$10.00
Recommend
23 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

Citadels» Forums » Rules

Subject: THE FAQ TO END ALL FAQs...... (work in progress) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sooooo many questions about such a great game in such a relatively simple game package. Hopefully, this will be one place to answer all of them once and for all (not that this thread is all about the destination and none about the journey )

OVERALL NOTES:
--Got an official FAQ!
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/Citadels/suppo...

--Questions will be presented under an entry, of which that will either be categorized as a character card or district card. Some of the questions will appear in multiple places, or even categories, so a cross reference will be setup to be able to quickly search for them, as well as keep all answers in one place and one place only. For now, I’m thinking about using self defined tags (color coded purple) that a viewer can search for via text search available on (AFAIK anyways) all web browsers. These will act as cross references.
e.g. [reference1] is a reference to {{reference1}}. Put curly brackets around “{reference1}” to jump to that spot where the questions is answered

--I separated character cards and purple cards into 2 different posts. It should make things easier to work with for myself
--This post will also contain notes about this topic

--format overall will be
QUESTION
\ANSWER \SOURCE

--A “completed city” or “complete” means a player builds to the number of districts to trigger the current round as the last round of turns. In most games, this means 8 or more districts in a city

--I try to make specific mention of which rulebook I’m referencing (e.g. English, Fantasy Flight 1st edition, Polish rules, etc.), but overall, whenever “rulebook” is cited as a reference without any details, that rulebook is from the English, Fantasy Flight Games edition of the game, which also includes the Dark City expansion. It’s the one that came with this copy of the game.......


--If you do have an answer to a question, cite your source(s). Major ones off the top of my head include the rulebook (mention which one, especially if it isn’t the one I’m defaulting to {see above}), this BGG message board, Bruno’s FAQ, Bruno’s message board (see links off the previous URL), elsewhere on the internet, if it’s just a house rule you’ve determined to be, or even if it’s what most of your groups have been using (doesn’t necessarily make it “right”, but at it’s still a source for us to call upon none of the less.).

--Some of the more “obvious” stuff that’s listed clearly in the rulebook or on the card itself will be ignored. However, I may include such “obvious” stuff anyways just for the heck of it.

--If a question has been answered decisively, I’ll mark it in yellow highlight to “clear it”. However, “cleared” items can still be up for discussion either for discussions sake, due to new developments, or both.


What’s it to you….
If you see a ‘burning question’ that hasn’t been covered, then ask, and I’ll probably put it in. The idea is I want to keep all questions at the top of this thread (or closest to it as possible)

Please post sources for questions that you can help out with.

========================================

NOTES ABOUT THIS THREAD

Will come back to this thread and clean up formatting. And try to put in more references....




1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CITADELS FAQ (part 1 of 2)

CHARACTERS
Assassin {{ass}}
--Does he have to give one gold to the Tax Collector due to Tax Collector’s special power?
{tax}

--Does Assassin have to give 1 gold to the Tax Collector if the TC is assassinated?
{tax}

--What happens to the crown if the King is assassinated?
{king}

--What happens to the crown if the Emperor gets assassinated?
{emp}

Thief {{thief}}
--Does Thief take $$ from bewitched character OR the Witch?
\Neither. \p15 of rules (English, Fantasy Flight edition with DC/exp) says Thief can’t steal from bewitched character nor the Witch

--If the crown changes possession due to the Throne Room on your turn (because you chosen the King or Emperor), does the Thief steal your $$ before or after you get that one gold?
{throne}


Magician {{mag}}
Do discard cards go face down at bottom of draw deck, face up in discard pile, or facedown in discard pile?
\facedown bottom of draw deck \p12 of rulebook
\Furthermore, this affects how well the Lighthouse works {lighthouse}

King {{king}}
--What happens to the crown if the King is assassinated?
\It goes to the player who choose the King that got assassinated (revealed at the end of that round)
\p13 in mention in rulebook. “When it becomes known that you had the murdered King’s character card, you take the crown (as the King’s heir).
\src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/2107009#2107009
-OR-
\It stays with the current player
\Since some older rulebooks didn’t incorporate this new rule in yet according to BGG observations.


