$10.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Saboteur 2 (expansion-only editions)» Forums » Rules

Subject: What are the rules for laying down a new tunnel card ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guilhem BOISSON
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am not sure if it is stated in the rules, but when you play a tunnel card, does it have to be connected to the entrance ? Or can you star a tunnel from the dead end of a previously played card that doesnt link to the entrance ? (being illogical if you try to understand from where the digger starts to dig)
For instance, after someone has crushed a tunnel disconnecting a part of it from the entrance, can you still continue to dig on the other side of the breach, to reach for the gold nugget, or do you have to wait for the connection to be repaired ?

thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Fisk
United Kingdom
Stoke on Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Come on you Seagulls! Sami Hyppia's Blue & White army!
badge
That's weird. This bit used to mention Shire Games, and tell you all how wonderful we are. But it seems to have got deleted. Let's see what happens this time ....
mbmbmbmbmb
Skanibal wrote:
I am not sure if it is stated in the rules, but when you play a tunnel card, does it have to be connected to the entrance ?


Yes it is, and yes it does

Quote:
For instance, after someone has crushed a tunnel disconnecting a part of it from the entrance, can you still continue to dig on the other side of the breach, to reach for the gold nugget, or do you have to wait for the connection to be repaired ?


You need to reconnect it to the entrance. This also means that you cannot play a ladder card unless the path is connected to the entrance.


N.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederic Moyersoen
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Saboteur 2 (expansion-only editions) » Forums » Rules
Re: What are the rules for laying down a new tunnel card ?
Moviebuffs wrote:
[q="Skanibal"]
You need to reconnect it to the entrance. This also means that you cannot play a ladder card unless the path is connected to the entrance.


As the ladder is always connected to the start card, you can place this card when the connection is interrupted.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Fisk
United Kingdom
Stoke on Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Come on you Seagulls! Sami Hyppia's Blue & White army!
badge
That's weird. This bit used to mention Shire Games, and tell you all how wonderful we are. But it seems to have got deleted. Let's see what happens this time ....
mbmbmbmbmb
Frederic Moyersoen wrote:
Moviebuffs wrote:
[q="Skanibal"]
You need to reconnect it to the entrance. This also means that you cannot play a ladder card unless the path is connected to the entrance.


As the ladder is always connected to the start card, you can place this card when the connection is interrupted.


So a ladder card can ALWAYS be played ?? I thought the path had to be complete ... to stop people just putting ladders next to the treasure cards ?


N.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guilhem BOISSON
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
the rules say you can place a ladder anywhere but just next to a treasure card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guilhem BOISSON
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
ooh awesome we've got the game designer here =)

then hopefully you can clarify some points !

can you confirm that a new tunnel card ALWAYS needs to be placed connecting with a path leading to a ladder ?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederic Moyersoen
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Yes, your new path card must always connect to one or another ladder card (including the start card).

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guilhem BOISSON
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
thanks, we played like this, but i was unsure =)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nikolaos Kamoudis
Greece
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so the ladder card can be placed anywhere(except near goal card) even in a broken path area and you can after that place path cards that connect to this ladder card?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederic Moyersoen
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
That's it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules say that ladder must both:
a) be placed next to a path card (so you can't play it out in totally empty space)
b) cannot be placed next to a goal card.

So it can be placed on one side of a dead end for example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederic Moyersoen
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davis Long
msg tools
O i understand now......
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emil Vincent Alonzo
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Frederic Moyersoen wrote:
Yes, your new path card must always connect to one or another ladder card (including the start card).



Oh awesome! Thanks for clarifying this. I totally have the ladder figured out but just want to make sure:

All the generic paths from the first set are supposed to be played like the bridge and double curve in the new set?

Basically you are saying any new path card needs to be traceable back to the original or a new ladder, and if for instance there is a rockslide that destroys the path all the dwarves can't play on the other side of that rock fall until its fixed or a ladder is played somewhere?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.