$10.00
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Savannah
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Why does the Terraforming Engineers card specify that it "cannot be combined with any other settle power?"

I've only played 5 games of "Brink" and have only seen the card in play once. I'm having trouble imagining why this is a relevant restriction. Can one of you RoTG addicts explain why this restriction exists?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Brough
msg tools
mbmb
It means you can't combine it with Contact Specialist to replace military worlds.
It means that after replacing a world you don't draw an additional card from Terraforming Robots etc., or gain prestige from Alien Cornucopia (which otherwise gives you prestige when settling production worlds).
It means that Settle discounts don't modify the costs of either world.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendon Russell
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What smestorp said, plus other examples like Golden Age of Terraforming's production-windfall power, Improved Logistics etc.

Basically it avoids a whole lot of rules complications around how the powers would combine, by saying simply that they don't.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward
United States
New York City
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The card would be a little too strong if it combined with certain Settle powers -- in particular, I think the card would be quite overpowered if it could combine with Contact Specialist or other military -> non-military powers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
A) It was done to avoid a whole lots of rules complications -- we tried various other ways to do this.

B) If you changed this rule, then TE becomes way too cheap for what it can do. (Compare it to Replicating Robots.)

If TE hasn't done much so far in group, keep playing. Someone will pull off a huge victory with it at some point... It's a bit specialized, but when it works, it tends to be pretty powerful.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Adlington
Australia
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:


If TE hasn't done much so far in group, keep playing. Someone will pull off a huge victory with it at some point... It's a bit specialized, but when it works, it tends to be pretty powerful.


Totally! I love that card!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.