Recommend
127 
 Thumb up
 Hide
343 Posts
[1]  Prev «  10 , 11 , 12 , 13 , 14  | 

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Now available: The Unofficial Agricola Compendium rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: agricola [+] [View All]
Björn -
msg tools
Agricola » Forums » Rules
New rules for some cards
Hi,

i visited the Fair 2011 in Essen. I bought there an official correction-deck. It was sold by Lookout Games, so you can be sure it's meant official. I am not sure wheather these changings are known here, so i will post them for discussion and for the Compendium:

In this post only the rule-changing cards, i will add a next post, where only some declarations are added or the wording is changed a little bit, to make sure cards work with the new decks.

Here are the real changes:

Taster
I think nearly everybody knows already. The cost for making first move in a round is increased to 2 food.

Fence Builder
This change is already in the Compendium.
The original text says that, you can still build the fence on the actionfield. The new card declares that this is not possible.


Fishtrap
Woodcutter
For both cards the same. An explanation is added, that both cards give the bonus even if you get the reed (Fishtrap) or wood (Woodcutter) through cards (minors and occs). (but during your own action)
I'm not sure if only cards like the Village Elder give the bonus (this one seems to be clear) or even cards like Left Liberal (NL Deck "Whenever you use 1 of the 6 leftmost Action spaces on the first game board, you receive 1 additional Wood."). That is not exactly declared.
I quote the German textWoodcutter)
"Dies zählt auch für Holz, das du bei der Aktion durch ausgespielte Karten erhältst"


I was very surprised, but a misunderstanding is impossible as the following cards got an explanation too. But here is said, that the bonus is NOT given if you get the resources through cards:
Claymixer, Storehousekeeper, Berry Picker, Stone Carrier.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn -
msg tools
Declarations or small changes
Some cards are changed in a way, that they work with the new decks. At least i think that is the reason for the following changes:

House Goat: On the original card is an explanation, that you can't even hold an animal in your house when you play Animal Tamer.
The new text declares that it's not possible even if any occ or minor allows it.

Ladder+Thatcher:
On the orginal card there is a list of all minors, which cost one reed less due to the ladder/thatcher.
Now there is a definiton which minors will cost one reed less namely all minors which have costs of at least 1 reed and one other building resource.

Same with
Fisherman
Instead of a list of all minors which receive 1 food, there is now a definition for those improvements. The text of the minors need an explicit reference to the action-field Fishing to get the food.
Juggler
The text of the occs need an explicit reference to the action-field Traveling Players to get the food.


Academic: Old text says that it counts as 2 Occs in the scoring for Reeve and Tutor. The new text is nearly the same, but it's made clear that Reeve and Tutor are only examples for that.

Smallholder: Original text: add 1 extra grain or vegetable from the general supply to each field you sow. New text: add 1 accordingly resource. So it can work with cards, which allow to sow food or reed (e.g.) on fields.



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn -
msg tools
part 3
I don't want the posts become to long, so i make a third one.

Wooden Hut Extension
Clay Hut Extension
Stone House Extension

It's only declared that you pay for the minor and the room is free. Just to prevent some misunderstandings.

Horse
Is no longer called "Pferd" as that word is needed for FotM and there were misunderstandings because of that. So the new name is "Ross" in the German edition.
And a declaration is added to make clear, that you still get the minus-point (important for some other cards like Constable) for the missing animal but receive 2 special points.

Mini-pasture
Nothing new, just a declaration that you have to follow the rules for building fences if you have built fences earlier.


Well Builder
Manufacturer
Baking Tray
Original text in these 3 cards say that some Major Improvements are Minor Improvements now for you.
This had some misunderstandings e.g. for prerequisites of other cards.
The new texts say that these Major Improvements are allowed to play with an action Minor Improvement to make clear that they are still Major Improvements when played.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom 2
msg tools
smcmike wrote:
It doesn't seem like the Job Seeker/Scholar conflict is a real one. If the Job Seeker can be used before the Scholar, 95% of the time it won't matter who plays first. If the Job Seeker can't be used before the Scholar, but can be used afterward, the order is set. I do think the rules should allow for that scenario regardless of seat position (as they seem to).


