$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: about guards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Koen
Belgium
Rotselaar
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
in the rules it says that a guard is not protected and may be attacked, I assume that when you win the attack you get to take the card?

but what if you already have that guard? does that mean you may not attack it, and thus will not be able to attack the special card or castles it is protecting?

more about attacking a castle f.e., it takes one turn to attack the guard (and win) and another turn to attack the castle? or do you announce to attack the castle and get to attack the guard first and the castle immediatley after (if you were successful against the guard)?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Schacht
Germany
Frankfurt
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
that was the incorrect answer by me, please ignore:

Quote:
1) you get the card.

2) it is not mentioned in the rules that you are not allowed to attack a guard when you are already have one or more.

3) you announce the guard at first. if you win the attack you get the guard. next round you can announce the castle and attack.

here you can find the original english rules:
http://abacusspiele.de/?m=spiele&action=download&pdf=126
(you can also find the original french on that site)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koen
Belgium
Rotselaar
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for the quick reply Michael.

for absolute clarity, because the rules say : "A player may not capture a card that is like a card he already has, except
for tournament cards."

and also : "Even with special cards, a player may not have two of the same card. For example, a player may not have more than one castle guard.
A player may have a castle guard and a special card guard."

so you discard the guard to the bottom of a stack when you successfully attack it?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Schacht
Germany
Frankfurt
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You‘re absolutely right, sorry :-(
good that you dig deeper.

so, the correct answer is:

1+2) you get the card. but if you already have the same card you‘re not allowed to do the attack.

3) you announce the guard at first. if you win the attack you get the guard. next round you can announce the castle and attack.
but if you already have a same card you‘re not allowed to do an attack.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.