Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Glen More» Forums » Rules

Subject: Orthogonal vs. diagonal rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No rules currently and only have phone. Can anyone confirm?

Placing tile next to clansman - can be orthogonal or diagonal from him?

Activating tiles - only orthogonally adjacent tiles activated?

Moving clansman - each move point can move them orthogonally or diagonally?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jedimusic wrote:
No rules currently and only have phone. Can anyone confirm?

Placing tile next to clansman - can be orthogonal or diagonal from him?

Both ways.

jedimusic wrote:

Activating tiles - only orthogonally adjacent tiles activated?

No, all adjacent tiles are activated.
jedimusic wrote:

Moving clansman - each move point can move them orthogonally or diagonally?

I don't have the rules handy but I believe either.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Klinck
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"Adjacent" always includes diagonal (at least, in my copy of the rules).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The only thing that cares about flat-side adjacency in the rules is the one that requires each non-starting-village tile laid to touch an already-laid tile with at least one full edge. (and river/road, of course)

Everything else in the game considers adjacent to include all 8 surrounding tiles. (based on German rules, my translation etc)

B>
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. I think the new dice tower video review says that only orthogonal tiles are activated. Either I heard it wrong or they got that rule wrong it looks like. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dice Tower reviews are for a very specific type of flavour, not for rules. Try a written review for that.

B>
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Kiley
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thepackrat wrote:
Dice Tower reviews are for a very specific type of flavour, not for rules. Try a written review for that.

B>


Or try the rulebook on the website if you have Internet access.

My English rulebook says:

"Additionally, at least 1 of the neighboring tiles must have a clan member on it (in this situation, corner to corner does not count!)."

So, according to the English rulebook, when placing a tile, you don't treat diagonal as adjacent for, either, placement purposes or clan member purposes. However, for activation and movement purposes, the diagonal tiles are considered adjacent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Unless you have some weird version of the rules, you are inserting a "not" into that. Both my rulebook and the PDF on Rio Grande's website say:

Quote:
• Every tile must be placed so that at least 1 of its edges is adjacent to that of another tile. (Corner to corner is not enough!)

• Additionally, at least 1 of the neighboring tiles must have a clan member on it (in this situation, corner to corner does count!).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Kiley
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Glen More » Forums » Rules
Re: Orthogonal vs. diagonal
tool wrote:
Unless you have some weird version of the rules, you are inserting a "not" into that. Both my rulebook and the PDF on Rio Grande's website say:

Quote:
• Every tile must be placed so that at least 1 of its edges is adjacent to that of another tile. (Corner to corner is not enough!)

• Additionally, at least 1 of the neighboring tiles must have a clan member on it (in this situation, corner to corner does count!).


I must be seeing things!!! I read it the wrong way originally and, strangely, saw it the wrong way again when I copied it for this post.

I was just reading another thread that said otherwise, and checked my rulebook. I was way off. I was coming here to delete my post, when I saw your response. I'll leave my old post up so that your response makes sense.

Oops. blush
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.