$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Peace Leader Goal rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Savannah
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do (positive) Temporary and Specialized Military powers negate your ability to claim the "Peace Leader" goal if you otherwise have a -1 military and two worlds in play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Brough
msg tools
mbmb
No.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Savannah
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Could you site a reference for your assertion?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward
United States
New York City
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Temporary military does not apply because "First" goals are only checked at the end of the phase specified on the goal, and temporary military expires at the end of a Settle phase.

Specialized military never counts towards overall military goals or cards. For example, Imperium Troops only counts +1 for New Galactic Order and the 6+ Military goal.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fubar awol wrote:
Do (positive) Temporary and Specialized Military powers negate your ability to claim the "Peace Leader" goal if you otherwise have a -1 military and two worlds in play?
This sounds like it goes back to exp #1 with the rules on first goals. As soon as you get a first goal, it's yours.

If have something like below... then the goal is yours forever assuming no1 else beat you to it.



However, if you have something else like below, your military is now down to +0, which is still insufficient for the "less than 0" condition of the goal.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fubar awol wrote:
Could you site a reference for your assertion?

Thanks.

The closest i could find, from The Gathering Storm rulebook, referencing the Most Military goal:

rules wrote:
At least six and the most total military in tableau (Greatest Military).

Count negative but not temporary or specialized military (as for New Galactic Order).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Short
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
fubar awol wrote:
Do (positive) Temporary and Specialized Military powers negate your ability to claim the "Peace Leader" goal if you otherwise have a -1 military and two worlds in play?
This sounds like it goes back to exp #1 with the rules on first goals. As soon as you get a first goal, it's yours.

If have something like below... then the goal is yours forever assuming no1 else beat you to it.



However, if you have something else like below, your military is now down to +0, which is still insufficient for the "less than 0" condition of the goal.
The ease with which one can claim this goal on turn 1 without having to go out of your way makes my play group dislike it immensely. We prefer to have to "reach" for a goal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bsushort wrote:
ackmondual wrote:
fubar awol wrote:
Do (positive) Temporary and Specialized Military powers negate your ability to claim the "Peace Leader" goal if you otherwise have a -1 military and two worlds in play?
This sounds like it goes back to exp #1 with the rules on first goals. As soon as you get a first goal, it's yours.

If have something like below... then the goal is yours forever assuming no1 else beat you to it.



However, if you have something else like below, your military is now down to +0, which is still insufficient for the "less than 0" condition of the goal.
The ease with which one can claim this goal on turn 1 without having to go out of your way makes my play group dislike it immensely. We prefer to have to "reach" for a goal.
Negative military is still very difficult to come by. If you want to get it while having a solid military going, you're gonna need to make that concious choice to either undo all the military strength you've been building up, or get the War Leader part of it if you're playing with TOs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
bsushort wrote:
The ease with which one can claim this goal on turn 1 without having to go out of your way makes my play group dislike it immensely. We prefer to have to "reach" for a goal.

As I have noted at various times, RFTG is all about "opportunity cost". Here, the opportunity cost for grabbing this goal right away is lost flexibility. A player who does this and then draws a sweet low defense Military world (Uplift or Alien 2, say) and Space Marines has lost the ability to easily go "small military"... so the "reach" is in making that decision and cutting off that avenue of growth.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Brough
msg tools
mbmb
Also, with the new takeover powers in Brink of War, having negative military can be quite a liability. The more negative your military is, the easier worlds are to take; and since Interstellar Cassus Belli can take worlds from anyone, the Contact Specialist route becomes very risky. We've seen games where one player looked terrifying in the mid-game; settling 8-9 cost worlds with Alien Research Team + Pan Galactic Mediator + Rebel Pact or similar; followed by their opponent building up a big military and taking those worlds right off them.

Additionally, Imperium Invasion Fleet (conquers civilian worlds with military) can be combined with takeover powers, so it's possible for any player to lose any world - and this becomes easier to achieve if they have negative military.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.