Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Carnival» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are Rides Ever "Safe"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Jackson
United States
Goodlettsville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Am I a man or am I a muppet? If I'm a muppet then I'm a very manly muppet!
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, so we've all been to a local traveling carnival & wondered if the rides are safe... that's not what I'm talking about.

After 1 play, we were confused as to whether other players could use Midway Trade and/or Midway Steal to break up a completed ride.

The "flip the entire set over" note in the rules led us to believe that natural set rides were "safe" - in other words, could not be tampered with... but that rides completed with wild cards were not.

Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Coleman
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. Rides completed without wild cards are "natural sets" that are turned over when completed, rewarded with a ticket (if one has been discarded) and are safe from Midway Trades and Midway Steals.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Ackles
Cuba
APO
AE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup! right on the money Harold.

Now I am pretty sure I know the answer but I will ask anyway.

If you spend a ticket and then complete a natural set you get a ticket back. Got it! No issues, but can you hold more than 3 tickets or can you bank a ticket?

Meaning, if I complete a natural set without using a ticket can I still take a ticket if there one available (say someone else used a ticket so there is one in the pot) or can I get a free ticket use (use a ticket for die pip addition for example) and immediately take my ticket back because of the natural set?

I suspect that I can't and the natural set only gives me my ticket back if I have indeed used it but have to ask. Chris, what do you think can I have an extra ticket?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A.J. Porfirio
United States
Thompsons Station
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Theme Me
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules state you may never have more than 3 tickets. So you may only take a ticket if you have 2 or fewer in your possession when the natural set is made.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dice Hate Me
United States
Chapel Hill
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
The boardgame blog with worse luck than you! dicehateme.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Harold and Dean, you are absolutely correct in answering the OP's question.

Dean, AJ is correct in that no player (or team of players in the Team Variant) can ever have more than three tickets at any time.

Thanks to everyone for answering these questions and keeping the forums lively!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Ackles
Cuba
APO
AE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So Chris, if I complete a natural set am I forced to flip it over? Lets say I roll and do a midway trade to complete a natural set but I have yet to use a ticket. Can I leave it exposed (yes I know it is dangerous and open to a steal) and on my next turn use a ticket for...anything...and then flip over the set and take the ticket back.

I know this is very convoluted but would it be legal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dice Hate Me
United States
Chapel Hill
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
The boardgame blog with worse luck than you! dicehateme.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Carnival » Forums » Rules
Re: Are Rides Ever "Safe"?
wheels4hextall wrote:
So Chris, if I complete a natural set am I forced to flip it over? Lets say I roll and do a midway trade to complete a natural set but I have yet to use a ticket. Can I leave it exposed (yes I know it is dangerous and open to a steal) and on my next turn use a ticket for...anything...and then flip over the set and take the ticket back.

I know this is very convoluted but would it be legal?


Dean,

Under the sanctioned rules for Carnival, this would not be legal. But we highly encourage house rules, and this would be a really interesting one.

We'd like to start inviting players to send us variants and house rules after everyone's had a chance to play for awhile. We'll post some of them on the official website for everyone to check out and give a try!

Cheers,
Chris
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.