Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Benjamin Maggi
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This game came out in 1935 and for all intents and purposes seemed to be a direct competitor to Monopoly. I have heard rumors that it was designed by the same person as Monopoly but I cannot confirm them. I have never written up a review before, so please excuse/change/suggest any corrections as you see fit.

First off, LIKE Monopoly, the goal is to collect property scattered around the four edges of the board and improve the value of the property to the detriment of anyone who lands on it. If this sounds familiar, it is because there are several games like this. However, unlike the "M" Game, this game in different in that each property/house is independent of all of the others in the game. You might own 1 on a side, or you might own 5 or 6 on a side. However, each is operated independently of one another- thus, you can jump right in at the beginning by purchasing property without fear that if you get two Red spots and the person next to you gets the third, you will forever be giving him either evil glances or those "hey, wanna trade... I have a great deal for you" sly smiles that ALWAYS goes with Monopoly. Here, you can just purchase one house and potentially win with that. However, that is not the best strategy!

There are 21 houses distributed along the four sides, and that means that most people will have the opportunity to purchase several on each side regardless of the amount of players that decide to engage in real-estate warfare. Designed for 6 players, I have never played it with more than 4. It should be evident now that, unlike Monopoly which really cannot support 6 players and ensure that EVERYONE has a Monopoly, here each person can have a small place to call home.