Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joao Lima
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Introductions

A bit about me. I've been playing wargames since around 20 years ago. I went through the boardgaming phase, and for as much as I enjoyed it, lack of opponents drove me to PC wargames. I became quite good at it, so much in fact that I now design PC tactical wargames for a well known publisher, with 2 already published and some in the works.

For all of this, I started to fell I was getting little return from it. The enjoyment of PC wargames became less and less. I tried VASSAL, but it somehow felt as the worst of both worlds, the alienation and distance of PC games, coupled with the inability to do automatic bookkeeping and rules enforcement of boardgames. So that also did not work. PC wargames meanwhile, through bugs and poor AI were quickly driving me away.

After a long period I decided to give a shot to wargames in paper again. I would also do this solo. I wanted the game to be a 2 player game, that I could see a way of soloing. This was on purpose since, if I could grab a wargame without chit-pulling and special solo mechanisms and make it work, a whole new world would open up. I decided on The Destruction of Army Group Center and it proved to be an exciting and great game. To follow it, I went with S&T's 202, Invasion Taipei.

Components