Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
http://www.gamesurvey.org

Hey everyone -
I'm a PhD student at Ohio State University, studying communication. One of my main areas of focus is on the use of games in society. Right now there are a lot of trends in research revolving around computer-based gaming, because that's a hot topic in the news. Some of these studies have built on previous research done about games in a non-computer-mediated environment.

However, there's a surprising lack of research on hobby games overall, and what little has been done falls into two categories: (a) psychological studies intended to test whether Dungeons & Dragons turned teenagers into Satan-worshipping bunny-killers (they don't), and (b) demographic profiles used for marketing purposes.

So, this study was built trying to dig into motivations and behaviors of wargamers, not just demographic profiles. When we approached The Game Manufacturers' Association about participating, they were very eager, and they requested that we widen the scope beyond just wargamers to all hobby gamers, since many of their members have feet in multiple worlds.
Which brings us to this survey.

We are undertaking one of the largest and most comprehensive studies of hobby game players ever conducted, a partnership between Ohio State University's School of Communication, GAMA, and The Wargamer.
We're investigating patterns of motivation and usage by card, role-playing, and board game players (among others), known in this study as hobby game players.
What do game players like in a game?
Why does a gamer like this?
What motivates continued game play and preferences for types of games?
Where are games bought and what influences those purchase decisions in light of preferences and motivations?
With whom (and where) do gamers play, and how frequently, and how do these decisions influence preferences and motivations?