Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happens when a combat becomes Endless because neither side can die? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darian Tucker
United States
New Smyrna Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Imagine a situation where a character is fighting a monster where neither side can kill the other. Say, Michael McGlen is fighting a monster that does one Stamina damage, but because his Fight rating is low or due to some other effect, he gets 0 dice for the combat and also has no Clue tokens he could spend to receive extra dice. What do you do in this situation? (Really rare, I know, but not entirely impossible if the right combination of Mythos cards/detrimental abilities are in play.)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damo
Australia
Hobart
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Look Up! Stay Alive!
badge
http://australianmuseum.net.au/Drop-Bear
mbmbmbmbmb
That would not be really, really rare. House rule it if you ever come arcoss the situation.

If the monster can't harm him, then I'd be inclined to go for the monster kill.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Harkins
United States
Salamanca
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If an Investigator becomes caught in an infinite loop combat (usually Michael McGlenn...), they are driven Insane and go to the Asylum. This ruling is from the FFG forums, and to my knowledge doesn't appear in the rules or FAQ.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darian Tucker
United States
New Smyrna Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's fine. And funny. And thematic. I like that idea!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a good question actually. There's still the option to escape (unless the monster has Ambush), but if his Sneak is also too low to have any dice, that's just as much an issue.

Once it's apparent this is what's going to happen and nothing can be done, abort the fight as if he Evaded?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Arkham Horror » Forums » Rules
Re: What happens when a combat becomes Endless because neither side can die?
Radulla wrote:
If an Investigator becomes caught in an infinite loop combat (usually Michael McGlenn...), they are driven Insane and go to the Asylum. This ruling is from the FFG forums, and to my knowledge doesn't appear in the rules or FAQ.

This the way to handle it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.