$24.00
$22.00
$18.00
$32.00
$25.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lunch Money» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to treat blocks of Big Combos? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
7rym Nævestad
Norway
flag msg tools
My friends and I ended up in a heated debate on how to treat blocks of the BIG COMBO card.

The rules say:
Quote:
• Big Combo
The BIG COMBO entitles the player with this card to dream up any two fancy moves (such as a front kick followed by a spinning elbow strike) and announce them as the card is played.
Defending against this attack requires two defense cards.
If a defender only has one defense card to play against the BIG COMBO, then only half of the attack landed and half damage (i.e., 3 counters) is taken


The question that remains unanswered is:
If the victim uses the BLOCK card to defend any of the two attacks, can it be followed up by a GRAB and more stacked action?

The rules of using GRAB says:
Quote:
A GRAB may also be played immediately after a BLOCK has been played.
The defender who played the BLOCK has the first option to play a GRAB card (and follow up).
But if a defender plays BLOCK and has no GRAB, the attacker now has the option to play a GRAB and follow it with a free attack.


Am I right to draw the conclusion that this also goes for both the attacks of a BIG COMBO?
The combo -is- two attacks that should both be played out full?


note: full ruleset found here: http://www.atlas-games.com/pdf_storage/LMRules.pdf
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hoskins
United States
OKC
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that the defender can play a grab after blocking a Big Combo.

Example:

A: plays Big Combo
B: plays one block - takes 3 Damage
B: plays grab and then plays a basic attack

Is that the issue?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
OldSchool Owns
msg tools
To answer your question simply, yes.

The best way to show this would be through an example:
Let's say Bob uses a Big Combo on Ann.
Ann uses a Block on the first attack.
Ann has the first option to use a Grab, she does so.
Bob has the option to Humiliate or Freedom, he can not.
Bob gets grabbed and takes a Roundhouse from Ann for 4 damage.
The second hit of the Big Combo now comes into play.
Ann uses a Block on the second hit.
Ann has the first option to use a Grab, she does not this time.
Bob now has the option to use a Grab. He does.
He follows up with a Hail Mary for 7 damage.
The turn ends and both players draw 4 cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
7rym wrote:


The question that remains unanswered is:
If the victim uses the BLOCK card to defend any of the two attacks, can it be followed up by a GRAB and more stacked action?


If you only play one Block or a Grab, it only stops the 2nd part of the Combo. The first half immediately lands on your opponent.

Even through the rules imply it is two hits, it is still only one attack! There is no time to intervene between each hit landing.

But yes, you can follow up with a Grab.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.