$10.00
Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Glen More» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving workers to become chieftan rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eddie B
United States
Unspecified
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Let's say I have 4 workers on the board and after placing a tile I have 3 movement available. Can I move 3 workers off to have them become chieftan? Or can I only move 1 worker off to become chieftan and use the other 2 movement points for normal movement?

I am asking because in her final turn I let me wife move 3 workers off the board to become chieftan. However, after re-reading the rules it seems that you can pay 1 movement point (and not more than 1) to take any clan member of the board and all other movement points (if you have any left) can only be used to move workers on the board.

Am I correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
burrie wrote:
Let's say I have 4 workers on the board and after placing a tile I have 3 movement available. Can I move 3 workers off to have them become chieftan? Or can I only move 1 worker off to become chieftan and use the other 2 movement points for normal movement?


It costs one movement point to promote a clansman to a chieftan. There is no limit to the number of clansmen that can be promoted in this fashion within a single activation. So in the example given, your wife was definitely allowed to move three clansmen off all at once.

Since you mentioned reviewing the rulebook, I re-read the passage on village/castle activation, looking for any poor wording (which this rulebook has a lot of). But I didn't see anything that might be misinterpreted as a "one chieftan per activation" limit.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias C.
Germany
Düsseldorf
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
JohnRayJr wrote:

It costs one movement point to promote a clansman to a chieftan. There is no limit to the number of clansmen that can be promoted in this fashion within a single activation. So in the example given, your wife was definitely allowed to move three clansmen off all at once.


This is perfectly correct. Normally, you will promote as much clansmen to chieftains as you can.

Enjoy the game!
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Chan
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On my last turn, can I promote ALL my workers to chieftains? (I took a piece way in front of the queue and there aren't enough tiles to get back to me.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
eviltofu wrote:
On my last turn, can I promote ALL my workers to chieftains? (I took a piece way in front of the queue and there aren't enough tiles to get back to me.)


You can promote one worker per movement point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Bass
United States
Winston-Salem
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Glen More » Forums » Rules
Re: Moving workers to become chieftan
eviltofu wrote:
On my last turn, can I promote ALL my workers to chieftains? (I took a piece way in front of the queue and there aren't enough tiles to get back to me.)

As Jack said above, it's allowed if you place your last tile near enough villages/castles to give you the movement actions you need to promote them all. Either that, of your last tile is Loch Oich and you have enough total villages/castles to do it.

I've tried this strategy my last two games by putting some villages/castles in a cluster and then placing my last tile next to them so I'm able to promote them all. Both times I also had Duart Castle, giving me three bonus points per village. Worked once.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the original Rio Grande rules, the wording implies only one conversion. This is clearly incorrect. Even the summary in the sidebar says "Clan members, place one to the wide to become "Chieftan". Probably additional error in there as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.