$10.00
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a rules question. If someone has both the Alien Research Team and the Contact Specialist, do they combo together to give a total of -2 discount on settling alien military worlds as normal?

In other words, does the presense of the ART which enables normal settling of alien military worlds for the player, override the part in parenthesis on the CS about it not being usable with settling alien military worlds as normal? Or does the CS text stand regardless of anything else the player has the ability to do, and the player only gets a -1 discount instead of -2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Forrey
United States
Dallastown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You only get a -1 from the ART. Each ability triggers individually with neither helping or canceling the other. thusly the Cs ability can still NOT trigger on Alien worlds.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Jackson
United States
Goodlettsville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Am I a man or am I a muppet? If I'm a muppet then I'm a very manly muppet!
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you... that's what I said the other night.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bearn wrote:
You only get a -1 from the ART. Each ability triggers individually with neither helping or canceling the other. thusly the Cs ability can still NOT trigger on Alien worlds.
Vice versa also true.... ART doesn't provide additional discount towards non-yellow military worlds
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Yargo wrote:
does the presense of the ART which enables normal settling of alien military worlds for the player, override the part in parenthesis on the CS about it not being usable with settling alien military worlds as normal?

No. In RFTG, A) each power is applied sequentially, so two pay-for-military powers cannot be applied to the same target military world (as it no longer is a military world after the first power is used) and B) each power's effect is cumulative, including restrictions (so one power doesn't override another power's restrictions). See Powers, rules page 4.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies, especially Tom's.
gamemark wrote:
Thank you... that's what I said the other night.

I know, and thats the way we played it, but I just wanted to be sure
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Jackson
United States
Goodlettsville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Am I a man or am I a muppet? If I'm a muppet then I'm a very manly muppet!
mbmbmbmbmb
Yargo wrote:
Thanks for the replies, especially Tom's.
gamemark wrote:
Thank you... that's what I said the other night.

I know, and thats the way we played it, but I just wanted to be sure


I am SO having to repress the desire to gloat - but then you'd bring up how you stomped me in the game anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is similar to having Contact Specialist & Rebel Alliance in play. Same thing, they are triggered separately and don't/can't stack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose a "real world" analogy would be you can buy milk for $1 off at supermarket A, or buy eggs for $1 off at the same supermarket A. You can't (logically) combine those 2 discounts to say, get $2 off eggs.

Tom's explanation is something that I always keep forgetting about.... (that powers like Contact Spec. turn military worlds into non-military worlds, THEN you can settle them by paying for them, as opposed to my line of thinking that it's still a military world, and you just pay for as part of some "exception". Later on in exp when TO powers and powers non/military world powers get muddled in, it does change the outlook and what's supposed to happen instead.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.