$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Psi-Crystal World, 2PA and Prestige bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Børge N
Norway
Porsgrunn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If I have Psi-Crystal World, can I select the first action with the Prestige Bonus, then select the same action as my second action, but let the Prestige bonus apply to the second of these phases?

I guess no, since (if I don't have Psi-Crystal World in play,) I have to state for which of the two actions I want the Prestige to apply to at the same time I reveal them (before knowing my opponent's actions), and when I reveal only one action, it is not decided whether there will be two of these phases or not.

(I really wished I could swap the Prestige bonus in my current play against Keldon's AI (which btw does not support this).)

Then again, Psi-Crystal World is a little wonky, so maybe I can select the first action with my 2PA-Develop card, signifying that this is the second occurrence of the action, if I select the same action for my second action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Delano
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When playing 2pa, if you hit the prestige bonus button again it switches it to the other selected action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Børge N
Norway
Porsgrunn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
frunkee wrote:
When playing 2pa, if you hit the prestige bonus button again it switches it to the other selected action.


Not in the Psi-Crystal case where I have already used my Prestige bonus for the first action. (And it doesn't help by selecting the second dev button with Prestige bonus first; the bonus will automatically be shifted to the first dev action.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
borgemik wrote:
If I have Psi-Crystal World, can I select the first action with the Prestige Bonus, then select the same action as my second action, but let the Prestige bonus apply to the second of these phases?

No. You are certainly allowed to select an action, then -- after seeing your opponent's action -- select the same action, with a prestige bonus, as your second action.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Børge N
Norway
Porsgrunn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War » Forums » Rules
Re: Psi-Crystal World, 2PA and Prestige bonus
Thanks for the definite answer!

I knew I could wait and use Prestige bonus on my second selected action, but it really depended on what my opponent did.

Should not come up too often, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
borgemik wrote:
Should not come up too often, though.

Heh, this came up irl today for the first time ever for me, in BoW play #657. I had never considered such a situation, and was sure it hadn't ever come up even on the forums. And yet, the first google result for merely psi-crystal world is somehow this thread!?

I was stumped as to how it would work at the time. I don't see why i couldn't select a develop action, then choose develop again but for my first develop, with prestige. In any case, we have the ruling straight from Tom, so i can't argue with that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Børge N
Norway
Porsgrunn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
entranced wrote:
borgemik wrote:
Should not come up too often, though.

Heh, this came up irl today for the first time ever for me, in BoW play #657. I had never considered such a situation, and was sure it hadn't ever come up even on the forums. And yet, the first google result for merely psi-crystal world is somehow this thread!?

I was stumped as to how it would work at the time. I don't see why i couldn't select a develop action, then choose develop again but for my first develop, with prestige. In any case, we have the ruling straight from Tom, so i can't argue with that.
Anyone not having tried won't believe the kinds of strange corner cases you stumble upon when you are either implementing the game as a computer game, or writing a comprehensive script, or both..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.