GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 70.69
30.8% of Goal | 28 Days Left
One of the things we especially enjoy about BoW is that all of our games have been terrifically close, usually a win by one VP!
Unfortunately, that razor thin margin of victory lead to a rules question last night that we cannot answer and I'm hoping someone can help us out.
The 6 point cost Development New Galactic Order does not count specialized Military as a VP boost.
Although Uplift Mercenary Force is a specialized Military (i.e., +1 per Chromosome card), the card itself is a Chromosome thus inherently being +1 Military. The Uplift Mercenary Force card is always +1, so while specialized, it is always "applicable" and can never not be worth +1.
Now that doesn't sound so specialized to the player who would have won if we had counted her +1 Military as a VP per New Galactic Order.
So our question is: Does the Uplift Mercenary Force count as a specialized Military for purposes of New Galactic Order scoring or not?
Thanks for any insights!
But please don't call me Jerry.
At one time, I didn't really like Power Grid so Ted made my piece a Power Grid piece.
Specialized military means military that only applies for a certain type of worlds (rebel, novelty, rare goods, etc). Uplift Mercenary Force creates regular military power and its entire military power applies toward NGO.
So if you have UMF and one other chromosome world, you'd have +2 on UMF, and 2 points on NGO from it.
Edit: typo and clarification.
- Last edited Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:42 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:41 pm
Example for further clarification:
Imperium Warlord (THE GOGGLES! THE GOGGLES!!) adds one military and another specialized military (against rebel military worlds). Hence, it counts +1VP for NGO.