Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

BasketBoss» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happens to bids made to bribe the ref? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin J
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say the following, regarding the Referee:

Quote:
If other teams have equal strength, they can bribe the Referee to get the better trophy. The bid him Basko simultaneously, highest bid wins. If the highest bids are equal, then the highest bidding team with the tallest player wins. Half of the winning bid (rounded up) goes to the team with the Referee. Add the other half the the Basko-stock. If 3 (or 4) other teams tie, then the second (or also third) highest bid wins the next-most valuable trophy.


Clearly the winning bidder pays his money, but what about the losing bidder(s)? Do they take their money back or do they pay their bid?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christof Tisch
Germany
Wiesbaden
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The other bidders take their money back. Also the referee takes the money to influence who get the trophys, he is an hones man and only takes money from the one he helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mojo shivers
United States
San Pedro
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Christof_Tisch wrote:
The other bidders take their money back. Also the referee takes the money to influence who get the trophys, he is an hones man and only takes money from the one he helps.


He's honest other than accepting bribes in the first place. LOL
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Pack
Canada
Nanaimo
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hmm... oops. Guess I read the rules too quickly. We had it so the ref was an automatic tie-break, on top of the 1 team strength point. Seamed that it worked fine for us. I'm not a fan of the 'hidden\simultaneous bidding' mechanics used in the game (for this and the injuries).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
The referee is an automatic tiebreaker if you have him and are one of the tied players. If you aren't one of the tied players, the tied players can bid for his nefarious services.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.