Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Albion» Forums » General

Subject: Rules: A building contradiction. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
victor keen
United Kingdom
westbury
wiltshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not often that you get a contradiction within the same paragraph.
'If several of his settlers are in the same region, each may establish...a building'. 'Each player may have only one building in each region'.
Well now, which is it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inno Van
United States
San Francisco/East Bay
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The full line is
"If several of his settlers are in a region, each may establish or develop a building."

The first settler spent in an empty region is used to establish the building. (Rampart, Resource, Fortress or Settlement)
Any of the players settlers spent in a region with an existing building of their own color may only be used to upgrade the player's already established building.

Each upgrade level is stacked on top of the already existing levels of that player's building in that region.

See also "Summary of the Building Rules" on page 6.

(There is also the weird rule on Page 5 where a player may send a Settler to a region to remove their building from it instead of upgrade it. Haven't seen this used in play ever)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Keller
Germany
Dietzenbach
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Innovan wrote:
(There is also the weird rule on Page 5 where a player may send a Settler to a region to remove their building from it instead of upgrade it. Haven't seen this used in play ever)


In very rare circumstances (I think I saw it once or maybe twice in test matches before the release) it would have been possible to get stuck without having any rampart already build and without the possibility to build one due to the picts. To counter that we added that paragraph, but it was more a "just in case" thing. ;)

Take care,
Bernd
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.