$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Impossible Machine» Forums » Rules

Subject: Adding and Removing Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Lin
United States
Spring
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. A splitter in the middle of the machine can only be eradicated if you can fill in the gap with one of more of your cards that has a splitter of its own on the right side. Can you remove a splitter if it's the very first piece in the machine, without adding another splitter to replace it?

2. Can splitters be inserted into the middle of a row? In this case, the sub-machine to the right of the splitter would be shifted onto one of the two outputs.

3. Player A places two splitters and a regular card in such a way that the second splitter hooks up to the bottom output of the first splitter and the regular card hooks up to the top output of the second splitter. Basically, the machine took a dip downwards and back up again to its original level. Can a card be hooked up to the top output of the first splitter (creating a diamond), or is this illegal because the new card cannot hook up its output to the regular card?

4. If the machine activates after having at least 15 parts, does it deactivate if the next player uses one or more eradicators to bring it back down below 15 parts at the end of his turn? The rules mention the machine deactivating when the catalyst is removed, but I was wondering if there was a similar reasoning for the other condition (15+ parts).

5. Once cards start getting flipped for an activated machine, can a player insert cards to the RIGHT of the flipped section, even if the rightmost flipped card had an output that didn't match the input of the inserted card? The rules only state that new parts cannot be played to the LEFT of flipped parts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Sheppard
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DFuzzy1 wrote:

5. Once cards start getting flipped for an activated machine, can a player insert cards to the RIGHT of the flipped section, even if the rightmost flipped card had an output that didn't match the input of the inserted card? The rules only state that new parts cannot be played to the LEFT of flipped parts.


This is a point of mystery for our group as well. Not being able to insert cards to the right of the flipped section really limits your options. Otherwise, now that cards are flipped and your unable to see what the flipped card's output was, you could possibly insert a part that breaks the machine.

Maybe an FAQ will come out soon, or the designer will post.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas D'annunzio
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mb
I really HOPE the designer will post a FAQ or something, there are some holes in the rules that need to be filled...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Forsyth
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok so having played it a fair few times this is our groups view.

1. A splitter in the middle of the machine can only be eradicated if you can fill in the gap with one of more of your cards that has a splitter of its own on the right side. Can you remove a splitter if it's the very first piece in the machine, without adding another splitter to replace it?

We said YES but only if the the splitter hasn't had both parts of the split built on.


2. Can splitters be inserted into the middle of a row? In this case, the sub-machine to the right of the splitter would be shifted onto one of the two outputs.


Again we said YES as long as the input output rules for the original machine keeps its integrity (so you may end up inserting the spliter in the middle of a row and adding additonal cards to keep the input output correct). And that the creation of a new row doesn't break the rule about rows running into each other. (IE only placing cards onto the split up to the point where it runs into another possilbe split.)


3. Player A places two splitters and a regular card in such a way that the second splitter hooks up to the bottom output of the first splitter and the regular card hooks up to the top output of the second splitter. Basically, the machine took a dip downwards and back up again to its original level. Can a card be hooked up to the top output of the first splitter (creating a diamond), or is this illegal because the new card cannot hook up its output to the regular card?

We decided no because in the diamond you described you would end up with 2 outputs from the spiltters running into a single input. we felt that if you could do that they would have made cards with 1 output and 2 inputs (the reverse of the current splitter cards). With multiple splitters and potential overlaps we played that you can place cards onto a splitter but the moment laying a card on that split would put it on top of another card from a different split then you must stop and cannot place anymore cards down on that row untill the obstructing card is erased.

4. If the machine activates after having at least 15 parts, does it deactivate if the next player uses one or more eradicators to bring it back down below 15 parts at the end of his turn? The rules mention the machine deactivating when the catalyst is removed, but I was wondering if there was a similar reasoning for the other condition (15+ parts).

Ok well we felt that if the machine is activated by fullfilling criteria IE the catalyst or the 15 parts and removing the catalyst stops the machine then logically the removal of parts to drop the machine to leass than 15 parts should also do this.

5. Once cards start getting flipped for an activated machine, can a player insert cards to the RIGHT of the flipped section, even if the rightmost flipped card had an output that didn't match the input of the inserted card? The rules only state that new parts cannot be played to the LEFT of flipped parts.

We played once the machine is activated you can only add cards to the output of rows that have not been flipped (unless the output is a catalyst in that row in which case the rules say you can't place it). This means effectively when inserting a card into the non flipped row you can't add in the space between the last flipped and 1st non flipped card in that row. We disccussed it for a while and felt that the space between the flipped and non flipped card was half processed so you couldn't do it.

I really hope that some official FAQ's come out for this cute filler game. I have noticed others asking do you put the cards from a finished machine back into your hand? We don't and haven't found it a problem with running out of cards to build 3 machines. Although we have had a few 2 player games where we have come real close running out at the very end and one player couldn't play anything in the last throws of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.