Bishop
Protected against the Diplomat?
\Yes \page 17 in rulebook says this
Can Warlord still use Armory to destroy a Bishop’s district?
\yes? \Bishop is only protected from the Warlord’s special power


Merchant


Architect
--Can the Architect build past 8 districts
\yes. \Still gets 4/2 pt bonus and extra districts score as extra points per face value http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/300888

--Can he enact on his “draw 2 cards and keep both of them” first, before deciding on which action to take (take 2 gold or draw 2 cards and keep of them)?
\depends. \English FFG text on the character card strongly implies that you take an action BEFORE you draw and keep your 2 district cards. \German and French rules as implemented on BSW and the late www.citadelles.net, as well as mention of the German rules (here on BGG and possibly Bruno’s site) tell that you may indeed do the Architect’s special power first, before the standard action.

Warlord {{warlord}}
Can Warlord still use Armory to destroy a Bishop’s district?
\yes? \Bishop is only protected from the Warlord’s special power?


Does the Warlord spend 5 or 7 to destroy University/Dragon’s Gate?
\5 \Cost of the building. Src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...


Artist
\Does the Artist “beautify” 1 or up to 2 buildings per turn?
\Some rulebooks (such as the French rulebook) did NOT translate the fact that it’s 2 buildings that may be beautified per turn. The description on FFG’s English character card mentions this \src: post here on BGG


~~~
Witch {{witch}}
--Can the Witch choose not to bewitch anyone?
\Yes \p11 rulebook says special powers are optional
\No \On Bruno's site, this is fordibben...
http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...
Quote:
Q: Are the character special abilities compulsory?
A: No. The assassin is not bound to kill, the thief is not bound to steal, a.s.o. The only exceptions are the Witch and the Navigator.


--If Witch chooses NOT bewitch anyone, can she THEN build without having to bewitch someone?
\yes \General consensus of rules plus http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/128910

\N/A

--if bewitching the Merchant or Architect, she still gets an extra 1 gold or draw and keep 2 cards?
\yes \p15 in rulebook

--If Tax Collector is called and Witch builds a district through bewitched character, does she or the bewitched character pay one gold to Tax Collector
\bewitched character? \

--If Witch bewitches Tax Collector, does she collect all $$ from his power or does he?
\The Witch
src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/295732
\src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...

--If the Witch Bewitches the King, does she get to receive the crown counter?
\No \page 15 in the rulebook says so

--If Witch bewitches Bishop, is she immune to the Warlord’s special power? \The Witch
src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/295732
\src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...

--Navigator - Can Witch build if she possesses the Navigator?
\No? \She also gets all the weaknesses of the Navigator as well


Tax Collector {{tax}}
--Does the Assassin have to give one gold to the Tax Collector due to Tax Collector’s special power?
\yes, at the time when the Tax Collector is revealed as a character that was choosen by a player \ p15 in the rulebook

--Does the Assassin have to give 1 gold to the Tax Collector if the Tax Collector was assassinated?
\no \TC can’t use special powers when murdered, as mentioned in the rules that being assassinated means no use of special powers.

--Does the Tax Collector collect BEFORE or AFTER a player (who built a district) collects a gold from using the Poor House?
\before \src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/4177904#4177904

Wizard
Can the Wizard build a duplicate district?
\yes \page 16 in rulebook says so

Can Wizard build more than one duplicate?
\yes? \page 16 in rulebook marks no restrictions on this


Emperor {{emp}}
--When a player receives the crown from the Emperor, who determines what to give to the Emperor, the Emperor or the receiver of the crown?
\The receiver of the crown. Furthermore, the card given to the Emperor is also of the receiver of the crown’s choice
\src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...


--What happens to the crown if the Emperor gets assassinated?
\no. \Crown stays where it is.
\src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...

Abbot


Alchemist
Does the Alchemist have the INability to tax green districts?
\Correct. \The rulebook makes no mention of this whatsoever. Plus, it’s widely believed here on BGG that the Alchemist is powerful enough, if not too powerful.

Navigator
--If the Navigator chooses to NOT use his ability, can he then build a district on his turn?
\My judgement call, yes. See link for more details. Ongoing discussion
\http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/397997

Diplomat
--Can Diplomat force another player to receive a duplicate building (without having a Quarry)?
\no \src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...

--Can Diplomat exchange for a duplicate building (without having a Quarry)?
\no \src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...

--Can Diplomat exchange when he is already “closed” at 8?
\?
--Can Diplomat exchange with an opponent that has already closed at 8?
\No \Src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...


Queen
--Do you count the player with the crown marker as “king”, or the player who choose the king/emperor character on that round?
\depends on the rules. English FFG version says “the king” is decided by the King character card. Other versions/editions will say it’s the crown marker

ASSUMING THE KING IS THE CHARACTER CARD…
--If the King/Emperor get assassinated, does the Queen still get her 3 gold if she was next to either of them?
\yes \after the assassinated reveals that he was the King/Emperor, which occurs at the end of the round
--When does Queen get 3 gold?
\before and after depending on conditions of assassination and stuff. \rules and BGG

ASSUMING THE KING IS THE CROWN MARKER…
--How does one handle cases where the Queen was or is now next to the crown marker?

--How do you play with the Queen and Emperor if you’re assuming the Queen collects gold through her special power being next to the crown counter?
\Don’t do this, according to Bruno and his FAQ
\src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CITADELS FAQ (part 2 of 2)

PURPLE CARDS
Library + Observatory
If you choose to draw cards you take an action, you keep both of the cards you have drawn.
+
If you choose to draw cards when you take an action, you draw 3 cards, keep one of your choice, and put the other 2 on the bottom of the deck
--What happens with these 2 together?
\Draw 3, keep 2 of those 3. \Src: BGG forums. Observatory implies you draw an extra card and Library implies that you keep an extra card

--Can I build either/both of these and THEN take my action?
\No according to English, FFG edition rulebook, since you must take an action before any building occurs
\Yes according to German rules, French rules, and perhaps other rulesets out there which don’t require a player to take an action before building

Great Wall
The cost for the Warlord to destory any of your other districts is increased by one gold
--Also work against Diplomat?
\yes? \ src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/99974


Keep
Once during your turn, you may discard a district card from your hand and receive one gold from the bank
--Can Diplomat exchange this?
\No? \page 17 in rules mentions that Diplomat can’t do this

--Can the Armory destroy this district?
See {armory}


School Of Magic
For the purposes of income, the School of Magic is conisdered to be of the color of your choice. If you are the King this round, for example, the School is considered to be a noble (yellow) district
In 2p or 3p game, can both characters tax for income?
\yes \src: BGG post. Description on card implies on a per turn basis

University/Dragon’s Gate
This district costs 6 gold to build, but is worth 8 points at the end of the game
Does the Warlord spend 5 or 7 to destroy University/Dragon’s Gate?
{warlord}

