$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Few questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Finland
Jyväskylä
flag msg tools
mb
First, about the search action for consume two or more goods. The rules seem to say that you can actually name which kind of consume power you want to find. So I can say that I want to find a consume power which consumes for example two or more novelty goods and then look for one which does this, right? If so, can I search for a power which consumes many different kinds (like Diversified Economy)? I think not but just wanted to be sure.

Also, if I replace a world with Terraforming Engineers, does the old world go to the discard pile or to my hand? The symbol on the card points towards the discard pile, but just wanted to be sure, again.

And I also want to point out that Alien Departure Point is missing the white glow around it's cost. Every other production world has one so is this some sort of super special production world or is there actually a printing error in my perfect game? If this is an error, it really makes the whole game completely unplayable!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom of New Vinland wrote:
The rules seem to say that you can actually name which kind of consume power you want to find.


What line are you interpreting as this?

Quote:
And I also want to point out that Alien Departure Point is missing the white glow around it's cost.


Wow. How did y...

Wow.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom of New Vinland wrote:
And I also want to point out that Alien Departure Point is missing the white glow around it's cost. Every other production world has one so is this some sort of super special production world or is there actually a printing error in my perfect game?

That's the mechanic in the next expansion: Glowing worlds vs. Non-glowing worlds.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
Jyväskylä
flag msg tools
mb
LemonyFresh wrote:
What line are you interpreting as this?

Well this is what the allmighty rulebook says about Consume search:

"Cards with Consume powers that consume two or more goods. Pilgrimage world and cards with powers consuming two or more goods of a given kind do match this category."

I'm now thinking that I misunderstood the wording "given kind" though. whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom of New Vinland wrote:
First, about the search action for consume two or more goods. The rules seem to say that you can actually name which kind of consume power you want to find. So I can say that I want to find a consume power which consumes for example two or more novelty goods and then look for one which does this, right?

No, you don't get to pick anything besides exactly what's on the search category card, i.e. one of the 9 global categories. In your case, the first/second card with a multi-consume power. You don't get to specify novelty, multi-color, or anything else.

Tom of New Vinland wrote:
Also, if I replace a world with Terraforming Engineers, does the old world go to the discard pile or to my hand?

Discard pile.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei-Hwa Huang
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom of New Vinland wrote:
And I also want to point out that Alien Departure Point is missing the white glow around it's cost. Every other production world has one so is this some sort of super special production world or is there actually a printing error in my perfect game? If this is an error, it really makes the whole game completely unplayable!


Yes, that is an error. It's almost as bad as, say, writing "white glow around it's cost" instead of "white glow around its cost".

Maybe it will get fixed in another printing.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
Jyväskylä
flag msg tools
mb
onigame wrote:
Yes, that is an error. It's almost as bad as, say, writing "white glow around it's cost" instead of "white glow around its cost".

Touché!

I hope everyone understood that the thing about ADP was a joke. I pretty much mentioned it just in case that you hadn't noticed (and could maybe fix it, if needed). I do enjoy looking at the card art quite a lot so I tend to notice these little things. For example, has anyone else noticed that the three cards (Galactic Bankers, Merchant World and Deficit Spending) with "discard two cards for two VP"-power has the same long-faced alien in the picture? And I really do love little things like these.

Also, no one answered my question about Diversified Economy, but I think it does match the Consume Search.

Anyways, thanks for the answers. The rules in this expansion are a bit harder than in the other two, and will take longer to master, but I think that will also keep the game fresh and interesting for a long time. Awesome last expansion to my favourite game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Tom of New Vinland wrote:
I think [Diversified Economy] does match the Consume [2 or more goods] Search.

Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom of New Vinland wrote:
Also, no one answered my question about Diversified Economy, but I think it does match the Consume Search.

I did actually, it's up there. :)

Edit: nm, in the context and as worded i didn't realize you were originally asking whether DE matches the multi-consume search category.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Asher
United States
SOUTH LAKE TAHOE
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
onigame wrote:
Tom of New Vinland wrote:
And I also want to point out that Alien Departure Point is missing the white glow around it's cost. Every other production world has one so is this some sort of super special production world or is there actually a printing error in my perfect game? If this is an error, it really makes the whole game completely unplayable!


Yes, that is an error. It's almost as bad as, say, writing "white glow around it's cost" instead of "white glow around its cost".


or almost as bad as typing "white glow around its cost". [sic] instead of "white glow around its cost."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War » Forums » Rules
Re: Few questions
I meant to follow up on this sooner, but now, better late than ever.....




vs. the world (or galaxy)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.