$10.00
Ender Wiggins
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Introducing Roll Through the Ages

Does the name of the designer Matt Leacock sound familiar? That's because this is the guy who designed the popular cooperative game Pandemic. Does the name of the game Roll Through the Ages: The Bronze Age sound familiar? That's because it refers to the popular civ game Through the Ages: A Story of Civilization. So what do you get when you put the two together? Do you get a cooperative civilization game? No, you get Roll Through the Ages: The Bronze Age, a civilization game with dice!

In a BGN interview, designer Matt Leacock had this to say about the inspiration for the game: "I started playing Civilization when I was a teenager with my dad and uncle. Despite the fact that there were only three of us, our games tended to take most of the day – but those were days that I still treasure. The game was magical for me. These days, with my family and job, it’s hard to justify taking more than a couple of hours out of my schedule to play any single game. With Roll Through the Ages: The Bronze Age, I’d hoped to come up with a game that captured the magic of this type of game, but could be played in an ultra-compressed time frame."

Can it work? Does it work? The good news is that yes it does! And if you want to know what Roll Through the Ages looks like, what you get, and how to play, then you've come to the right place, because that's exactly what this pictorial overview is about.

Roll Through the Ages is actually part of a new series of five bookshelf style games by Gryphon Games, three of which are Knizia games, and four of which are auction games.

Roll Through the Ages is the odd man out: it's not a Knizia, and it's not an auction game. And yet this dice-rolling civ game is perhaps the most interesting of the bunch! Let's go find out more!

Box and components

So what exactly do you get with the game? Well the colours on the box remind us of some of the artwork in Through the Ages: