Cody Moultrie
United States
Draper
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about the Imperial Planet Buster. It says that you may take over and destroy a planet from a tableu with at least +1 military. Assuming my military is at least +1, could I destroy my own planets for the Prestige? If this were allowed, it would probably be pretty rare that you'd want to do it, I imagine. Any thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Børge N
Norway
Porsgrunn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
svasongha wrote:
I have a question about the Imperial Planet Buster. It says that you may take over and destroy a planet from a tableu with at least +1 military. Assuming my military is at least +1, could I destroy my own planets for the Prestige?

From the Rebel vs Imperium rules, introducing takeovers: "Takeovers enable players, under certain conditions, to conquer military worlds in other players’ tableaus" (my emphasis).

So, the answer is no.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
[a little slow but was mid-post]

I feel like i've asked this before and was told you cannot, but i can't find it.

From the RvI rules, p3:

Takeovers enable players, under certain conditions, to conquer military worlds in other players’ tableaus.
[...]
A takeover is performed, as an action, during Settle, against a previously settled military world in another player’s tableau.


From the BoW rules, p7:
Interstellar Casus Belli’s takeover power enables a player to attempt a takeover against a military world in any player’s tableau (all tableaus are vulnerable to it).
If combined with the Imperium Invasion Fleet’s power to conquer a non-military world, then potentially any world in play can be taken over.
[...]
The Imperium Planet Buster’s takeover power, if successful, destroys the target world (discard it from play).


The wording in the BoW rulebook is ambiguous, but if we assume the RvI rulebook takes precedence, then the BoW wording makes sense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I pretty sure you can't, but even if you could, you wouldn't be able to.
(believe it or not, the first draft of that was more confusing...)

To have a successful TO, you military must be equal or greater than the target world's defense + Player's applicable military. Trying to takeover something from yourself will always be the world's defense shy of success.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bjarne Aagaard
Denmark
Århus
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kusinohki wrote:
I pretty sure you can't, but even if you could, you wouldn't be able to.
(believe it or not, the first draft of that was more confusing...)

To have a successful TO, you military must be equal or greater than the target world's defense + Player's applicable military. Trying to takeover something from yourself will always be the world's defense shy of success.

Well, you could use pay-for-military in your attack, but not in your defense, to overcome the target world's defense.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Baagaard wrote:
kusinohki wrote:
I pretty sure you can't, but even if you could, you wouldn't be able to.
(believe it or not, the first draft of that was more confusing...)

To have a successful TO, you military must be equal or greater than the target world's defense + Player's applicable military. Trying to takeover something from yourself will always be the world's defense shy of success.

Well, you could use pay-for-military in your attack, but not in your defense, to overcome the target world's defense.

Except that the attacker has to commit first. (and temporary military is active for the rest of the phase)

I'll discard 2 cards to increase my military for the attack... oh, wait, my defense also increased by 2 at the same time. New military tactics? No, same deal.

The ONLY exception I can think of is something like Rebel Alliances power that specifically boosts TO attack military (but not regular military or TO defense). This doesn't combine with the planet buster so I didn't mention it earlier.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NtN Scissors
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kusinohki wrote:
I pretty sure you can't, but even if you could, you wouldn't be able to.
(believe it or not, the first draft of that was more confusing...)

To have a successful TO, you military must be equal or greater than the target world's defense + Player's applicable military. Trying to takeover something from yourself will always be the world's defense shy of success.

But there are worlds of cost zero, which become legitimate targets with Imperium Invasion Fleet.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
NtNScissors wrote:
kusinohki wrote:
I pretty sure you can't, but even if you could, you wouldn't be able to.
(believe it or not, the first draft of that was more confusing...)

To have a successful TO, you military must be equal or greater than the target world's defense + Player's applicable military. Trying to takeover something from yourself will always be the world's defense shy of success.

But there are worlds of cost zero, which become legitimate targets with Imperium Invasion Fleet.

Oof. Ok, you got me there.


...and that extremely rare corner case is probably why the rule is "you can't attack yourself"...


"Quit hitting yourself. Quit hitting yourself. Quit hitting yourself."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
svasongha wrote:
I have a question about the Imperial Planet Buster. It says that you may take over and destroy a planet from a tableu with at least +1 military. Assuming my military is at least +1, could I destroy my own planets for the Prestige?
No. Takeovers are against worlds in *other* players' tableaus (see the definition in RvI).

(The use of "any" in the BoW rules was to emphasize that Casus Belli worked against all tableaus (other than the attacking player's tableau), regardless of vulnerabilities.)
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Interestingly enough, according to Keldon's AI, you can attempt to TO an opponent's world, then use PGSC to discard a PP to stop your own TO attempt.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
Interestingly enough, according to Keldon's AI, you can attempt to TO an opponent's world, then use PGSC to discard a PP to stop your own TO attempt.

Perfectly legal...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
entranced wrote:
ackmondual wrote:
Interestingly enough, according to Keldon's AI, you can attempt to TO an opponent's world, then use PGSC to discard a PP to stop your own TO attempt.

Perfectly legal...

And a game-winning move!... in maybe about 1 out of 100 million games...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cody Moultrie
United States
Draper
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
svasongha wrote:
I have a question about the Imperial Planet Buster. It says that you may take over and destroy a planet from a tableu with at least +1 military. Assuming my military is at least +1, could I destroy my own planets for the Prestige?
No. Takeovers are against worlds in *other* players' tableaus (see the definition in RvI).

(The use of "any" in the BoW rules was to emphasize that Casus Belli worked against all tableaus (other than the attacking player's tableau), regardless of vulnerabilities.)


I was leaning towards this being the correct ruling, but the thematic side of the argument kept coming to mind, ie. I wouldn't put it past the Corrupt Imperium Bureaucracy to justify the annihilation of one of it's own planets to improve their intergalactic prestige. (And it looks like I just named a card that I'll be creating with one of the blanks from TGS )
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A Muscaria
United States
Orono
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War » Forums » Rules
Re: Can the Imperial Planet Buster be used to destroy your own worlds?
svasongha wrote:
Tom Lehmann wrote:
svasongha wrote:
I have a question about the Imperial Planet Buster. It says that you may take over and destroy a planet from a tableu with at least +1 military. Assuming my military is at least +1, could I destroy my own planets for the Prestige?
No. Takeovers are against worlds in *other* players' tableaus (see the definition in RvI).

(The use of "any" in the BoW rules was to emphasize that Casus Belli worked against all tableaus (other than the attacking player's tableau), regardless of vulnerabilities.)


I was leaning towards this being the correct ruling, but the thematic side of the argument kept coming to mind, ie. I wouldn't put it past the Corrupt Imperium Bureaucracy to justify the annihilation of one of it's own planets to improve their intergalactic prestige. (And it looks like I just named a card that I'll be creating with one of the blanks from TGS )


Grey Goo is also a valid narrative.

Imperium Nanite Colony!
5-cost development.
IV: Consume a WORLD for twice its VP value in chips?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.