Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Rise of Empires» Forums » Rules

Subject: Navigation tile rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I wonder, do you have to use the navigation tile, when you take it, or can you omit it's effect? Can you omit its effect partially and/or voluntarily? For example, if you have not enough cubes in the general supply? If you have no general supply any more, but still a personal supply, can you use these cubes instead?

To take this tile and omit it's effect (if allowed) could make sense, since in the rules is written, that the overseas regions are prohibited in turn 2A, as long as noone took a navigation tile AND placed cubes in one of these regions. So, taking the navigation tile while placing no cubes should block all players for overseas this turn, right?

On the other hand, in the player help nothing is said about actually placing cubes. According to the player aid, it seems enough, that a player only "takes" the navigation tile. Placing cubes seems irrelevant to "unlock" overseas. Which is right now, the player help or the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Young
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Old Ways Are Best!
badge
Check Six!
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
I wonder, do you have to use the navigation tile, when you take it, or can you omit it's effect? Can you omit its effect partially and/or voluntarily? For example, if you have not enough cubes in the general supply? If you have no general supply any more, but still a personal supply, can you use these cubes instead?

To take this tile and omit it's effect (if allowed) could make sense, since in the rules is written, that the overseas regions are prohibited in turn 2A, as long as noone took a navigation tile AND placed cubes in one of these regions. So, taking the navigation tile while placing no cubes should block all players for overseas this turn, right?

On the other hand, in the player help nothing is said about actually placing cubes. According to the player aid, it seems enough, that a player only "takes" the navigation tile. Placing cubes seems irrelevant to "unlock" overseas. Which is right now, the player help or the rules?

I would say that simply taking the tile unlocks the new world whether you use it to place tiles or not...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.