Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Crawford
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been playing Replay Baseball for a few years now. Tabletop sports games, also known as stats replay games, don't get much love here on the BGG. But I love them.

Replay Baseball is one of these stats replay games. That means that it is based on real-life statistics from a previous baseball season, and the players in the game are designed to replicate their real-life probabilities of getting a hit and so forth.

Each at-bat is resolved by rolling three dice, checking the batter's and pitcher's cards, and reading the result from the game charts. In this way, a game of baseball is played, and these games can make up whatever seasonal replay or fantasy season you can think of.

Tabletop baseball games have very dedicated followings. So I will say that Replay Baseball is my favorite tabletop baseball game, which means that I think it is the best by my personal definition of what is important, and if you disagree, then we will agree to amiably disagree.

On to the review part, you say! Okey-dokey. I like many things about the game, and I will point out some of the highlights.

Playing time and ease of play

It generally takes me about 20 minutes to play a game. I would say an average of 20 minutes if you include writing out the lineups and filling out the box score at the end of the game. A high-scoring game might take a few minutes more, and a pitcher's duel a few minutes less. Most chart results are memorized after a dozen games or so, so actually checking the chart to figure out what happened becomes more rare.

I find the game very easy to play. It flows very smoothly, and never feels like a chore. It is probably somewhere in the middle in terms of detail -- there are games out there that are much more detailed, and there are games that are much less too.

Components