$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: New Action card (search) & Prestige tile rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lionel Graveleau
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I have 2 different questions :

1 ) There are 2 ways to use the new action card :
- bonus prestige : i play it closed to a basic cards to tell on which action i use the bonus prestige
- Search : Should i select a basic card too ? This would mean that i initiate 2 actions : The special (only me) and the basic card action (common phase). I think no.

2 ) Situation : There's no Prestige leader.I earn 2 Prestiges on the turn. I become leader and put the 2 Prestige items on the tile. Next turn : i earn 1 PV and, since i have Prestige on the tile, 1 card. Now, how many prestige should i get off the tile : all the Prestige or one by one?
I think it's one by one, so that mean that, if i don't earn other prestige next turn and nobody else take the leader title, tile will still have a last Prestige. The next turn i will use this last Prestige item and take a card but get out this last Prestige from the tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) If you play your special card as 'Search', it replaces your action that turn (or one of your actions if you are playing 2p advanced).

2) You remove all prestige from the tile at the start of your turn. You cannot bank it for card draws in future turns, you actually have to be regularly generating prestige to get those cards.
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Correctly answered (both questions). Thanks.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lionel Graveleau
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick and clear !! Perfect, thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
QBert80 wrote:
1) If you play your special card as 'Search', it replaces your action that turn (or one of your actions if you are playing 2p advanced).


Oops, we did that wrong. I could not find a clear answer to this in the rulebook.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am missing how the rulebook says this also.

Obviously with Tom chiming in that is the intent, but it's very ambiguous in the rules. (Especially as opposed to the clarity of the prestige bonus card usage procedure.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
qzhdad wrote:
I am missing how the rulebook says this also.

From BoW rules, page 6: "Once per game, a player may play his search *action card*, declaring "search" as *action cards* are flipped up and revealed [...]" (emphasis added)

If Search was intended as a bonus, we would have used "bonus card", not "action card" in the BoW rules. You play one action card per turn, so Search replaces your normal action (in the normal game, or one of your two actions in the 2-player game for experienced players).

Contrast the usage of "action card" in the Search section to the discussion of the "prestige bonus" and how to use the prestige card to indicate a bonus on page 4.

Using the Prestige card is a bonus; using the Search card is an action. Don't confuse the two.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm unconfused now. I think my confusion probably arose because of the work "declaring" which (although I've not checked the base game rules) is probably what you do when you turn over an "action card" (which our group always calls role cards. Yet another case where nicknames cause (my) confusion. blush

Thanks for the additional clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I dunno, i think the rulebook might be too subtle in this case. Sure, literally it's correct, but clarity should come first, especially in a complicated game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
entranced wrote:
I dunno, i think the rulebook might be too subtle in this case. Sure, literally it's correct, but clarity should come first, especially in a complicated game.

An interesting comment from one of the proof-readers! ;-)

Yeah, if I could do it over, I might insert something like "(in place of your action)" into the Search intro paragraph, just to be clearer.

This issue comes up in general with expansions. The base rules define things precisely and then this terminology is reused in expansions. However, most people internalize the base rules in subtly different ways (since everyone learns and remembers stuff differently) and have forgotten the exact terminology when an expansion comes along. Trying to anticipate all the possible confusions is impossible, since we don't know how people have internalized things (for example, using "role" instead of "action").

For any particular confusion, sure, it's easy in hindsight to think of some additional wording to address that issue. However, in practice, writing that way makes everything far too wordy (and you still miss something). As usual in technical writing (I was a professional technical writer for seven years), it comes down to a bunch of judgement calls and nothing ever works for everyone.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War » Forums » Rules
Re: New Action card (search) & Prestige tile
Tom Lehmann wrote:
An interesting comment from one of the proof-readers! ;-)

Nod, it's pretty much impossible to notice such subtleties with only the rulebook and cards to go by. I never did re-read it after getting the expansion. Likely wouldn't have even noticed at that point anyway heh.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.