Subject: Price of the Citadel paints in the 80's and 90's??? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pasi Hyvönen
Finland
MASKU
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I was claiming in our local forum that Citadel paints were 20 ml back in hte "golden years". And their costs was only 2 mk= 0,35 euro/pot.

If I remember correctly it would mean that they were costing £0.2 /pot in the UK. In 1989 or so.

Am I right or has my memory tricked me?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devon Harmon
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't speak to the 80's, but I just pulled out my 17.5 ml GW paints purchased in the early/mid 90's (hex bottle with flip top lid), and they still have the $1.99 price tag on them. Still going strong too. There was a style before this one that was a tapered cylindrical pot with a flip top lid, but that pre-dates my use of GW paints (I want to say those were 18 ml, but I have no first hand experience to claim that).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hostman
United States
Eagle River
Alaska
flag msg tools
designer
Gaming in Greater Anchorage area, Alaska since 1978. Looking for Indy-willing RPG players in Eagle River (or willing to drive to Eagle River). Geekmail me if interested.
badge
Yes, this really is what I looked like when I uploaded that avatar. Not that it's quite current anymore.
mbmbmbmbmb
I finally had to pitch the last of my flip-lid pots 10 years ago.

The box of 10x 30 ml flip-lid pots was $10 in the late 1980's. It was closer to $15 in the early 90's. Two different color sets - one for chaos, one for non-chaos. I don't recall them being sold individually, only in the boxes.

New stuff is also a very different formula - the old stuff set off latex allergies. New stuff (early 90's onward) doesn't.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Hyvönen
Finland
MASKU
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
aramis wrote: