Daniel B
Sweden
Kungsbacka
flag msg tools
128
badge
22
mbmbmbmbmb
The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game » Forums » Rules
"removed from game", "discarded" and "destroyed" (official answer)
The official answer to the following question can be found some posts down.



When my wife and I were playing Rhosgobel yesterday, my wife asked me if she could use Landroval to save Glorfindel during Radagast's Request. (lotrlcg.com just got blocked at work, so I can't provide fancy images) My answer to her was no.

The way I see it, there is a significant difference between "removed", "discarded" and "destroyed":

A card that is "discarded" is put into the appropriate discard pile but cards like "To the Eyrie" and "Landroval" cannot trigger their effects since it was not destroyed. A "discarded" card does however leave play, allowing cards such as "Horn of Gondor" to trigger their effects.

A character is "destroyed" when it recieves damage equal to or greater than it's hit points. At least that is what the rules seem to suggest:
Quote:
Hit Points: The amount of damage required to destroy this card.

Quote:
[...] and places 6 damage tokens on the defending character. Since the Silverlode Archer only has 1 hit point, it is destroyed and discarded from play.


When a card is "removed from the game" it is not destroyed but it does leave play (going to an area outside the game (not the discard pile) where it can no longer be interacted with.

Do you agree with this interpretation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boian Spasov
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
Real men roll d20s!
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "removed from game", "discarded" and "destroyed"
I wondered about the same thing recently and came to your conclusion. "Destroyed" means dealt lethal damage. After this the character is "discarded", but it may also be discarded for other reasons and in this case Landroval cannot save him. "Removed from the game" is a third thing entirely and doesn't translate to "discarded" or "destroyed".

I would love to hear an official word on this, but until then I am playing it like you do.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Smith
United Kingdom
Pimlico
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "removed from game", "discarded" and "destroyed"
blizzardb wrote:
I wondered about the same thing recently and came to your conclusion. "Destroyed" means dealt lethal damage. After this the character is "discarded", but it may also be discarded for other reasons and in this case Landroval cannot save him. "Removed from the game" is a third thing entirely and doesn't translate to "discarded" or "destroyed".

I would love to hear an official word on this, but until then I am playing it like you do.


I agree and thematically this makes sense - Glorfindel is going back to the hut to help heal the Eagle - he's not dead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "removed from game", "discarded" and "destroyed"
There's no need to hear anything official on this - your interpretations come straight from the rulebook, and are correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oleg volobujev
msg tools
mbmb
Re: "removed from game", "discarded" and "destroyed"
Deebs wrote:
When my wife and I were playing Rhosgobel yesterday, my wife asked me if she could use Landroval to save Glorfindel during Radagast's Request. (lotrlcg.com just got blocked at work, so I can't provide fancy images) My answer to her was no.

The way I see it, there is a significant difference between "removed", "discarded" and "destroyed":

A card that is "discarded" is put into the appropriate discard pile but cards like "To the Eyrie" and "Landroval" cannot trigger their effects since it was not destroyed. A "discarded" card does however leave play, allowing cards such as "Horn of Gondor" to trigger their effects.

A character is "destroyed" when it recieves damage equal to or greater than it's hit points. At least that is what the rules seem to suggest:
Quote:
Hit Points: The amount of damage required to destroy this card.

Quote:
[...] and places 6 damage tokens on the defending character. Since the Silverlode Archer only has 1 hit point, it is destroyed and discarded from play.


When a card is "removed from the game" it is not destroyed but it does leave play (going to an area outside the game (not the discard pile) where it can no longer be interacted with.

Do you agree with this interpretation?


Totally Agree.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B
Sweden
Kungsbacka
flag msg tools
128
badge
22
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "removed from game", "discarded" and "destroyed"
Here is the official reply:
I wrote:
Are the following interpretations correct regarding the difference between "destroyed", "discarded", "removed from game" and "leaving play":

A character is "destroyed" when it recieves damage equal to or greater than it's hit points. It then "leaves play" and put into the discard pile.

A card that is "discarded" is put into the appropriate discard pile but cards like "To the Eyrie" and "Landroval" cannot trigger their effects since it was not "destroyed". A "discarded" card does however "leave play", allowing cards such as "Horn of Gondor" to trigger their effects.

When a card is "removed from the game" it is neither "destroyed" nor "discarded", but it does "leave play" (going to an area outside the game area where it can no longer be interacted with).

Are these interpretations correct?

Nate wrote:
A card "leaves play" any time it moves from an in-play state to an out of play state (hand, deck, discard pile, removed from game). ("Enters play" play is moving from any of these states into the game.)

Defeated and destroyed both refer to a character or enemy receiving damage that reduces its hit points to zero, and then being placed in the appropriate discard pile.

Some card effects will directly remove characters/enemies from play, either discarding them, returning them to hand or deck, an potentially removing them from the game. These effects are not considered to defeat or destroy the target, they act directly on it, moving it to the new out of play state.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Smith
United Kingdom
Pimlico
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly how many emails have you sent Nate -
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B
Sweden
Kungsbacka
flag msg tools
128
badge
22
mbmbmbmbmb
Flamehearted wrote:
Exactly how many emails have you sent Nate -

Hehe, apparently not too many...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.