I can only guess at what you are saying. It is not a real problem because 95% of the time it doesn't matter? So the rules are fine the way they have been until now?
Dermerlin wrote:


Fence Builder
This change is already in the Compendium.
The original text says that, you can still build the fence on the actionfield. The new card declares that this is not possible.


Whatever that means, I don't see something like that in the Compendium. You cannot build fences on the fence building action space? You cannot build fences twice if you place your Fence Builder fence on the fence building action space? You cannot use an empty accumulation space even if it would allow you to build fences? The last one is in the Compendium; but I am just guessing as to what you might mean.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derakon Derakon
msg tools
tom2 wrote:
Whatever that means, I don't see something like that in the Compendium. You cannot build fences on the fence building action space? You cannot build fences twice if you place your Fence Builder fence on the fence building action space? You cannot use an empty accumulation space even if it would allow you to build fences? The last one is in the Compendium; but I am just guessing as to what you might mean.
You did look at the card he's talking about, right? The card makes you put one of your fences on an action space to mark it. You cannot use that specific fence anymore for actual fencebuilding (i.e. you have 1 fewer fences to place). Dermerlin referring to "the fence on the actionfield" is unambiguous. The Compendium in turn says "From now on, you have only 14 fences available for building."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn -
msg tools
Derakon wrote:
tom2 wrote:
Whatever that means, I don't see something like that in the Compendium. You cannot build fences on the fence building action space? You cannot build fences twice if you place your Fence Builder fence on the fence building action space? You cannot use an empty accumulation space even if it would allow you to build fences? The last one is in the Compendium; but I am just guessing as to what you might mean.
You did look at the card he's talking about, right? The card makes you put one of your fences on an action space to mark it. You cannot use that specific fence anymore for actual fencebuilding (i.e. you have 1 fewer fences to place). Dermerlin referring to "the fence on the actionfield" is unambiguous. The Compendium in turn says "From now on, you have only 14 fences available for building."


Thanks Derakon for the good explanation (if there was anyone needed).
On the original card (German) there is an explanation at the end which says that "at the moment you build the fence, lying on the actionfield, you have no more advabtage when using that field". This means obviously, that you could still build 15 fences. This is corrected now to an explanation, that the fence on the actionfield can no longer be built.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike T
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
tom2 wrote:
smcmike wrote:
It doesn't seem like the Job Seeker/Scholar conflict is a real one. If the Job Seeker can be used before the Scholar, 95% of the time it won't matter who plays first. If the Job Seeker can't be used before the Scholar, but can be used afterward, the order is set. I do think the rules should allow for that scenario regardless of seat position (as they seem to).


I can only guess at what you are saying. It is not a real problem because 95% of the time it doesn't matter? So the rules are fine the way they have been until now?


No, you're right. There are occasionally some issues, and they need to be resolved. Seat order, I guess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
mbmbmbmbmb
I note that in v9.0 of the compendium, for the CZ-deck, the occupations "Seeress" and "Snitch" are known as "Fortune Teller" and "Informer". Is this because they were translated from the German version? Perhaps it is worth changing them to "Seeress" and "Snitch" in the next version for better consistency.

Edit: Just realised that it affects some of the minor improvements as well. "School", "Wagenburg", "Hop Field" and "Venus Figure" are "Schoolhouse", "Wagen Fort", "Hop Field" and "Venus of Dolni Vestonice" respectively in the English version.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn -
msg tools
Dermerlin wrote:
Hi,

...

Fishtrap
Woodcutter
For both cards the same. An explanation is added, that both cards give the bonus even if you get the reed (Fishtrap) or wood (Woodcutter) through cards (minors and occs). (but during your own action)
I'm not sure if only cards like the Village Elder give the bonus (this one seems to be clear) or even cards like Left Liberal (NL Deck "Whenever you use 1 of the 6 leftmost Action spaces on the first game board, you receive 1 additional Wood."). That is not exactly declared.
I quote the German textWoodcutter)
"Dies zählt auch für Holz, das du bei der Aktion durch ausgespielte Karten erhältst"


I was very surprised, but a misunderstanding is impossible as the following cards got an explanation too. But here is said, that the bonus is NOT given if you get the resources through cards:
Claymixer, Storehousekeeper, Berry Picker, Stone Carrier.



