take.

Once players are familiar, they may be able to start noticing the "warning signs" of Casus Belli. If you see one or more warning signs that a Casus Belli may be coming (military and prestige), you should do somethign to prepare for it.
Either stop playing cheap military worlds, boost your own military, or get something with a defense power. Once you are familiar with the risk, you will know how to deal with it.
Plus, you can always play your blue starting world if you absolutely don't want any of your worlds to be taken over.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MasterDinadan wrote:
Plus, you can always play your blue starting world if you absolutely don't want any of your worlds to be taken over.

Then the opponent goes and plays Imperium Invasion Fleet... devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Casus Belli is a pretty brutal card. That's why it grants 0 points. Contact specialist strats loath this card because they usually have low defense military worlds that are worse than defended.

Its consume power can end 2pa games really really fast if you have a decent amount or prestige or a prestige producer.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
allstar64 wrote:
Casus Belli is a pretty brutal card. That's why it grants 0 points. Contact specialist strats loath this card because they usually have low defense military worlds that are worse than defended.

Its consume power can end 2pa games really really fast if you have a decent amount or prestige or a prestige producer.
That's one reason why I like playing with TOs for both exp #2 and exp #3. Contact Specialist is such an "automatic build" card that it's nice to see ways to punish such players for building it and the slew of low defense military worlds. Before, the only concerns a CS player had were having to pay alot for a military world that CS' military penalty caused them to be unable to settle it for free via military str., or not at in the case with yellow military worlds. Now they need to think twice. Hell, even if they're in a situation where card flow is abundant and settling high-defense military worlds isn't a problem, those who go military sometimes have more military than they know what to do with, so once they get a TO power, even high defense worlds like Rebel Homeworld are "automatic" for the player with the TO power. This can REALLY hurt, as it's a 14pt swing in this card, not even counting bonus points and other engine factors.

.

And the fact that ICB doesn't provide PP initially is also important. (... that is also gives 0pts goes even further indeed). This is in stark contrast to cards like Galactic Power Brokers where you can use it the same round you've built it to discard a PP to get 3 cards, or Alien Booby Trap in a 2p adv. game, or in a typical scenario, the next round for 1 PP to +3 temp military str. I've seen people build ICB early on, but can't find the PP to use its TO power, or by the time they did, they had to make too many sacrifices in time and cardflow that the III was too little, too late.

.

As for ending the game via VP chips, yeah, ICB's IV power is a nice tool for that. It gets even better since the rulebook says you can triple the outcome when you choose IVx3. Granted, when you do the math, it doesn't turn out to be that good...

lose 1 PP to gain 3 VP = net gain of 2pts
lose 1 PP to gain 6 VP = net gain of 5pts
lose 2 PP (one on the Prestige bonus, and another on ICB's IV itself) to gain 9 VP = net gain of 7pts.

However, if you're ahead and need to end the game ASAP/NOW!, it's worth it to use this, along with any other VP gains you can x3 to do so. Otherwise, giving your opponent(s) a chance to place more worlds, get goals, or get in 1 or more 6-cost devs can be the death of you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Incidentally, I just played a game today where I settled Imperium Invasion Fleet and Interstellar Cassus Belli for a last turn takeover.

My opponent played Galactic Developers and developed constantly. Pretty much everything went right for me during the game, as I was able to quickly get out large military, claim half of the goals, leech of of his constant develops with Interstellar Bank and Galactic Federation, and manage a takeover during the last turn with combined Imperium Invasion Fleet and Interstellar Cassus Belli.

Even with all of these things going right for me, I only barely managed to pull off the win. This suggests to me that Invasion Fleet with Cassus Belli really isn't that overpowered, as a relatively average developer strategy almost beat it.

With just the right cards and the right opponent, Cassus Belli can be extremely powerful... But I think the same can be said for most cards and strategies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Neuhaus
United States
New York
NY
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Any particular instance of the contact specialist is built around 3% of tableaus in RvI (no takeovers) on flex, and the corresponding tableau wins less than 50% of its games. Compare this to Expedition Forces and Space Marines, which are built at around 9% per of tableau per card instance and win more than 50% of their games. Contact Specialist should definitely NOT be an auto build card. I am skeptical that it needs another reason not to be built in terms of game balance/card strength concerns.

On the other hand, ICB makes Contact Specialist risky, but Universal Peace Institute and Galactic Mediator makes it rewarding. On the whole, I'd guess is slightly worse to build without a galactic mediator or pan galactic security council in hand on takeover games compared to RvI in 2 player. In multiplayer takeover games, without some defense strategy, it's really risky.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War » Forums » Rules
Re: Casus Belli?
rrenaud wrote:
Any particular instance of the contact specialist is built around 3% of tableaus in RvI (no takeovers) on flex, and the corresponding tableau wins less than 50% of its games. Compare this to Expedition Forces and Space Marines, which are built at around 9% per of tableau per card instance and win more than 50% of their games. Contact Specialist should definitely NOT be an auto build card. I am skeptical that it needs another reason not to be built in terms of game balance/card strength concerns.


Hmmm, "automatic build" is a bit of a misnomer. Stuff like Investment Credits and Interstellar Bank are often lumped into the same category, but I have forgone them as early in the game as when everyone's averaged at 4 cards on tableau. Push come to shove, CS does get alot of attention.

rrenaud wrote:
On the other hand, ICB makes Contact Specialist risky, but Universal Peace Institute and Galactic Mediator makes it rewarding. On the whole, I'd guess is slightly worse to build without a galactic mediator or pan galactic security council in hand on takeover games compared to RvI in 2 player. In multiplayer takeover games, without some defense strategy, it's really risky.
Did you deliberately leave out Rebel Pact, or was it not mentioned for some other reason? Do a little rush and get military worlds (REBEL more preferred) to up your TO defense. The -2 discount also helps to save cards on settling them, and being able to get higher def. worlds helps towards keeping them from TO.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.