$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 128.27

7,588 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.8% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Titania» Forums » Rules

Subject: When can starfish be garnished? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Abrams
United States
Tarzana
California
flag msg tools
mb
According to my English translation of the rules, "Tower spaces may*only* (emphasis in original) ever be garnished by a player *immediately* (my emphasis) after he receives a starfish."

Taken literally, you land on a starfish space and take a starfish. However, once you put another ship on a crane in order to build, you can't garnish because you didn't receive the starfish immediately prior. This is an absurd result, so the way I get around that is to assume that "immediately" means at some point during your turn, and not necessarily right after receiving the starfish.

Is this the correct interpretation of the rules, or is there another way of reading them?

Rich Abrams
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Fakkeldij
Netherlands
Beverwijk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Your initial translation is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darryl Boone
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Reading your recent posts has been like dipping my bottom over and over into a bath of the silkiest oils and creams.
mbmbmbmbmb
RichardAbrams wrote:
Taken literally, you land on a starfish space and take a starfish. However, once you put another ship on a crane in order to build, you can't garnish because you didn't receive the starfish immediately prior. This is an absurd result ...


I don't see why it's absurd. In your example, you could get the starfish and immediately place it on a tower space that you planned to build on later in your turn. You don't have to be next to the space to garnish it, if that's what you're thinking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.