~~~
Armory (Powderhouse) {{armory}}
During your turn, you may destroy the Armory in order to destroy any other district card of your choice in another player's city
--Warlord gets to use this to attack a Bishop’s district?
\yes? \own judgment call... The description of the Bishop is meant to mean he just blocks the Warlord’s special power, NOT from any other source

--non-Warlord gets to use this to attack a Bishop’s district?
\yes? \again, own judgment call... just as with above, the description of the Bishop is meant to mean he just blocks the Warlord’s special power, NOT from any other source

--Can the warlord use this to destroy the Keep?
\yes? \description of Keep says “...cannot be destroyed by Warlord”, which implies this immunity is by his special power only

--Can non-Warlord characters get to use this to destroy the Keep?
\yes? \description of Keep says “...cannot be destroyed by Warlord”

--Can anyone use this to destroy their own district?
\no? \card wouldn’t have said “another player’s city”

--Can a player use the Armory to take out a completed city?
\yes \according to Bruno. src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/794289#794289

--If so, does the game go on or does it end?
\It ends \according to Bruno. src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/794711#794711

--Are the 4/2pt and 3pt bonuses still awarded if yes to above?
\yes? \my house rule

--Can a player with a completed city (typically at 8 districts) use his Armory? If yes, will that be the last round of the game?
\Don’t know
\don’t know

Poor House
If you have no gold at the end of your turn, receive one gold from the bank. Gold placed on your district cards does not count as your gold for this purpose
--Does the Poor House cost 5 or 0 to build?
\Depends on the card itself. Normally, the Poor House costs 5. However, a misprint (or lack of printing to be precise) caused the coins on the upper left corner to be NOT printed at all, making it look like the Poor House costs 0. Either go with what you see, or make a ruling on the beforehand. \src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/2223041#2223041