I am really surprised, that nobody has a comment to the changed rules of Woodcutter and Fishtrap. I think these changes are important and really surprising, as i don't understand the reason for it. And on the other hand i miss the official publishing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Ho
United States
Long Island City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
See my post on page 12 and its link. It already talks a lot about these new version changes for the 7th edition and there's discussion about it as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn -
msg tools
pioneer99 wrote:
See my post on page 12 and its link. It already talks a lot about these new version changes for the 7th edition and there's discussion about it as well.


Ah yes i hadn't seen that before.
But in the discussion in the play-agricola-forum is an important mistake, which i cannot correct there atm, as the forum is stuck.

They are talking about a change on Wood Buyer which is not correct, the change is on Woodcutter instead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Ho
United States
Long Island City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've posted a proposed change to the compendium which includes the German 7th edition changes in a separate thread under Rules. It's also being discussed over at play-agricola: http://play-agricola.com/forums/index.php?topic=3638.0
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr. BadMojo
msg tools
If you have both the Freeloader and the Understudy, is it then possible to use your first person on an occupied actionspace and then use your second on the same space because of the Understudy?
I know it says exactly one of your family members on the Understudy card
but it doesn't say anything about other players family members.
I guess it isn't possible, but it would be a killercombo with Late Sleeper
if it was
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eugene van der Pijll
Netherlands
Den Haag
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
BadMojoRedux wrote:
If you have both the Freeloader and the Understudy, is it then possible to use your first person on an occupied actionspace and then use your second on the same space because of the Understudy?

Understudy: "Whenever an action space is occupied by exactly one of your
family members, you may..."

I remember a discussion on play-agricola.com about the meaning of "exactly one". Does it count only your family members, or any family members. I do not remember the outcome, but I think I was on the side that would allow the Freeloader/Understudy combo.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Burkman
United States
Kettering
Ohio
flag msg tools
Peekaboo!
mbmbmbmbmb
pijll wrote:
BadMojoRedux wrote:
If you have both the Freeloader and the Understudy, is it then possible to use your first person on an occupied actionspace and then use your second on the same space because of the Understudy?

Understudy: "Whenever an action space is occupied by exactly one of your
family members, you may..."

I remember a discussion on play-agricola.com about the meaning of "exactly one". Does it count only your family members, or any family members. I do not remember the outcome, but I think I was on the side that would allow the Freeloader/Understudy combo.


Iirc, the one or two times that the Ugoi encountered this combo, we allowed it. The wording of Understudy suggests that the presence of opposing Family members is not a factor, plus the use of the combo is somewhat limited anyway since it's worthless on accumulation spaces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rain
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd like to point out some things in the Compendium that appear incorrect in the hopes that they can be fixed.

1) The Horse Butcher (M087) says you need to discard a Horse Slaughterhouse, but the compendium says you need to return one.

2) Similarly, the Church (M132) says you need to return the Village Church, but the compendium says you need to discard it.

3) There is a sentence in the section on Peat Bath (M095) that does not make sense: "If the number of the current round is equal or higher to the number of moor tiles, the Peat Bath has no effect."

Thank you for your work on the Compendium, it is an invaluable resource.

I would also hope at some point for a ruling on whether or not Lasso (I88) works with Special Actions from Farmers of the Moor. There is a thread which discusses this on BGG, but it is not particularly conclusive.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
Some other thread said that this was declared an Official compendium by the authors. But the OP still says its not official. Which is it? If official, how about updating the OP to indicate the current state of revisions as of this date?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pragyat Futela
msg tools
Where can i find the alphabetic version
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
[1]  Prev «  10 , 11 , 12 , 13 , 14  | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.