$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Train Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Where can the rules be found? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marlin Back
United States
COLUMBUS
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
This appears to be a relatively simple game, but I have not been able to locate the rules. Does anyone know where I can find them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Jones
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You get three rolls of the six dice. You must have a train engine and a tender, and a caboose. After that, the other three cars can be made up of any of the freight cars available. If you don't have an engine, tender, or caboose after 3 rolls then you don't get points for that turn.

There's a special train that has one of every type and that gives you 25 points.

There's also special rules for double-heading your train. If you have 2 engines, 1 tender, and all the rest freight, then you can pick up the freight and reroll them and add those to your score IF THEY'RE FREIGHT CARS. This goes on until you roll a caboose, or if you roll another engine or tender. If you roll a caboose, you get ALL the points you rolled for the whole turn. If you roll a third engine or a second tender you loose the whole train. If makes for a fun push-your-luck mechanic on the whole dice game premise...

There might be a few rules I missed out, there's a lot of words for such a small piece of paper.

All in all, a great quick dice game. Much better, IMHO, than Yahtzee since you're trying to make a train rather than just numbers. It's a tiny bit of theme added on, but that theme makes all the difference to me...

I highly recommend getting your hands on it if you at all enjoy dice games or have kids that are interested in trains.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You must have a train and tender-- you don't HAVE to have a caboose, but it's better if you do.

When you roll the first six, if you don't have an engine, you 'keep' nothing. If you have an engine but no tender, you keep it and roll 5.
If you don't roll a tender, you have to roll all 5 again.

If you roll an engine and tender on the first roll (ideal) you can keep any of the freight cars you want, or roll again.

Once you "add" a car to the train, you can't change it out, but you can roll the other dice to see what you get.

When you add a caboose, even on the first roll, you are "done." You score double the points.

But what makes it very interesting is, if you have an engine and a tender and roll another engine, that's when you can choose the 'freight train' option, which has the potential for scoring big... 'infinite' in theory... because if your remaining 3 dice are all freight,you "remember" those points and roll them again. With the freight train option, the "three rolls" thing is done and you are working on a different system.

What makes this tense is that when you roll the 3 dice, you might get one or two freight-- you can add those to the train and roll what isn't freight, but ANY time you make a roll and cannot add at least one dice to the train, you "wreck" and score ZERO.

On the other hand, you could get lucky, keep adding 3 freight cars, remembering the new total, and rolling 3 more again... and if you add a caboose, your turn is over and the entire freight train score doubles.

So the game is full of, "you can take the ## points and be done, or you can roll these dice and maybe score more points (or maybe score less-- and maybe score zero.) I've gotten as many as 64 points in one turn-- but a bad last roll and that would have been zero. Sometimes taking 10 and calling it quits is the better play.

Very, very interesting.
2 
 Thumb up
0.10
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Nolin
Japan
Nakamachi, Hiroshima
Hiroshima-ken
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kduke wrote:
But what makes it very interesting is, if you have an engine and a tender and roll another engine, that's when you can choose the 'freight train' option, which has the potential for scoring big... 'infinite' in theory... because if your remaining 3 dice are all freight,you "remember" those points and roll them again. With the freight train option, the "three rolls" thing is done and you are working on a different system.


A very good stating of the rules, but this last part might be a little misleading. In the case that on your first roll there are 2 engines and a tender, you could choose the freight train option then, but you'd only have up to two rolls with the remaining 3 dice (keeping to the 3 rolls rule). Otherwise, if you get your 3 freight cars and get a reroll, since there are only 3 dice in play and you must keep at least one on each roll, there are a maximum of three rolls anyways.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick weckermann
Canada
Powell River
British Coumbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
there are a maximum of three rolls anyways.
Not with the the freight train option.
Quote:
if you have an engine and a tender and roll another engine, that's when you can choose the 'freight train' option, which has the potential for scoring big... 'infinite' in theory...
This is correct and could possibly be rolled in the first roll, once the 'freight train option is picked it must be carried through. It might be possible to roll 3 more engines or tenders on second roll, ending turn with 0 pts. Only thing not mentioned is you can quit any time, so if you have say accumulated 12 points from previous rolls with 'freight train option', and roll freights valued 2 and 4 and another engine, you can choose not to roll the last die and just stop with 12+2+4 for 18 point score.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TPG
Sweden
flag msg tools
This playlist seems to have the parts out of order, but I believe it contains everything you need to know to play.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLCEF65397B4A6DEBD

Hope that helps.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.