$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Imperium Fuel Depot - draw 3 or 2 ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
petar todosic
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I've just stumbled upon an ambiguous situation.
The Imperium Fuel Depot card has a planet symbol with a draw two cards symbol next to it (not a +2 card symbol)

I've read both the card and the rulebook, and I have to make sure that I've got the ruling right.

After you settle this world, you buy Two cards *instead* of one, and discard one of them (when settling), and do not buy another regular one, right?

Thanx in advance!
Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
mbmbmbmbmb
It's spelled out on the card:

Imperium Fuel Depot wrote:
draw 2 cards after you place a [planet or military planet] (not including this card); then discard 1 card from hand

This is in addition to any other effects (including the one from choosing III). So if you were the one who chose Settle, you get to draw three cards, then discard one (or alternatively, draw two cards, then discard one, then draw another card, but I wouldn't suggest that order), after settling.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
indidkid wrote:
[...] and discard one of them [...]

Further, note that the discard is *from hand*; it need not be one of the two cards drawn (or three cards with the Settle bonus and possibly more cards with other Draw After powers, etc.). See Draw then Discard powers, page 2, BoW rules.

Powers in RFTG are cumulative (see base rules, page 4); they add to other bonuses and powers instead of replacing them (though, sometimes, to no effect; for example, two "mix and discard" explore powers).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
haslo wrote:
It's spelled out on the card:

Imperium Fuel Depot wrote:
draw 2 cards after you place a [planet or military planet] (not including this card); then discard 1 card from hand

This is in addition to any other effects (including the one from choosing III). So if you were the one who chose Settle, you get to draw three cards, then discard one (or alternatively, draw two cards, then discard one, then draw another card, but I wouldn't suggest that order), after settling.


Quite right. Also, this power doesn't work the settle phase you played the world.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
petar todosic
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War » Forums » Rules
Re: Imperium Fuel Depot - draw 3 or 2 ?
Wow that's totally obvious.
The thing that got me on the wrong track is that somehow I presumed that the sign form the IFD superseded the game effect of the phase card. It was a game just after Ad Astra and Cosmic Encounter reorganization so I must have went weird ways because of that

Thank you all for the effort!
This forum rocks!
Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.