--If the Warlord destroys a Poor House that costs 0, does he pay -1 gold, or in other words, gets 1 gold back for doing so?
\No \http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/2222653#2222653
\Yes \Mainly, that’s how Citadelles.net implanted this
src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/2223082#2223082

Graveyard (Cemetary)
When the Warlord destroys a district, you may pay one gold to take the destroyed district into your hand. You may not do this if you are the Warlord
--If Diplomat exchanges a district, does a different player who’s built the Graveyard get to take anything?
\N/A \page 17 the rulebook say to remove the Graveyard (actually referred to as the “Cemetary”) if the Diplomat is used instead of the Warlord

Throne Room {{Throne}}
Every time the Crown switches players, you receive one gold from the bank.
--If the crown changes possession due to the Throne Room on your turn (because you chosen the King or Emperor), does the Thief steal your $$ before or after you get that one gold?
\after getting the one gold?

Museum
On your turn, you may place on district card from your hand face down under the Museum. At the end of the game, you score one extra point for every card under the Museum
--If Museum is destroyed, do cards tucked underneath go with it?
\yes? \packed deal?

--If Diplomat exchanges for this, does he also get the cards underneath?
\yes? \packaged deal?

--What is cost for the Warlord or Diplomat to destroy/exchange the Museum?
\probably “face value” (cost - 1), but house ruling will be needed

--If the Warlord or Diplomat destroys/exchanges the Museum, do the cards tucked underneath the Museum go with it?
\probably, but house ruling will be needed

Hospital
Even if you are assassinated, you may take an action during your turn (but you may not build a district card or use yoru character's power).
--Does this also work with the Witch?
\no? This purple district probably shouldn’t be used with the Witch
\AFAIK, the Hospital came out alongside Witch, so would’ve been mentioned otherwise.

Bell Tower
When you place the Bell Tower in your city, you may announce that the game will end after the round in which a player first places his 7th district. You may do this even if the Bell Tower is your 7th district. If the Bell Tower is later destroyed, the game end conditions return to normal
--If enacted, 1st/following to 7 districts also gives 4/2 pt bonuses respectively?
\yes \src: http://www.auteursdejeux.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2261

--If multiple people already have 7 districts when the Bell Tower gets built and activated, then who gets what?
\no 4pt bonus. Everyone with 7+ districts gets 2pt bonuses \src: http://www.auteursdejeux.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2261
*BUT*
\It would appear Bruno’s latest update to his FAQ supersedes that by saying each player who already has 7 districts (I take this to imply 7+ and not EXACTLY 7 districts) gets the 4pt bonus
\src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...

--What if the Bell Tower was the 7th district that completed his city?
\That player would also get the 4pt bonus
\src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...

--Who gets the 2pt bonus then?
\Any player who didn’t already have 7 or more districts in his city at the time the Bell Tower was activated and builds to his 7th district in his city
\src: http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...

--Can Warlord destroy completed 7 district city?
\no? \against spirit of a completed city being immune to Warlord attack?

--If players are adapting the rule for a shorter game where a city is completed or closed at 7 districts, would building the Bell Tower and using enabling its powers mean the game ends at 6 districts (in other words, one less building normally required to end the game)?
\My judgment call would be yes, in the spirit of the way the Bell Tower works.


Quarry
When building, you may play a district already found in your city. You may only have one such duplicate district in your city at any one time
Can Wizard circumvent the building more than one duplicate rule for Quarry?
\yes? \it can already circumvent the rule about building 1 duplicate district without a Quarry

Lighthouse {{lighthouse}}
When you place the Lighthouse in your city, you may look through the District Deck, choose one card and add it to your hand. Shuffle the deck afterwards.
--Are discarded cards counted as part of the deck?
\depends. If you follow the rules about cards being discard going to the bottom of the deck, then yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
>Throne Room {{Throne}}
Every time the Crown switches players, you receive one gold from the bank.

--If the crown changes possession due to the Throne Room on your turn (because you chosen the King or Emperor), does the Thief steal your $$ before or after you get that one gold?

\after getting the one gold?
>

Your question is incorrectly phrased.
The crown does not change possession "due to the throne room."

