$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arkham Horror: Innsmouth Horror Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Questions from Today's Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Boian Spasov
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
Real men roll d20s!
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

The following questions popped up during today's game:

1. While Innsmouth is in martial law and you end your movement in a space with a monster, do you fight the monster first, or do you roll evade to avoid getting arrested first. Can you choose the order?

2. While Innsmouth is in martial law and you end up in a location with clues, do you get the clues before rolling the evade check (I seem to recall reading somewhere that you don't but I may be wrong).

3. Again, while in martial law, do you roll evade when you end on a space with gate to enter the gate (I think that you don't, but I want to confirm)? How about when you exit the gate after exploring an other world?

4. When you get arrested in Innsmouth, when is the first time you draw an encounter in the jail? I am guessing that it is the turn after you get arrested (not in the same turn as the arrest), but I want to confirm. Or do you actually skip next turn and draw in the turn after that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
1) Check martial law first, then fight monsters. Can't choose (unless you houserule it)

2) Clues are picked up after monsters so it would be Martial law, monsters clues, in that order.

3) The gate overrides the locations, including the martial law effect. So you ignore this mechanic when a gate is present.

4) Follow the phases. You get arrested during Phase 2 and have encounters during Phase 3. So it would be the turn you first move there.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boian Spasov
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
Real men roll d20s!
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much for the quick and informative reply. About the arrest - wasn't there a rule that you skip a whole turn when arrested, or am I mistaken about this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
blizzardb wrote:
Thank you very much for the quick and informative reply. About the arrest - wasn't there a rule that you skip a whole turn when arrested, or am I mistaken about this?


That's for getting arrested and going to Arkham Jail. IH jail is an easier place devil as far as losing turns goes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
blizzardb wrote:
Thank you very much for the quick and informative reply. About the arrest - wasn't there a rule that you skip a whole turn when arrested, or am I mistaken about this?

I had to double check myself after I answered. But the Innsmouth location says that you draw the encounter for the Jail Cell as well.

As Dam pointed out, it is only Arkham that makes you skip 1 encounter. But it also lets you out automatically as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sonny sonny
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
1) Check martial law first, then fight monsters.

i had the same question. where does it say so?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Arkham Horror: Innsmouth Horror Expansion » Forums » Rules
Re: Rules Questions from Today's Game
letsdance wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
1) Check martial law first, then fight monsters.

i had the same question. where does it say so?

It was clarified by FFG on their forums I thought. Might be in the new FAQ that is yet to be released.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.