$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Jerusalem» Forums » Rules

Subject: Jerusalem! rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Raspler
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
(1) My gaming partner and I both played this great game way back when it first came out, and we both remembered allowing a Jerusalem convoy that was stopped for the turn due to a failed attack, to zip back off-map at the end of the turn in order to pick up fresh units for the next turn's run to the city. Since the convoy can neither pick-up nor drop off units while it's moving, except for re-loading units which start the turn in the convoy, this seemed necessary to keep it strong enough to fight.

But studying both the new and original rules, we find no reference to that free post-turn transfer for the convoy. The upshot is that if the convoy fails to get through on turn 1, it means that they can't really try again until turn 3, since they must return off map in order to gather up fresh units to replace inevitable losses.

Since Jerusalem is under siege and weakening every turn, this seems to make a difficult game much more difficult for the convoy player, and much easier for the Arabs. My opponent and I allowed the convoy to re-start off map, even though this wasn't covered in the rules, and it helped a good deal, though in the end it didn't open the road despite their substantially boosted firepower.

(2) Another question we had was whether the convoy could grant its unlimited movement allowance to mech units that were escorting it. For example, halftracks or armored busses can provide much needed additional firepower for running the gauntlet, but with movement allowances of only 10 or 12, they're not fast enough to make it all the way to the city on one turn... and the convoy is not permitted to drop off units. This makes them useless as escorts. We ruled that if they were escorts, they inherited the convoy's unlimited movement allowance.

(3) Finally, we had a question about the two game spaces that are British held until the May III turn (Notre Dame and the Latrun Police Fort). Units are allowed to pass through but not stop on these valuable hexes until May III, at which time they are open to the combatants. But this game permits units to continue movement after pausing for combat... and so the question arose about whether a stack could attack from Notre Dame with the intention of leaving after combat. If the units succeed in clearing the target hex, all is well. But if the attacking units are Stopped by failing in a combat die roll, they find themselves unintentionally stuck in these British hexes. We ruled that if you fail in such a combat, you are permitted to stay in Notre Dam or the Latrun Police Fort, though you had to leave the following turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Raspler
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
It's good to see someone else is interested in this game, Charles.

Quote:
It states on pg 10 2nd paragraph from the bottom that the Jewish player has to state the route the convoy is taking to Jerusalem. It can only return after it either reaches Jerusalem or is eliminated per page 11 paragraph 4.


Yep, that is how it seems from the rules.

It's strange, though, that my partner and I both remembered allowing the convoy to re-start its mission from Tel Aviv once it failed. Perhaps it's because I don't believe I've ever seen the convoy actually make it to the city. The upshot is that the game is no contest whatsoever once the unstoppable forces of the Arab Legion arrive.

Of course the problem with the rule as written is that it would be stupid for the Arab player to ever destroy the convoy unit, thus preventing it from starting fresh. Much more effective to let it sit weakened and useless and blocking traffic in a hex halfway to Jerusalem.

Perhaps you are correct in that it must be reinforced by slow marching infantry humping up the road, but doesn't that seem a little silly to you? It might take weeks for the troops to make it to the target hex, which would give the Arabs ample time to build it up.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.