For the case in which the King player owns the Throne:

The rule says that the crown does not switch until
"another player USES the ability of the 'King.'"

The rules description of the Thief says
"when the player who has that character (ie the King) is CALLED UPON to take his turn, YOU FIRST take all of his gold."

So the most logical sequence is:
the King is revealed
He is now "called upon" to take his turn
Thief steals his gold
The King's turn begins -- during which the King collects gold for districts at some point, and the cards he owns (Throne) have their effects implemented, in any order the player desires.

If a non-King player owns the Throne, he collects at the same instant as the Crown changes hands.

Any holes in that logic?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
X Shrike
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
ackmondual wrote:

Navigator
--If the Navigator chooses to NOT use his ability, can he then build a district on his turn?
\My judgement call, yes. See link for more details. Ongoing discussion
\http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/397997


The Witch and the Navigator are the only two that are exempt from having a choice to use their powers or not.

http://www.faidutti.com/index.php?Module=mesjeux&id=328&fich...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Diogo Poupado
Portugal
Ourém
Santarém
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Great Wall
The cost for the Warlord to destory any of your other districts is increased by one gold
--Also work against Diplomat?
\yes? \ src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/99974

Yes it can. It's written in the card itself, at least in the English version I got with the Dark City expansion included.
Quote:

Keep
Once during your turn, you may discard a district card from your hand and receive one gold from the bank

This is the description of the Laboratory card effect.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
vagelis
Greece
Πειραιάς
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
in bell card the player who play it he can use it whenever he wants?i mean can someone build the 7th card and then say that the game ends at 7 or no?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
matsas wrote:
in bell card the player who play it he can use it whenever he wants?i mean can someone build the 7th card and then say that the game ends at 7 or no?


I'm thinking No. The wording suggests it has to be at the time you play it.
Quote:
When you place the Bell Tower in your city, you may announce that the game will end after the round in which a player first places his 7th district. You may do this even if the Bell Tower is your 7th district. If the Bell Tower is later destroyed, the game end conditions return to normal
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B-G
United Kingdom
Leeds
W Yorks
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey there, I've been looking all over for this and I can't seem to find it's been an issue that's come up. A very long debate broke out after our last game about disclosing your hand size. Player A was playing the magician and asked Player B how many cards were in his hand. He said 1 showed his hand containing 3 cards collapsed so that it looked like 1 card.

Player A properly kicked off when he found out that player B lied. Player A's argument was pretty weak stating that he felt that this specifically messed with the magician card. Player B said that the rules say you can say whatever you like. I don't like the practise because the rules seem to assert that hand size is public knowledge and whilst we could get players to let you count their hand size, I vehemently oppose any style of play that slows down games for what is potentially a marginal advantage.

Can I get your opinion?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DAAAN wrote:
Hey there, I've been looking all over for this and I can't seem to find it's been an issue that's come up. A very long debate broke out after our last game about disclosing your hand size. Player A was playing the magician and asked Player B how many cards were in his hand. He said 1 showed his hand containing 3 cards collapsed so that it looked like 1 card.

Player A properly kicked off when he found out that player B lied. Player A's argument was pretty weak stating that he felt that this specifically messed with the magician card. Player B said that the rules say you can say whatever you like. I don't like the practise because the rules seem to assert that hand size is public knowledge and whilst we could get players to let you count their hand size, I vehemently oppose any style of play that slows down games for what is potentially a marginal advantage.

Can I get your opinion?
While the rules may or may not say # of cards public knowledge, it most definitely doesn't say they're hidden info. That's something I would've likely remembered, as that stands out more. We play that # of cards is public info.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Green
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you use part of your character's power without taking income.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CunningAllusionment wrote:
Can you use part of your character's power without taking income.
It's been a while, but AFAIK, Warlord can destroy a building, King gets the crown, Bishop's protection is passive anyways, but Merchant I believe (according to the wording) gets the $1 after taking an action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TwiNight
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
This post can use some updates...

