$10.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Pandemic: On the Brink» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assignment Change rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: designer_comments [+] [View All]
Travis Cooper
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
There is a new special event card (Assignment Change?) that allows the current player to throw out their role card and choose another role. My first impression was that choosing another role means being dealt a new role card, but then why use the word choose? So, does this event allow you to actually pick the exact role you want, or is it random?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
♫ Eric Herman ♫
United States
West Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
I like elephants. I like how they swing through trees.
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say "choose" means choose. I'm guessing the intent is to choose something specific that would help with the current situation you're in.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Valentine
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
On this card does "any player" mean "any and all players" or "any ONE player"?

Lee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Destroyer of Islands
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hudarklord wrote:
On this card does "any player" mean "any and all players" or "any ONE player"?

Lee


I play it as any one player.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You choose the exact role you want. Yeah, it's clutch.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Cooper
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies. It makes most sense to me that you actually pick the role you need as well.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
priorities...
Probably the most satisfying use is to do an assignment change to Bioterrorist to save your own skin in a lost game. If you can't beat 'em, join 'em.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
MrWeasely wrote:
Probably the most satisfying use is to do an assignment change to Bioterrorist to save your own skin in a lost game. If you can't beat 'em, join 'em.


Yes, yes, we knew someone would try that... ;-)

OTB rules, page 3, New Roles section: "The Bio-Terrorist role is not a normal role and is used only when playing the Bio-Terrorist challenge."
11 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Dilts
United States
Taylorsville
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hilarious!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Bowker
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
On this card does "any player" mean "any and all players" or "any ONE player"?

I'd like an official answer to this as well. In the few times we've played it, we too had a single person change their role. Although, BSW's implementation allows all the players to change roles. Which is correct?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BSW has OTB now? I had no idea!

At any rate, BSW was flawed for a long time (and maybe still is) in that it didn't allow you to play Resilient Population after resolving the "Infect" step of an epidemic and before resolving the "Intensify" step. That always bugged the heck out of me!

Basically, I wouldn't trust it just because BSW does it that way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like BSW has it wrong to me.

The card is singular in wording in every way possible. "New Assignment", not New Assignments. Player, not players. Select a new "one".

If multiple players could switch, there's no reason for the parenthetical "including the current player" wording.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
BSW's implementation is incorrect. Any *one* player gets a new role.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Klein
Germany
Schoenaich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
BSW's implementation is incorrect. Any *one* player gets a new role.

I guess they implemented the german version of the game which has this card mistranslated (The german version says that every player gets a new role).

Would you english speakers please stop to use the word "any" for both "any one" and "all" ? Thanks...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.