Quote:
If Tax Collector is called and Witch builds a district through bewitched character, does she or the bewitched character pay one gold to Tax Collector
\bewitched character? \

\The Witch does \Official FAQ

Quote:
--If the Navigator chooses to NOT use his ability, can he then build a district on his turn?
\My judgement call, yes. See link for more details. Ongoing discussion
\ http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/397997

\N/A \According to Bruno, Navigator's ability is compulsory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Saturnin Saturnin
msg tools
Does the Diplomat receive gold for exchanging a less expensive district? (e.g. in need of colors he wants to exchange a 3-gold district for someone's 2-gold district of a different color)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René van Bussel
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm going to say "no", because the rules contain the following bit about paying gold.

Quote:
At the end of your turn, you may take a district from another player's city in exchange for a district in your city. If the district you take has a higher cost than the district you give, you must pay the difference in gold to the player with whom you make the exchange.


I take this to mean that if the district has a lower, or equal cost, nothing special happens. If something would happen, it would have been mentioned in the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Saturnin Saturnin
msg tools
Thanks very much for your reply! Very logical answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Halecky
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
If a player builds his eighth district, then a subsequent player uses the ARMORY to destroy one of that players eight districts (since the ARMORY is the only way a player can destroy another player's district in a completed city), can the WARLORD/DIPLOMAT then DESTROY/EXCHANGE with that first player's city? Now that he has gone from a completed city of eight districts back down to a city of seven districts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge
France
Rennes
Ille-et-Vilaine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
arolecky wrote:
If a player builds his eighth district, then a subsequent player uses the ARMORY to destroy one of that players eight districts (since the ARMORY is the only way a player can destroy another player's district in a completed city), can the WARLORD/DIPLOMAT then DESTROY/EXCHANGE with that first player's city? Now that he has gone from a completed city of eight districts back down to a city of seven districts?


That's a bit tricky. As far as I remember, from previous questions, destroying an 8th district with Armory does NOT undo the end-game triggering, i.e., the game will still end. Since the end-game triggering is not lifted, I'd rule that the "protection" is not lifted, either.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René van Bussel
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's in this very FAQ, with a link to the actual answer:

Quote:
--Can a player use the Armory to take out a completed city?
\yes \according to Bruno. src: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/794289#794289
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Brown
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
Question: Person B had 7 districts built and was sitting next to Person A who was the king previous round and was starting the new round. Person A started the new round as he should then choose his character card and passed the character pile to B. Person B choose his character card and passed the character pile to Person C. Person A then told Person C what character cards were passed to Person B. Person C told Person A what character cards were passed from Person B to Person C. This way Both Person A and Person C know exactly what character Person B is to try and stop Person B from building his 8th district with Assassin or theif.

Is this within the rules for Person A and/or Person C to do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge
France
Rennes
Ille-et-Vilaine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jbrown48 wrote:
Question: Person B had 7 districts built and was sitting next to Person A who was the king previous round and was starting the new round. Person A started the new round as he should then choose his character card and passed the character pile to B. Person B choose his character card and passed the character pile to Person C. Person A then told Person C what character cards were passed to Person B. Person C told Person A what character cards were passed from Person B to Person C. This way Both Person A and Person C know exactly what character Person B is to try and stop Person B from building his 8th district with Assassin or theif.

Is this within the rules for Person A and/or Person C to do.

This is not mentioned in the rules, for the same reason that it's not mentioned that you're not allowed to steal the other players' gold; because it's forbidden and cheating. Revealing exactly what roles were taken is out of the spirit of the game.

Now, if Player C is, say, a new player and the others want to get his attention by saying "take a good look on which roles have been taken; try to think which role would be the most useful for player B", this is totally within the spirit of the game. You're not revealing any information like that; not even hinting.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
People often declare secret communication in The Resistance to be cheating, but others think it's the best way to play. I can't see how this could work in citadels though. Assuming a 4+ player game then what is to stop players B & D doing the same thing to player C? That would be the logical escalation. Every player could write down the numbers of the characters they passed and most peoples characters world now revealed. This would probably put C off helping A but either way you're not playing citadels any more but something that's longer and almost certainly less fun.

If someone did what jbrown48 described in a game I was playing in then I'd consider the game void and wouldn't play citadels with them again unless they agreed not to do it again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Could you add "does the game end if the armoury is used to destroy the bell tower, and the owner of the bell tower has 7 districts?"

The answer is yes as confirmed in this thread:

Armory and Bell Tower combined
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.